You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Case 9: The @ecoworld conspiracy - identifying 4,766 + 1 cheating accounts

Great job reporting this fraud. I have never flagged a post in the year that I have been a member. I am reluctant because of the flag wars. I think it's time to change my thinking.

Does it make sense to have a committee of members that have common sense to flag these crooks? I think flagging gets out of control in an uncontrolled environment.

Sort:  

I commend you considering your stance on flagging!

I think flagging bot accounts does not need too much control! Of course, when dealing with humans, it always makes sense to talk to the culprit or other related community members first!

There are several "committees" of people flagging in serious instances, but those are naturally all coming from social cliques or established services like @cheetah.

There are so many posts that I would like to flag lately. The ones with a picture or video with very little else, the people that post more times than you can count every day, the spam comments and repies, the ones that ask for upvotes - follow - resteem with no other content, etc.

The problem with flagging is retaliation. There are so many that deserve it.

You're doing a great job, @cheetah, etc. If I
could make the call, there would be a Steemit police dept. 10 or 15 paid members to weed out the crap. 10 or 15 that don't have to protect their reputation that can flag the hell out of some of the abusers. I would make you in charge, with a nice salary. It would be worth it to the community, because you and your team would save the overall community money, money that could go for the quality posts.

Thanks for forwarding so much trust in me!

tips hat

But remember, I am also just a single individual, this must be a decentralized community effort, there should not be "one in charge".

I get your point. You are a good detective though! I appreciate your efforts. You are definitely a plus to the community! I followed you.

" If I
could make the call, there would be a Steemit police dept...."

In a voluntarist society, which Steemit is, you CAN make the call. Just make the call. Start doing it. @sherlockholmes is overworked, and there are others with similar skillsets that may be willing to participate. @paulag is an Excel expert and has done some detective work, if you have a look at her posts.

I reckon folks are happy to support such good work, as is apparent from @sherlockholmes upvotes on this post, for example.