Six Years Of Splinterlands

Can you believe that Splinterlands has been around for 6 years already? Not many games last that long and certainly not Blockchain games, many of which seem to disappear overnight, after taking players' funds. Splinterlands has lasted through two crypto downturns, which is an achievement in itself.

Discovering Splinterlands

I've been a part of Steem as it was known then before Splinterlands launched and there was some murmuring about a new game being launched on Steem. It made a lot of sense to do so given that there are no transaction fees unlike ETH or BNB. But I was still skeptical that it would survive beyond a year. Also, $10 to begin seemed pretty steep. In hindsight, it was a bargain.

Dipping my toes in

image.png

I've been playing Splinterlands since July 2019, so it's been about a 5 year journey for me. I started small, buying the spellbook first, and then buying a couple of packs. I had no idea what I was doing but the game mechanics are simple enough.

Even though my steps weren't optimal, you learn as you play more and see what your opponents are doing. Also, the barrier to entry is pretty low, especially when it's a crypto winter.

Time spent playing Splinterlands

Splinterlands doesn't require much playing time. You're free to play as much as you feel like. That being said, the more you play, the more rewards you get. I'd say it's a strong, positive correlation. But it's important to remember that we're all running our own race.

Accomplishments and Upcoming Goals

There are a couple of achievements that I'm proud of. Making it to Champion, once. A 31 match winning streak is also something that I really enjoyed, probably never to be repeated again.

image.png

But probably the achievement that I'm most proud of is the ever growing card collection. Collection Power is now at 341,860 and I look forward to hitting the 400,000 mark some day soon.

image.png

SPS prices are pretty low right now and i'm tempted to pick up some in hope of it listing on a big exchange some day. 50,000 SPS feels like a good medium term target.

Advice For Beginners

Splinterlands may seem daunting at first but I'd advise anyone starting out today to get as much SPS as you can. SPS is the in-game governance token and it controls the rewards you get from battles. Rewards are a big motivating factor and if you earn more rewards, the game will seem more fun. It's only natural. Once you get decent rewards, the rest of the game mechanics will come to you naturally after 30 or so battles.

Sort:  

I have about 10k staked SPS and two individuals are delegating 16k to me. I actually had to pick up a few SPS while the price is still very low.

A level two astral entity is amazing, did you get it by buying Chaos legion pack?

I think it must have been from a CL pack. It is one of those cards that I don't even remember getting lol. If Splinterlands were to list SPS on Binance or some tier 1 exchange directly, I think we could see a pump to 5c or even 10c. Surprised it has been 6 years and that hasn't been done yet.

I think some people didn't think that listing SPS on a place like Binance will not be good, I think that was the reason why they didn't push it. Amazing card that astral summoner. It's always annoying to play against

I think some people didn't think that listing SPS on a place like Binance will not be good, I think that was the reason why they didn't push it. Amazing card that astral summoner. It's always annoying to play against

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 20% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Congratulations @charcoalbuffet! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 3250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners

Are you looking for Tier 5 brawl guild? THE GUILD OF NEOXIAN looking for wild silver fray player. If you are good in that fray and interested to join then contact with our Guild Officer xawi & Also Don't Forgot to Checkout our BDVoter Daily Hive Showcase & Participate into our Daily giveaway to win various prize.

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

Thanks for sharing! - @yonilkar