You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (REPOSTING DUE TO CENSORSHIP) I SUPPORT THE MOVE FROM STEEM TO HIVE

in #steem4 years ago

Hi, while I agree with the sentiment and the need to rebuild to keep the community thriving, I'm a bit unnerved at the way this is happening.

I realize that we as people want to preserve and view this as a renovation to be reopened under new management. The thing is that because the blockchain will be copied, that effectively this will be taking over the IP that Sun has purchased.

My point is that, while I understand the temptation to save as much as possible, it may be safer to rebuild than to copy and renovate. It would be a tragedy to switch to hive, only to have it taken down by a cease and desist because of proprietary elements being stolen or whatever legal jiu jitsu will be attempted.

Sort:  

no expert, but what i know, code is open source, and even in steemit inc terms of use they say they have nothing to do with bloks written. so don't see any problems.

It does appear that the shift will not simply be taking code, but also accounts and content. In spite of all available optimism, I do hope that the people who committed to this have discussed any potential liabilities first with people who have a better grasp of the risks.

It’s open source and decentralized blockchain. There is no risk of this.