You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where does the money come from? A look into the economics of Steem.

in #steem8 years ago

Excellent post. Thank you for diving into details, even those many of us may like to psychologically ignore such as the behind the scenes taxation via inflation. Many have incorrectly talked about "interest" (myself included, as I posted two articles on the topic), when it more accurately should be considered a stock dilution which, as you pointed out here, creates inflation which is a form of hidden tax.

The part that many (myself included) get confused on is the USD conversion price of STEEM and SBD. The market shot up to around $3-$4 pretty early on in this experiment and, for some reason, is remaining somewhat stable. Even as that inflation is happening every day, the market price is holding. Could it be the liquidity rewards propping up the price? Could it be speculators just pumping/dumping an altcoin with no clue how it works under the hood? I guess time will tell.

As to that USD value, I'm also reminded constantly about the 10,000 bitcoin pizza. What mechanism enables 10,000 essentially worthless tokens to skyrocket in value to over $6.5M in just a few short years? The more we can understand that mechanism, the more we can understand another important aspect of the STEEM economics. Taxes on a hyperinflated currency are essentially worthless. The perception of value in STEEM is what powers this economic system. My biggest question is, how much of that future value is being priced in right now? With Steem's potentially superior technical advantages over Bitcoin, it's not inconceivable to imagine (even if only by a small probability) it becoming more valuable than bitcoin. Maybe the market things that's a 0.5% chance at the moment, which would explain the prices we see now: $650 * 0.005 = $3.25.

Personally, I think there's a higher chance than 0.5%, but we also have to think about the time-value of money. If Steem does threaten bitcoin, will it happen in 5 years? 10? Interesting stuff indeed. I for one am enjoying this experiment far more than I enjoyed watching bitcoin develop since 2013.

Sort:  

Cryptocurrency is the future - and it has already come...
Federal Reserve System tries to take it under its control ..... or destroy the.
But I see great potential in the STEEMIT.com

Wait and see
Image of steemish

Since I first started on Steemit, I've been thinking about the impact of the $ here. I went 24 hours with them hidden via CSS, and today I just started a 3-day challenge/contest/discussion asking people to write their own post in response to "Where does the money come from?" You can find it here. I'd really love to see a lot of responses because I think each and every Steemit user who gets asked this question after posting something successful will need to have their own well thought out answer. The more accurately we can answer this question instead of spreading FUD or irrational excitement, the stronger the foundation for this community will be.