Steemit Changes: a short animation

in #steemit5 years ago

frame_1554315791900_20190403192642695.jpg

There were changes made to Steemit last night as you are all no doubt aware.

Some of the half-crazed reactions to it, inspired me to do a short animation.

Changes.gif

I used to always do these but there hasn't been enough drama to do them about of late.

Until last night when Steemit released a long trailed change to split out the Wallet from the Steemit.com domain.

It wasn't perfect by any means. There are still a couple of bugs to iron out but hopefully, they will quickly get ironed out.

The reaction to the changes... Was it cheers and hip hip hoorays for all the hard work?

Nah. Instead, the utter bilge that was spouted in the comments was beyond hilarious. Threats of power downs and the Steem token diving into extinction.

I mean, seriously. Now, I can understand people being frustrated with the rollout and communication or lack of, in some opinions being a concern. I get that. People have a right to gripe and air their frustrations.

But some of the old timers and long term steemians that were threatening to leave/powerdown/masturbate themselves to a frothing fury death was just ridiculous.

Changes are gonna happen. I think we can do without the threats of oblivion.

We can certainly do without the people making them!

That's right, I said it. Come at me brohams!

Sort:  

Hahaha! So glad others were thinking the same thing as me when they read through those comments! I love this!

Hehe, I am glad you like!!! :0)

Hi @meesterboom!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.322 which ranks you at #215 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 247 contributions, your post is ranked at #1. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Now that is a funny animation 11/10 would watch 50 more times.

Even if they told people months prior with giant blazing red hot Cheeto letters popping up on you screen while it made siren sounds at full volume every time you visited the site there would still be "omg I did not know."

At least we have a few platforms options as well if one turns into something we no longer want to use.

Hehe, cheers!

You are right there. I was quite surprised by the amount of people shouting that there had been no communication about it. I was like, feck, I was getting tired of hearing about it!

And yeah, there are always options!

Hey, @meesterboom.

I was fairly early getting to that post, since the changes seem to happen just before I noticed the post, so I guess I missed out on all the blood letting and cursing of children to the tenth generation.

I'm okay with that by the way. Missing out, I mean. :)

I can't say that I'm thrilled with signing into the wallet every time I want to claim rewards (didn't used to do that), but I can't say I wasn't warned weeks in advance that changes were coming, either. I would hope that more people would follow just to know what Steemit Inc is up to, especially since they've been doing a much better job of updating us.

The ads thing, well, that's kind of in overkill right now. I could do without, but there's always other ways to do what I want to do. Life goes on. :)

Yeah, the ads are a bit mental. Too much Ithink but I also like to hope that they are experimenting. Fingers crossed.

I too am not so keen on it but I reckon we will all get used to it in no time and think back with a chuckle to the days when our wallets were laid bare on steemit.com!

there were changes? Well, no one told me... then I'm always in the dark, and I prefer it that way. I find the less I know, the better, so far it's worked perfectly! Now if you told me they were going to stop making beer or outlaw it, then I'd take notice!

They're stopping making beer!! Quick, to the store, stockpile!!!

Lol. Someone even dies in your animations. Obviously one of those smarter people who knows his way around the computer. No wonder you laughed at me for copy and pasting a text banner.

Hehe, it's been a while, I was rusty. Not rusty enough to miss out the deaths!!

Have you changed 'beer Night' to Wednesday?
With those poor little figments of a well-loaded brain committing sideways I was thinking you must have found a couple of 10/10 beers, and scoffed a lot.
Change will happen, there was talk over my head, (that's why you have a smart son to tell you what to do), then things will go on as normal again.
As far as I can see, it is to stop baddies scamming me out of my hard earned cents,( I dont make dollars).

That's exactly what it is, to so the baddies dead in their tracks! Whether it be cents or dollars or gabillions!!

Only rich Scottish people know about gabillions, us poor, doddery, old Kiwis only have cents, or maybe sense.

I will go for sense... The sense not to have gabillions!!!

Haha, ded! Love it.

Ded, ded and ded!! ;0D

Ha! It never even occurred to me to read the comments on their blog. I can't for the life of me figure out why people would want to power down just because the wallet is on a different URL.

My favourite bit of this was the guy shooting at the megaphone. It's literally the best reaction to a megaphone ever. Well done young chap!

Hehe, I was thinking, how would a gun toting madman react to a megaphone dropping from the sky. SHOOTY!!! Thats how! hehe.

Ah, yeah. A lot of the comments were genuine peevedness but some were magnificent in their madness

Ah, I am so glad for a new brew-ha-haa to pop up on the horizon, as I have greatly missed your little self-destructing stick persons. Nothing quite like them in the world. (Probably because they seldom live long enough to procreate...)
I wondered aloud to self about that new, annoyingly large blue bar up at the top, and yet, being a chicken, who does not open things that 'just pop up', because many are full of bad things, that fry your expensive Interbox machine, I did my best to ignore it. I'm good at that. (Even hitting the little 'close' X on ads, now opens some of them. The doofi are getting craftier) Cheers, and have a grand one.

Cheers! I have missed them too!

Oh I know!! I am usually quite scared to click anything except close on the whole browser when I see some kind of finnickity new screen or popup!

Hehe, At least this one is relatively harmless :O)

When you have the computer knowledge I do not, everything looks like the cyber boogeyman. (Plus I know someone who got the hostage virus, scary stuff). As the guy who built my machine says, "the safest route for security is to only open things you know. Which ain't much I :

He is right though. In fact the safest thing to do is open nothing you have not intentionally set out to open!

Love the animation !

Some time back when I did my first power up, afterwards I could not get back into Steemit. I did what everybody said till I was tired of it...... and later found out there was a glitch and lots of folks could not get back in with any key. Yeah.... I was just banging my head on a locked door, but I didn't know it.

I tried one more time when "they" said which key to use, but still didn't work, so I have just used Busy since then. I was using both, but if one doesn't let me in, I have to use the other. I mean, I can't use it if it doesn't let me sign in...... .right?

As long as there are alternatives though, it's not a big deal.

I hope you can get in ok. I have never been able to claim my rewards on busy!

Then you must be using steemconnect so you will have lots of options!!

And cheers, I love a bit of stick man killing!

I got in the wallet a time or two, but never back in Steemit. Maybe one day.

One day all your wallet dreams will come true!! I works attempt to reset my password though. And start from scratch. That way you will be laughing if steem how to 10 dollars and you want some out!!

Av some of these for your hard work sir. And be sure not to be afraid of the, NEW WINDOW!

!dramatoken

Oh!! Oh!!! I haven't had a drama token yet!! I am so happy!!!!! :OD

It looked right... hmmm

!dramatoken

I'm not sure if I've done it right yet! :D

!dramatoken

Trying not to spam, but wanted to give you one for effort.

I guess dRAMA was tired from yesterday

Drama Tokens flying everywhere, and seemingly easier to access than ones STEEM :)

Thanks!


You've got DRAMA. You are going to be a Whale!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

Ha, you might be right, they usually come in quick!

It seems I do not have the power :(

I'm blaming it on Steemit inc and their lack of prior warnings.

It was the COMMUNICATION!!!!

Do you have ten of them? I think you have to have ten before you have the power?

I have issued them previously, I have a whole 14 - minted!

Maybe the bot is down, or the drama from last nights steemitblog update and forced them to sell out!

Looks like we need a !suspensetoken!

Or a !ahmpyoorwaitinmantoken!


Here's your DRAMA. Don't spend it all in one place!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

Hurrah for drama!!

There she blows!

It's funny, I got home from the gym and was annoyed at my crossfit app changes (which are actually worse since it won't even import all your past results to track your progress) and then I went to steemit and saw everyone was gettin' upset about wallets and ads!

I've missed your animations which always end in blood and guts going everywhere.

I missed them too. I might start doing them again. I was running out of inspiration but I quite enjoyed doing it again!

Ads everywhere. Madness!

All I have to say is ...

I'm glad to see another animation. It's been a long time!

What's that you say about change?

hrmmmmmmm.... pretty pictures .......

Hehe, it actually felt quite good to do one. It has been too long. It all came flooding back to me. I only wish I had had longer to do it justice but was trying to strike whilst the iron was hot!!

too long, indeed!

Cheers m'dear! I will try to do em more!

I considered the masterbating to a frothy furious death.. but quickly abandoned that thinking when I realized I was out of Baby Oil 😂

Dammit, how come it always runs out when you need it most!!! :OD

Haha cool.
Yeah our situation is the same.
Enforced the change on us.
Let's hope it works well :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I am sure it all will... once the dust dies down :OD

There were changes? ¯_(ツ)_/¯

HEhe, earth shattering life changing ones!!!

Hhahahahahahhaah, oh man, that is magnificent!! Ohhh Nooooo!!

Have fun looking up "Oh NO! Mr. Billlllll!" videos on youtube ;-o

I will, I have become obsessed with youtube these last couple of months!

Oh noooooo!

As soon as I figure out how to access my wallet, jostle my steem, and rub it up and down my chest like I used to do without interuption, I am going to come right at you, bro.

(Seriously though, I had some problems. And I'm not sure if I got it worked out ideally. But I do have control of my wallet and earnings now on my laptop. So, I suppose I understand some of the angst.)

I do understand the angst and I do find it a pisser that the back button doesn't seem to work to get back from the wallet. I totally get that. Some of the comments were mad though. There was someone sayuing he was powering down and fucking off. I almost wet myself!!

Right. I finally signed in with my God key, or whatever, (the original one I got when I began my account) to get at my private keys. I didn't realize I had both private and public keys. As far as I know, I don't generally use any of them. Whatever though, I knew it wasn't the end of the world. I'm no fool, but I don't pay attention to the details here. I suppose a lot of other people have the same problem. I read some of those comments too. They deserve to be ridiculed. Hopefully, though, everyone's made it through.

I hope everyone has made it through successfully. I am even more hopeful that people stop using their master and just start using their posting and active! As long as they fix the back button or put a ling back to the blog I will be happy. Although I do miss having it right there.

I wonder if they could put in a read only for info screen here?

All of the private keys are what you probably think of as your passwords. Public keys are what everybody can see. I don't know what function they serve.

Posted using Partiko Android

If I want to reply to your comment or send you some steem I need your public keys.

Right, but the dapps take care of all that so it's totally invisible to the user. We think our handle is our public face.

Posted using Partiko Android

LOLOLOL, hahahaaaaa, fucking perfect!!!

I started reading the comments of that post....but my eyes rolled so hard they got stuck in the heavenward position. Shit. People are so freaking dumb.

Hehe, I was the same. There was one in particular that was like two years and I am out, powering down out of this shit I was like Wahahhahahahhahahahhahaha

You gotta love it!

I've been watching posts saying WE NEED ADS, SOMETHING's GOTTA CHANGE for months, makes it soooo much funnier when everyone freaks out 😄

Totally!! We need change!! Stuff must happen.

Then.

OH NOES STUFF HAPPENED< STUFF CHANGED> I'M OUT!

Reactionary people are...in need of some more life experience(aka drama queens with a victim mentality and a sense of entitlement. Yikes.) My stance? Be proactionary or just fucking laugh at the situation you find yourself in :)

Laugh... and laugh hard. Its the only way. I can barely being to imagine getting all frothy at a computer screen because of something on the internets. Unless someone leaked my bum pics again. Thats always annoying

There's a shocker on llfarms's normie guide - 3rd comment on the post at present.

I would issue him some drama but feel he needs a pacifier dipped in dogshit instead!

Congratulations @meesterboom!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 4 with 93 comments

Ahahahaha - that's exactly what happened. Thanks, made me laugh :')

Lol, it is isn't it! Glad to have raised a laugh! :OD

there is sure to be some growing pains

upvoted and resteemed

Deadly pains!! :0)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @meesterboom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 40000 replies. Your next target is to reach 40500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!