Today's Lessons Through Reflection

in #teamphlast year

image.png

mf2.png

I met with an expat today in the bar and we got into conversation regarding moving to the Philippines, specifically Calbayog City, he was explaining to me that he had spent his holiday searching for a plot of land in which he could build his retirement home however was skeptical as he had heard so many horror stories from other foreigners that he had met either in my bar or during his vacation. I could hear the frustration in his voice, as I calmly listened to what he had to say. He knew I was British and felt that I would understand, he was pleasant to me however I could feel the animosity that he was beginning to have for Filipinos in General and felt obligated to perhaps change his perspective.

image.png

I asked him simply, what is it you want from the Philippines? Do you want to live a life where you are waited on, a place which makes you feel important, a place where you may enjoy the simpler things in life at less cost compared to Western countries? Because if that’s what you want, then you are in the right place. However, this kind of acknowledgement and lifestyle requires an understanding that you will become the lord of the manner and with this comes responsibility to look after your community.

mf2.png

I do not believe that foreigners that come to the Philippines realize the cost for servitude, I will not stereotype, however I base my findings on the majority of Foreign Clientele that visit my bar to make my case. It is logical that this would be at a price however could it be ignorance or arrogance that blinds a person’s understanding? For me, I always wish to see the good in people therefore I consider it ignorance. He went on to ask me how I was able to “Survive” in the Provinces and maintain a steady business for 7 years and whether I ever thought of going back “Home” to the United Kingdom. This I gladly answered in the following manner.

Ensure that you have the appropriate Funding

I was able to establish businesses here in Calbayog using the funding that I had saved throughout my working career in the United Kingdom as well as the investment from my parents, when the thought of coming over to the Philippines was close to reality. I had already formulated a plan of action as well as a contingency plan should my initial projects fail. I had already conducted much research on location and market segmentation, competitors, pricing, availability of products and cost of setting up a business. I received help from the One Stop Shop located here in Calbayog City next to the Municipal that helps new business start-ups. How did I find this out? I asked the right questions.

mf2.png

Do not assume that things are cheap in the Philippines, whilst this may be the case, this thought process may leave you short and wanting as costs can build up, always ensure that you have savings for a rainy day.

Lead by example

image.png

image.png

Filipinos are a caring and hospitable people who will try their very best to get the desired results. But do not think that this is second nature, it is not innate and must be taught as there is a differentiation in traditions and culture. Let’s take taste for example, foreigners can appreciate savory meat (generously coated with salt & pepper only) however for Filipinos, Sweet tasting meats are preferred and generally what the local demographic is used to. It is about training the pallet, you as the business owner should have patience and understanding to lead by example.

I did this today. I was a training a member of staff how to clean our apartments, our guest had checked out and I used this as a perfect opportunity to train. She was shocked that I was also cleaning the room, it is unlike the “Boss” to clean. I mentioned to her that it doesn’t work that way at Mango, and explained my history of working in hotels to her and my favorite story of my first working experience in the hotel.

image.png

My first job was a Night Porter, I worked under my father. The shift would start from 10PM until 7am. On my first night, I was excited, I had not adapted to the sleeping patterns yet and I was filled with adrenalin. The first task that my father (Manager) had me do was sweep the floor of the Bar and remove the chewing gum from under the tables. I can tell you my initial thought process was really quite negative and I was quick to tell my mother of my experience. My father sat me down and explained that, everyone should start from the bottom, so that they know how hard it is and when moving up the chain, to respect those at the bottom as you now know what it feels like. Be a person that can lead by example and your community will follow.

mf2.png

My thoughts on “Home”

I am home, I am amongst my people, I retain the best of both worlds and actively look to share my blessings as not everyone is as fortunate. I will always be thankful for being given an opportunity to learn from the West, but when making a decision to claim my birth right, it has become an obligation to represent the voices unheard and on occassion release the Dog of War.

It was funny how this response had a positive effect on my guest, he managed to see that perhaps it was he who needed to adapt and to realise his surroundings. He finished his burger and Beer, shook my hand and said I will see you on Wednesday. I felt happy that I had shared my knowledge with a positive outcome anticipated.

In summarization, it is good to be open minded, ask the right questions and you will receive the right answer's, do not consider yourself superior unless you have the backing for it. Choose to love thy neighbor as you will receive blessings 10 fold. I hope you have enjoyed reading this and I apologize in advance should I have offended anyone, that was not my intention. Should you have any questions, please do not hesistate as to comment below.

This is MangoMayhem signing out, Ciao for now, I look forwarding to seeing you on the Battlefield.

MangoMayhem by DamienWolf.png

"Together we Thrive Kapamilya"

Sort:  

I like your father bro, people should learn from his advise. Starting from the bottom gives you more perspective on how life works.

Thanks Suteru I feel the same way, I was blessed to have been given a father like him

Amazing work, bro!

Few points here.

  1. Seek to understand before seeking to be understood - It's great that you were able to give him a reality check in a positive way.
  2. Empathy is key - Your parents raised you well to understand how things go at the bottom and is an amazing life lesson.

Thanks brother!

"10PM until 7am" yuck. I worked from 8pm until 4am.

The Night Shift has its perks, I worked Nights for over 5 years :)

I could not imagine working a job now.... damn I am so over that!

Congratulations @mangomayhem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - April 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is really an awesome read.

My father sat me down and explained that, everyone should start from the bottom, so that they know how hard it is and when moving up the chain, to respect those at the bottom as you now know what it feels like. Be a person that can lead by example and your community will follow.

What an amazing parent you have, a natural leader.

Congratulations @mangomayhem! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations @mangomayhem! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!