My Office Scene| Thoughtfuldailypost monthly prompt 2

So much can happen at any given time by magnitude and I've learned that both as a student and as a junior admin about life in general as I'd like to put it because what I've experienced in those areas left a mark on me as it scopes ayond professional prospects. Out of many, one that suits the prompt was having a colleague fired and feeling restless that I had to redo things all over again.

Use to work at an institution where I learned business management and the basics of IC3 before serving as an intern and eventually hired as an admin secretary for a few more years. It was more than an educational institute as we hosted events and some corporate organisations via yearly contracts.

Image Source

Working in a hall segmented by confinements means there isn't much privacy compared to a whole office. Not that there has to be but it means shifting and mixing to an extent. We all had our own computer and would occasionally slot into different positions when it becomes necessary, giving us access to each others spaces and devices to some degree as certain files are personally encrypted.

It was on a Thursday that my boss asked me to send an excerpt of some file containing managerial data. It felt unreal that I restarted the computer to be sure. I couldn't find it in the recycle bin either so there isn't a place I didn't look.

"It has always been here" I whispered to Janet who couldn't help but notice how bothered I was.
A feedback was due for my boss doesn't really have much patience. It took about 15 minutes to send a simply message that I couldn't find it.

"I did that too" I kept responding reservedly as he kept rambling about how hard I should be looking. Meanwhile, news spread out and everyone kept peeking at me. I felt like evaporating away as I sluggishly move the phone away from my ear when he hung up on me. You can't really blame your neighbors for dirtying your house so I thought it might've as well been my doing.

Mary, a cleaner and probably the longest serving staff is a faithful for the company. Little did I know that my lofty rapport with her would intrigue her into coming to my rescue as she called me in the evening narrating how her instincts were telling her that it's Jimmy's doing.
"the other day, he appeared worried, eagerly leaving your desk. I can't prove it but..." and on she goes.
I couldn't question her much.
"how so, I was at work that day?" I kept wondering throughout the night.

Image Source

I came to work the next day eager to know so I went through the browsing data and most of the recents were deleted including mine. The system must've crashed or he accidentally deleted the files and decided to cover his tracks.

I angrily stood up and confronted Jimmy and within a second, his impulsive punch landed me on the floor. I couldn't tell if it was a furniture or a shredder but I hit him with the first thing I could grab piercing his arm. People rushed on us and stopped the fight before he was accompanied to be patched up.

It was already a scene following an emergency meeting where I thought I'd be fired anyway, so I matched in with a screw face ready for anything. And of course the manager starts by slammimg everyone for all the mistakes we've made. Being on the receiving end of things, I only watched on. As it concludes he asked me to stay telling me how Mary told him what had happened.

It's the first time I've heard him tone down apologetically speaking and additionally asking an angry guy to call the shots at the worst time when he actually needn't.
"Am sorry that we have to suspend you for two weeks on the bases of indecency. As for Mr. Kiasy (Jimmy), breaking the rules and almost having you fired wrongly, well...the ball is in your court."
Firmly, I said "sack him."

And just like that he was gone a week later. But as my fury ceases I was surprised that a feeling of guilt was haunting me when I should be reincorporating myself before resuming. I tried to shake it off as hard as I could but the feeling still persists.
I kept questioning myself on whether I could've handled things better.

Image Source

A resolve was due so the first thing I did as I resumed was apply my recently learned business prospect of creating a win-win situation in keeping everyone content. I was basically on the neck of the board on bringing him back because if anything he was hard working and quite experienced too.

When Jimmy was rehired it seemed like we hadn't met in a long time with such wariness between us. So during a lunch break, I sat around the table he was seated to break the ice. I apologized to him and it made me feel better.

Takeaways
My notion is that till date Jimmy doesn't know that I played a part in his return since I hadn't told him directly. It's like I sacked and hired him and admittedly, I was a bit impulsive with how I hurt him but I wonder how detrimental it could've been for me had I not confronted him.
I was either going to be sacked or let a perceived possibility of it being anyone hanging.

Since there's a reason behind everything, I learned that we should also take the time to enquire before taking a step. It served as a big test character-wise and I ultimately grew from it and became a bit more assertive and understanding.

The story also led to the urgent installation of more cameras in different areas and a few more adjustments operationally.


Thanks for stopping by.
This is my entry to the @thoughtfuldailypost monthly prompt 2.


Prompt link

All images are sourced but edited using canva.