SketchTravel – Kyoto Temple

in #travelfeed19 days ago

An interesting entryway

kyoto-temple-color.jpg


Back in Kyoto once again, I was on my way to visit the old house that the Japanese haiku poet Basho once lived in for a while. They sell incense and I wanted to replenish my supply from visiting there a few years ago.

Jumping off the train, we stopped to try some wagyu beef croquettes from a street vendor. Further along the way the way we stopped to visit the famous temple complex and gardens of Sagatenryuji Susukinobabacho. This building I sketched was along the main entrance, and I just liked the elegant and simple entryway and plantings.

My sketch before the watercolor was added


I first drew it with pen and ink, keeping in mind that I will add watercolor washes to it. To avoid overdrawing the line work, I leave areas clear that I otherwise would ink in. Color then completes it.

kyoto-temple-b&w.jpg

SketchTravel

footer-big.jpg

© All Rights Reserved @mrsomebody

Thanks for reading this post. Please follow me at @mrsomebody and comment below.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrsomebody! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024