The HIVE Tour - Episode 29b - Taking my first steps East of Bayreuth Germany

in #trip11 months ago

In the previous (sub) Episode I mentioned my empty stomach and that I'm out shopping in order to make it less empty so now at the view of this it feels even emptier:
DSC_0050.JPG

Everybody loves strawberries right? So I think to myself "I'll make a stop on my way back to get some". However, as I greet the old lady at this kiosk see gives me a very sour face and sound back. Combined with nobody around shopping here I thought I'd probably just pass it.

You might have noticed that big building/complex in the background. It hosts the local hotel and a wellness center among other things:
DSC_0051.JPG

It takes a short pleasant walk in green to get closer:

DSC_0053.JPGDSC_0052.JPG

And when I do I realise it also hosts a pharmacy ("Apotheke") which is great news as I need one:
DSC_0054.JPG

I'm looking for eye drops and I carry the empty container with me as I speak no German to explain what I need. Turns out I don't have to as the guy who works there is speaking English almost fluently and also is exceptionally kind. I tell him to give me anything similar he has but does the extra mile to find me the exact same one. Additionally, he spends time to explain me that any differences I see in the package have only to do with the latest version of it and are strictly about the design, not the job it does. How awesome! Not the price though but that's not the employee's fault. In Greece this thing is already expensive but here it costs 50% more!

Eye drops check, supermarket is next and as I'm done it's time to take the pleasant walk back though now I'm hungry and tired after a few hundreds of km and a walk of another few km.

Green helps me stay happy:
DSC_0056.JPG

DSC_0055.JPG

It doesn't help the strawberry lady as much so I pass her cute kiosk which looks even cutier with the sun on my back this time:
DSC_0057.JPG

Bye old house, you definitely deserve some time but not this time:
DSC_0058.JPG

The sun doesn't help me picture this slope though:
DSC_0059.JPG

DSC_0060.JPG

Looking at this I hear Jimi Hendrix's stoned voice in my head saying "Loneliness is such a drag...":

DSC_0061.JPG

In through this cute group of houses here at Sankt Johannis:
DSC_0062.JPG

DSC_0063.JPG

I can't skip mentioning at this point how Hellenic this name sounds as we call this Saint the same. On top of it, I am told by a friend of mine who was born nearby in Bayreuth that they also have the same custom as we do on his name day with jumping the fire. Small world isn't it?

Out in the vegetation again. A young tree gets a much needed support:
DSC_0065.JPG

While an old one is dead and gone:
DSC_0067.JPG

I could caption this one "Not only in Athens":
DSC_0068.JPG

I let my eyes bath during in this view:
DSC_0069.JPG

DSC_0071.JPG

Long time since this property was visited:
DSC_0073.JPG

DSC_0072.JPG

There's several pedestrian/cycling tracks around here and as you can see they lead you to nice routes:
DSC_0077.JPG

DSC_0080.JPG

DSC_0078.JPG

DSC_0079.JPG

I have no bicycle with me and I am a very tired pedestrian already so I just rush back to my place as I have to start cooking and putting myself together somehow.

See you on the next one as there's a lot to explore around here!