The HIVE Tour - Episode 32a - NE Bavaria and NW Czech in one day

in #trip11 months ago

Knowing the right people is priceless and I couldn't have a better contact for my Bavarian days than my dear friend Andreas. It's my last day here in Bayreuth and I will try to do as many places he has proposed around here as possible since who knows when I'll be back. Quite a challenge though as the whole area is an eye candy with endless sightseeing.

Number one on my way is Fichtel mountains. It's a nice ride up to there but the place is not exactly what I was expecting. Don't get me wrong, nothing bad about it, it's just that I thought I could ride part of it and then go back to my route for the rest while here you have to park your vehicle and continue on foot. And that's what I do:
DSC_0001.JPG

The spot you see is proposed by the guy who works at the local parking lot. He speaks no English but when he sees my Greek number plate he goes "Griechenland?!" in awe. I say yes (what else?) and then he offers to host my helmet in one of their rooms.
Right here actually:
DSC_0002.JPG

So as you see above my helmet sits on that chair and the guy tells me in full German something that as I can understand is "when your done with your helmet pull back the stand with the brochures to prevent access from others". And that's what I did 🙂

At this moment before walking I gotta...do this:
DSC_0003.JPG

Pretty wise choice as seconds later busses arrive at the parking lot with myriads of kids and the toilets get jammed.

There's more scenic stuff than toilets here though and there I go:
DSC_0004.JPG

Plenty of water too:
DSC_0005.JPG

And huge boulders:
DSC_0006.JPG

So many hiking trails to choose from here but I only have time for a brief walk so I stay on the main way:
DSC_0007.JPG

The amount of huge boulders here is more than enough to host the tourist information:
DSC_0009.JPG

DSC_0011.JPG

There used to be a huge tree over that sign but now it's history:
DSC_0010.JPG

Now you can easier imagine that this place attracts a lot of kids:
DSC_0012.JPG

And... here is the future of mankind🙂:
DSC_0013.JPG

My walk unsurprisingly confirms the two things that are beyond plenty around here - tall trees and huge boulders:

DSC_0014.JPGDSC_0015.JPG

Now there's also kids among them:
DSC_0016.JPG

And signs that are all German to me:
DSC_0017.JPG

I hope these pictures gives you an idea about the height of the trees:

DSC_0018.JPGDSC_0020.JPG

And these ones about the size of the boulders:
DSC_0019.JPG
DSC_0024.JPG

Both in the next one:
DSC_0025.JPG

(I really like those twin boulders by the way)

I can enjoy my walk around those proud, tall and green trees,
DSC_0026.JPG

while walking over this green soft carpet which feels priceless:
DSC_0027.JPG

I like how this "carpet" grows over the boulders too:
DSC_0028.JPG

DSC_0031.JPG

DSC_0030.JPG

I think I said those trees are tall didn't I?

DSC_0032.JPG

After all these you can imagine the logging that takes place here. If not, let me help you:
DSC_0033.JPG

DSC_0034.JPGDSC_0036.JPG

DSC_0035.JPG

Don't rush to mourn the trees, some had to be cut anyway:
DSC_0039.JPG

DSC_0038.JPG

DSC_0037.JPG

This pile of logs give me a chance for an overview so I climb on top of it:
DSC_0040.JPG

And here's my view:
DSC_0042.JPG

DSC_0043.JPG

DSC_0044.JPG

DSC_0041.JPG

DSC_0045.JPG

DSC_0046.JPG

Lovely mauve parenthesis in this green heaven:
DSC_0048.JPG

Which is a heaven even with just its shades of green:
DSC_0049.JPG

Anyone missed some boulders? I got you covered:
DSC_0050.JPG

I'm making my way back to the parking lot as I can't stay here forever which is a pity since you can spend a full day walking around here with no regrets.
Goodbye trees, see you next time:
DSC_0051.JPG

As I walk down the same road I am surprised I didn't pay attention to that thing on the right:
DSC_0052.JPG

I mean this huge thing which is probably the largest piece around:
DSC_0053.JPG

Goodbye Bavarian jungle,
DSC_0056.JPG

And goodbye kids!
DSC_0057.JPG

As I step towards my motorbike a bunch of them insist in "hallo!" me behind my back until I realise they really talk to me 🙂

With my well stored helmet on my head, I'm ready to explore the rest that's on the list.
Stay tuned as I ride East, see you on the next one!