The HIVE Tour - Episode 32b - NE Bavaria and NW Czech in one day

in #trip11 months ago

So I am leaving Fichtel mountains behind and continue my ride heading East in order to enter Czech for my first time ever. Another first time for me is that this is the most Northern point so far on a motorcycle trip. You see I might be travelling a lot on my saddle abroad since 2010 but most of the times I was heading West not North. Interested in more "useless info of the day" statistics? This is the longest time I've been on the road. Previous record was 5 weeks in a row and I've just passed it. But I intent to triple it so that means I'm not even halfway 🙂

My good Bavarian biker friend Andreas told me to visit Cheb in Czech. Looks lovely in pictures too so it's a no brainer to do it. Not that far either so less than an hour here I am at its Market Square:
DSC_0059.JPG

DSC_0060.JPG

DSC_0062.JPG

DSC_0063.JPG

DSC_0058.JPG

DSC_0065.JPG

Charming isn't it? An American passing by stops at the sight of my Greek bike to ask me how I'm doing on this long road trip and we both agree on how wonderful this place is. Very cool guy hence our talk goes on and on but his beautiful daughter doesn't find it that much of fun to wait for the end of a chat that could go on forever so we cut it short... ish.

This is the city hall by the way with my iron horse posing proudly for the aforementioned records:

DSC_0064.JPG

I drive out of the center of Cheb and stop at the river Ohre for a few pictures and set my next destination:
DSC_0068.JPG

DSC_0070.JPG

DSC_0069.JPG

I think I'm good to go now and so is the iron horse:
DSC_0071.JPG

Next stop, Karlovy Vary. Pretty famous city in Czech and now I know why. From the first stop at a parking lot to recheck the map I already adore the old buildings and the whole vibe:
DSC_0072.JPG

DSC_0073.JPG

The local river Tepla doesn't have that much of water:
DSC_0075.JPG

DSC_0074.JPG

It has some interesting graffiti though:
DSC_0079.JPG

I try to make it into the city but the way I take takes me to a dead end. Nothing bad happens without a good reason though as Ancient Hellenes used to say so I look at my left rear view mirror and I see that behind me is this:
DSC_0081.JPG

So I wait for those lovely horses to come closer and I manage this shot as they pass me:
DSC_0085.JPG

Could be worse since I'm still on the bike without total freedom of movement. Here's one more:
DSC_0086.JPG

So I drive out of the maze of the city in an attempt to find a view point to this gem. I don't know if you noticed it but from the previous spot you can see how steep the slope is:
DSC_0084.JPG

I manage to find a good one right here. Without further commenting I will let you enjoy the view. Ladies and gents, put your hands together for Karlovy Vary:
DSC_0088_50.226558, 12.883087.JPG

DSC_0089.JPG

DSC_0090.JPG

I love how vegetation treats this house (and what a view it has):
DSC_0091.JPG

DSC_0093.JPG

On the other side there's a whole forest:
DSC_0092.JPG

Unfortunately not time to explore neither the forest or the center so I move on promising to myself I will come back to Czech for a more dedicated trip.

The rest of the ride from this point is absolutely wonderful. Blame Slavkov forest for that. An absolute gem, a joy to ride and an eye candy. I make a stop at the Retro Riverside Wellness Resort to enjoy the local lake formed by the river Tepla:
DSC_0095.JPG

DSC_0097.JPG

DSC_0098.JPG

DSC_0099.JPG

Here's the resort:
DSC_0101.JPG

DSC_0100.JPG

Time to hop back on the saddle:
DSC_0096.JPG

20 minutes later after a super ride in this forest I enter Becov nad Teplou where I make a stop at what looks like the local train station:
DSC_0102_50.083504, 12.830918.JPG

However, what made me stop isn't the above building but this one at the opposite side:
DSC_0103.JPG

Looks like a perfect URBEX target but it's all sealed:

DSC_0105.JPG

DSC_0104.JPG

DSC_0107.JPG

I could stay here for much longer imagining how beautiful this building used to be but I have to move on. In case anyone's interested it is located here.

And if you speak Czech you may find more info about the location on this sign:
DSC_0108.JPG

Time to go:
DSC_0106.JPG

15 beautiful riding minutes later I find a spot after Mnichov that offers chances for wallpaper pictures. Enjoy:
DSC_0110.JPG

DSC_0116.JPG

DSC_0109_50.029506, 12.787897.JPG

DSC_0111.JPG

DSC_0112.JPG

DSC_0114.JPG

DSC_0115.JPG

DSC_0113.JPG

DSC_0117_49.981936, 12.749800.JPG

DSC_0120.JPG

DSC_0119.JPGDSC_0118.JPGDSC_0121.JPG

Such a sweet ride. Czech, be sure I'll be back.

Right at the birder of Karlovy Vary and Plzen region I make a short stop at this lake:
DSC_0125.JPG

DSC_0124.JPG

It's the Ticha river that waters this and it's my last stop before I go back to Germany. The route back to my place East of Bayreuth is also very nice and you can check it out plus the rest of the ride and places I've visited in this 4K video, my longest one so far:

Thanks for reading, see you on the next one!

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @orestistrips! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz Women's World Cup Contest - Collect Badges and Prizes - Thousands of HIVE, Tokens or NFTs to be won!