The Hive Tour - Episode 37 - Last day at Wittelsberg Essen Germany

in #trip11 months ago (edited)

What a sweet area this is but my time is running out here. So I take the chance for a last walk around in the woods as there's plenty of such choices. Today I pick this one walking South leaving the village of Wittelsberg behind me:

DSC_0001.JPG

It's a beautiful day though still cold for summer standards (or at least my summer standards) and as you see I have a nice little forest ahead to explore. The spot has a nice view hence the local municipality placed this bench, not sure what's that sign about though (German speakers feel free to apply your input):
DSC_0002.JPG

Oh, I shouldn't skip sharing the view right? There you go:
DSC_0003.JPG

Part of the view is also these happy cows sunbathing under the early morning rays of the sun:
DSC_0004.JPG

If you zoom in you'll see them staring at me with a bit of "what da fuk" attitude peppered with laziness.

Time to enter the Kingdom of Green:

DSC_0008.JPGDSC_0006.JPG

DSC_0007.JPG

DSC_0009.JPGDSC_0010.JPG

First sign of logging here but I'm sure I'll find more later as the wood resources of the area are almost infinite:
DSC_0011.JPG

Some roads are more straight,
DSC_0012.JPG

and others are more muddy:
DSC_0013.JPG

One of the fortunate dilemmas:
DSC_0014.JPG

Left or right?

DSC_0016.JPGDSC_0015.JPG

Nothing to regret either way I guess but I turn right:
DSC_0017.JPG

More bits of logging:

DSC_0018.JPGDSC_0019.JPGDSC_0022.JPG

DSC_0021.JPG

Though it's rather demeaning to call bits these long logs.

Now see the green camouflage made by nature on that tree stump post logging:
DSC_0023.JPG

Nature knows best how to smooth out the scars. As you can see it's a bit of a jungle here:
DSC_0024.JPG

Such logging comes with a good amount of chainsaw dust:
DSC_0026.JPG

DSC_0025.JPG

Look how dense the forest is - full of young trees:
DSC_0027.JPG

Happily lost in the serenity of these roads:
DSC_0028.JPG

Tiny white bits seem lost in this ocean of Green:

DSC_0031.JPGDSC_0030.JPG

More logs:

DSC_0033.JPGDSC_0032.JPG

Even more logs:
DSC_0034.JPG

DSC_0035.JPG

Time to walk back to my place as I'm getting hungry and I also have to cook. This way seems to work:

DSC_0036.JPG

And it actually does since it brings me back to the village view:
DSC_0037.JPG

The cows are still here with the same stare:
DSC_0038.JPG

And the path to the village is obviously unchanged except the light of the sun - even this not by much:
DSC_0039.JPG

Before I step back down in the village you can watch a video from my walk in 4K:

I said I'm hungry didn't I? Hence my choice doesn't require that much of cooking - here's my dish:
DSC_0041.JPG

Smoked salmon, aubergine salad, potatoes (done in the microwave), with some olive oil and dry tomato powder. Lovely🙂

At this point, prior to a long ride I have to do tomorrow I feel the need to praise my iron horse. Look at its exhaust end:
DSC_0040.JPG

It might not say a lot to non petrolheads but this is how it looks unwashed since I can't recall when. The bike is well past 150.000km, it's oil and fuel consumption is the exact same as brand new and the exhaust still has no carbon built up. If you look the tip it's just metal with a slight touch of rust. Even inside the tube all you can see is just a thin black colour. Ageless!

Gotta have a good rest now, see you on the next one!

Sort:  

Very good motorbike, indeed

Couldn't ask for more. Bought it for 8K euros back in 2007 fully equipped and feels like I owe them money now 🙂

Congratulations @orestistrips! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - July 15, 2023