The HIVE Tour - Episode 38 - Very Murhpy's Law on my goodbye to Essen and hello to Rheinland Pfalz

in #trip11 months ago

I pack my things here in beutifull Wittelsberg and get ready to leave this scenic region of Essen in Germany to move South West in Rheinland Pfalz. The weather is expected to be rainy (if not VERY rainy) so I keep my camera in my bag and wear my rain gear. I hate it but better dry than wet. I'm also low on fuel so I mark the closest fuel station on the map and set my route accordingly.

I want to say at this point that I found less gas stations in Germany than I expected. Though my bike has a very long range ( the pros of a large tank and a very efficient engine) there were a couple of times that I reached my limits as I tend to empty my tank before I fill it up.

I am on the same block with that fuel station here in Fronhausen where I face... this:
DSC_0003.JPG

Can you believe it? These road works affect ONLY the block where that station is. And the next one is double digit km away. Even the locals struggle to remember another station around when asked. I can probably make it to the next one but with a full loaded bike I'd better not risk pushing it.

I try to talk to the workers at the spot but no English from them and no German from me. First I try to see if the station here is open at all and as far as I understand they say it is open but I must have a canister to fill. Then I try to ask them of a way to get in there (since I have no container to fill with fuel), mainly asking them if they can tolerate me driving over their gravel. Finally one guy tells me to go around to the other side of the block where he will open me some passage from the sidewalk. That's at least what I understand and fortunately that's what he meant as well so finally here I am in front of the fuel pump thanking the guys:
DSC_0004.JPG

DSC_0005.JPG

Those three pictures I have posted so far literally cover ALL the road works going on. That's beyond Murphy's law - it's like trying to isolate the only gas station of the area 😂

With a full tank I continue my trip in a much more relaxed mood and happy as I am that there's no rain on my way I regret not using the camera. Not the most scenic ride though so no huge loss. The problem is that I'm starting sweating with my rain gear on so I have a 1st world problem of whether I should stop to take it off or keep going.

Hours later I make a lunch stop at a parking of the Autobahn near Heidesheim - necessary as these places are, they are also far from charming most of the times:
DSC_0007.JPG

DSC_0006.JPG

As for my lunch, this is laughable but will keep me going till I arrive at my next place where I can cook:

DSC_0008.JPG

Another couple of hours later I make one more stop as I'm only a few km away from my next place, this time just to wait for the check in time to come. I wanted to ask the host if I could come in earlier but he's far from talkative so I just wait here where the parking of the local pool is to kill something like half an hour and then leave to arrive half an hour earlier:
DSC_0009.JPG

DSC_0010.JPG

As you may noticed from the cars in this last picture, people from all walks of life come here. Meanwhile, I make a super comfy chair combining two tyres (proudly reading "MADE IN GERMANY") and that's my view as I kill time on my phone:

DSC_0011.JPG

Besides, I won't have internet at that place anyway, something that I discovered a bit too late. Moral of booking, check the list of amenities carefully! Now I understand why his place is cheap for its size. He makes a discount for the lack of internet and lack of communication 😂

I arrive at my place which despite being next to the main road here in Medard it is very quiet, especially the spacious bedroom which is at the rear side. Also very convenient is the fact that I park my bike right next to the door. Fully equipped, clean enough, it could be worse.

So, time to unpack my things, cook, try to rest later and put some GB on my phone to stay in touch with the rest of the world.

See you in the next one!