Hive Witness -- Server change and update

in #witness10 months ago (edited)

server-g845ce68b9_1920.jpg

Hi all,

I am running my Hive Witness for quite a while and sooner or later it was clear that something will happen :) I just got informed by witness colleague @bluerobo that my witness was starting to miss blocks, which is obviously not the intended way that a witness should operate, so I took a look and obviously, the Hard Drive was completely and fully loaded with 100% and the blockchain could not be kept synchronized ...


server_full.png
bad bad thing this

Ok, that was for sure an issue that needed immediate solving. I anyways wanted to move away from Contabo as a Provider and took the opportunity to transfer this to a server of mine I have here locally in my basement and not somewhere with an internet provider.
It only has a Ryzen 5 1600 Processor but that should be more than enough to run, I invested in 16GB of Ram additionally so that it now holds 32GB, which also should be adequate.

Well, for sure syncing the chain took quite a while but I am happy to say that my new witness server already produced the first block today!
Additionally, I also set up the pricefeed again and it seems to be working like a charm.


server_besser.png
That is looking better again

So, it is like most of the time, a crisis always brings along the possibility to do better and change something..

If you want to leave a vote I would be happy you can either vote here or in any of the tools that are already in place to vote for Hive Witnesses.

Thanks to @bluerobo, @stayoutoftherz and @rishi556 (for the documentation I used to set up a new witness server)

Jan

ps oh I used the chance as well to update to 1.27.4 ;)

Sort:  

to transfer this to a server of mine I have here locally in my basement

That is very nice to hear from you, becouse i like to see people have their Witness Server at Home to be prevented from potential regulations from the goverments.

Me is trying to make my Witness Server too with a very similiar Hardware to yours (Ryzen 2600 is the base of it) It is just question of time if i follow your good example to make the Hive Blockchain more save. More Nodes, more Savety for us all, becouse every Node had the same copie of the Blockchain.

HIVE ON!

YOUR WITNESS ON TOO. :-)

Salve
Alucian

Ziehs durch, die Anleitung von stayoutoftherz und rishi556 ist wirklich gut :)

Das wird auf jeden Fall gemacht. 😃

1.27.4. steht mir auch noch bevor :(
Super, dass der Umstieg geklappt hat, ich bin noch bei Contabo.

Hat alles wunderbar geklappt, dummerweise hab ich noch ein bisschen Vertrag bei Contabo, aber was solls jetzt hab ich alles direkt hier und nicht mehr irgendwo rumstehen :)

PIZZA!
The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @jedigeiss! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 32000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 33000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5

Hi @jedigeiss I am reaching out to you to ask for a witness vote, if you have a spare one, I will do the same for you. I am a new witness, and like you I own my hardware and host it in the city that I live in. keep in touch and thanks again