You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can I get a Witness?

in #witness4 years ago

You should break this down into several posts instead of putting it all into one. Hard to keep up with it all this way. Lot of good ideas on here. Some I agree with, some I don't. I do like burning the ninja mined stake though, that should be done ASAP.

As far as proposals, I think just about all of the approved (and going to be approved one) are being paid way too much at this point in the project's life cycle. While that work may be "worth" what they say it is somewhere else, this is essentially a startup and in startups people often defer taking salaries for years while they get the startup up and running. They don't take all the cash out of it immediately when it is available or it can kill the project. I think this should be treated the same way. Unless there is a proposal that can seriously pitch how it will create exponentially more value than it takes in, we need to be extremely judicious and conservative on how that money gets spent.

Sort:  

Yeah I knew it was too long but I just wanted to have it all in one place to start. I'll probably break it up and expand more on the issues... then I can create a summary post that links them all together.

Unless there is a proposal that can seriously pitch how it will create exponentially more value than it takes in

I was actually thinking about this the other day. Imagine we pumped millions of HBD into a lottery fund for Hive. Lotteries can generate gobs of money so it would be totally worth it to spend huge overhead on the initial prize pool.

Sounds interesting... how would it work? I'm all for proposals that end up creating more demand for HIVE and thus help increase its price...

I'm more interested in gambling that is friction free and doesn't generate an income. Fair for everyone. Something like that would also bring massive generic value to the platform.

However, the way I am organizing logistics is to use the unhackable random numbers of Bitcoin as the seed that determines who wins the lottery.

In the case of a big prize pool anyone who won and got lucky would get a percentage of the lottery fund. Say if you win you get 25% of the fund. That way there is always a bunch of money in the fund no matter what.