My Woman's History Month Blog, Day 29: Michelle Tsosie Sisneros

in #womenshistorymonth2 months ago (edited)

Image.jpeg
Dresses featuring her artwork

Michelle is an award winning artist, designer & activist. We met through a mutual friend. I feel at peace whenever I’m near her. Just looking at her picture grounds me. She entered my world at just the right time, so thankful.

She is a Santa Clara / Navajo / Laguna / Luiseno Mission Indigenous woman, living on the Santa Clara Pueblo in north central New Mexico. She grew up on the Navajo-Dineh reservation, where she felt a deep sense of vastness in her life. The land was long and far in between the people living there, and she longed to be in Santa Clara, where she felt a closeness to her people and Mother Earth.

Image.jpeg
Hand-painted boots

Michelle has painted since childhood, and has experienced many downfalls as an artist. Her ability to overcome doubt and negativity has formed the resilience to become a renown artist and fashion designer. She now paints images from her soul that depict the people and experiences that touch her life and the planet around her.

“I’m blending my Puebloan ancestry with modern-day life inspired by my Santa Clara Pueblo culture in my collection of holiday greeting cards, signed prints and wearable arts,” she noted. “My creativity is inspired by the people and places where I was raised. The images I paint reflect my Navajo and Pueblo upbringing in the people, spirit animals and landscapes which I incorporate into my textile designs, cards, prints and original paintings.

Image 1.jpeg
Smithsonian Artwork

Her works are featured at the Smithsonian National museum of the American Indian, at the Heard Museum in Phoenix, and at many smaller museums and galleries. She has authored stories and poems, and illustrated a children's book, "Kokopelli's Gift".

There are not enough accolades for this amazing human who nurtures the world around her.

Mama, please find me
Left on my Mother Earth
I am born to find my way back to the waters
That give me my life’s breath
  • “Waters Breath”, by Michelle Tsosie Sisneros

You can find her on Facebook & Instagram, and at
https://michelletsosiesisneros.artspan.com

(All images are property of the Michelle Tsosie Sisneros. If you like her work, please support it through the link above, where you'll find everything from greeting cards to wall art and clothing.)

#womenshistorymonth
#womenwhoinspireme