100 Words Stories. Winners Week 4 ‘Mind’ - These Writers Know How to Bend Minds!

in #100words7 years ago

img

Image: @homeartpictures

The Steemit 100 Word Story Contest “Mind” has again produced some fantastic writing.

Congratulations to all who took part. Story telling is a creativity of the mind and its imaginations.

The support of SteemTrail is a constant; huge thanks, guys. We hope that many more will be inspired to "take up the pen" in Week Four which will be announced tomorrow, 10th April.

img

The Winners of Week Four

'MIND'

⌘ ⌘

Third Place receives 100 TRAIL and 4 STEEM

Once a Soldier, Always a Soldier by @krizia

Heavy sweat trickled down their whole body. One soldier already created a disgusting puddle beside him. Some were already numb from the pain they felt on their arms and legs. It’ll only be a matter of time before their spirits were broken.
“Mind over matter.”
The senior officer roared.
The words ringed on their ears. They must keep on going. It’ll end soon. Just three more hours to go. Endure!
“Are you a quitter?”
“SIR! NO, SIR!”
They responded in almost a screech.
“Don’t quit. Go!”
In unison, they yelled, “Don’t Quit! As things go wrong, as sometimes they will…”

img

Second Place receives 200 TRAIL and 6 STEEM

Mind by @elementm

“Dearly beloved…”
That voice droned on and on as the preacher ignored me pointedly. I sat as far from the front as I could without exiting the church, debating this unthinkable thing that I needed to do. An old woman hissed her contempt at me and I felt nothing. Nothing new at least. My cup of sorrow was full to the brim with a feeling of loss so all-encompassing that no new pain could break through. My mind was made. I didn’t wait for the preacher to ask. I stood boldly and I stated my peace.
“I object.”

img

First Place 1st place receives 400 TRAIL and 10 STEEM

**A Killer Mind by @henry-gant
**

“A complete murder mystery in 100 words? It can’t be done,” Janet said.
Starting with her thumb she counted, “A killer, a body, interesting characters, with an investigator asking questions . . . in 100 words? No way,” she added.
I was typing, “And the reader will know who-done-it.” I looked at her and mused, “I can only hope they cheer.”
“ What's in that mind of yours?” She voiced.
“I’m almost done.” I sang.
Janet rolled her eyes.
“The writing is complete!” I announced.
Rising, I asked, “ . . . do you have any final questions before I strangle the investigator.”

⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘

img

The winning stories will be announced each Sunday and published here on steemit and on other Social Media Platforms such as Twitter and Facebook.

img

The organisation of this contest has been given huge support by the guys at SteemTrail.

If you have not already done so, head over to the SteemTrail Discord server and check out what they’re up to.

You will need an Open Ledger Account which is free. Simply click the Trail Coin and follow the instructions. For a Streemian Account, click the Streemian logo.

imgimg

Thank you from your 100 Words Contest organiser, please follow, upvote, resteem, generally be terribly nice to @ebryans

img

Sort:  

nice thanks for sharing

Congratulations to the winners! I wish you success in future competitions.
Hope to see new names as winners! Looking forward to the new words!

Thank you @inna-yatsuk! 😊

Congratulations to all who entered! What fun this is. And the writings have been steadily getting stronger.

Nice to see the contest alive!! Let's make it awesome.

I'll have to post my open-ledger account name here. I have been to the Discord chat several times but, no reply. thanks:
CHARLEMAGNE123