From the highest heights to the lowest lows – Jon Magnusson’s 2019

in #20194 years ago

As always when summarizing a whole year it's hard to know where to start. On a strictly personal level first five months of the year was great since I was on full time parental leave and had a blast hanging out with my daughter.


Then since June things has been more or less messed up, but I have already wrote about all that and especially talked about it in my Podcast, so I wont repeat it all over again.

Instead I want to summarize what I actually been doing musically the last 12 months.LISTEN TO ALL SONGS RELEASED 2019 ON SPOTIFY

When it comes to released music I have not released nearly as much as I did 2018 since a lot of my focus was being on parental leave and then building up all the infra structure in my business. But the releases I have done I'm very happy with. And since they are quite different I released them under three different projects and artist names. 

Jon Magnusson


My only release under my main project was my cover of Tables Have Turned that also got me in a fight with the label behind the original. But in the end everything turned out great (read more about it here)

Beyond The Seasons


First released under my own name as a part of a big campaign I made in May/June and later re-released as separate singles under my side project name Beyond The Seasons. 

And as my final release for the year, Alfonso Gugliucci and I together released the jazz quartet piece "From Stockholm to Salerno". 

Georg Nielsen


And the solo piano piece got released under another pseudonym namely Georg Nielsen. 

And just a month ago I released my second solo piano piece in collaboration with the Italian jazz pianist Enzo Orefice

What happened more?


And besides releasing these songs I also reached some very important mile stones in my career.

  • I made my first campaign to sell physical CD's and merchandise and even if it was a lot of work I learned a lot during the process.
  • April Sun was my first song to be pleased on a official Spotify Playlist
  • I took the final leap to leave my old day job and become a musician full time!
  • I've been able to keep growing my listener-ship and especially been able to keep in touch directly via my ever growing mailing list
  • I have dedicated time almost every day to study music theory and get better at my musical skills, guitar playing, vocals etc... which feels like an amazing privilege to actually be able to do. 

What's next?

I have to admit I might have wanted to make some more music and released more during 2019. But at the same time I'm really happy I took the time to build the structure around the business side of things. But for 2020 my ultimate goal is to release as much new music as possible within all my different projects.

Since I ultimately need to have an income from what I do I will also build some kind of membership service where people can get exclusive access to all kinds of fun stuff like demos, song sketches, videos etc.  

And if you want front row tickets to this ride, I can't recommend my mailing list enough... so join right away!

Be A Part Of My Musical Journey


Sign up below to be the first to get all new music, videos and behind-the-scenes stories.


So... that was my 2019 when it comes to music. I'm really looking forward to next year and since I never know what kind of crazy ideas will come to me, I have no idea where I will be one year for now! But one thing is sure, I want you to keep being a part of this journey. HAPPY NEW YEAR!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.jonmagnusson.se/2019/12/29/from-the-highest-heights-to-the-lowest-lows-jon-magnussons-2019/

Sort:  

Congratulations @jonmagnusson! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 84000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @jonmagnusson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 89000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!