You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Lady's Memory

in #31sentencecontest4 years ago

You are my favorite party goer!
You are a writer who will understand this process story: I had hit a snag at the nine hour mark. I needed a one word sentence. I was trying to remember a word that means "uses super big words", was using any means I could to find it, and stumbled on the word of the day, which was spoonerisms. My ending then spilled out as a freewrite, and I was even spitting out sentences of the correct length every time! That was bizarre, but the muse was in control. Of course I had to go back and change one whole paragraph (the loquacious one was not there at the time) to make a better set up for the ending. This may have been the most fruitful writing experience I have had to date. Learned so much about story structure, had to switch up my sentence structure and general cadence. Thanks for your appreciation! It was a shitload of work!!! And you are not late to the party - my payout when truffle visited two days after I got up the nerve to hit "publish" was still under 1 STU, whatever that is.
xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

Sort:  

Ahhh, I remember being told "Hold off on the upvotes" until a post is 24+hours old with less than $1 in upvotes, so as to qualify for...curie, something, some upvoter. I'm still peeved that even though I did another Power Up, $200 SBD, my upvote remained at a worthless one-cent dust vote. How do I build up bigger voitng power without being as busy as felt.buzz and tristancarax and @fitininfun and all these busy, busy bloggers of Steemit.... and find time for Discord too? Gotta sleep. Eat. Spend time with family. Do laundry and dishes.
How do YOU do it.... this story... the Muse even supplied you with sentences of the correct word count... you do inspire me! (Aren't you glad nobody can kidnap your Muse?)

Here's a big rub for me: we see an amount in STU as payout, then receive some incomprehensible amount in STEEM and SP when the post actually pays out. The conversion from STU to the final payout has dropped precipitously since the fork. I have asked a great many people how that calculation is done (even truffle) AND NO ONE CAN TELL ME. Some folks tell me 'but it's OK because when steem goes back up you'll make a lot" but if my payout in steem has dropped to almost half what it used to be for each STU, then that is a load of crap. I'm considering attending the witness meeting tomorrow to ask this question.
Yeah I am working my ass off now, earning ten times what I used to make on each post, and my vote value has not gone up much at all. That upvote curve screwed the smaller accounts.
@curie is only rewarding the big upvotes to non-english creative writers as far as I can see at this point, so essentially quality creative writing is being completely overlooked. I'm sure that is just a lack of curators in creative writing, but I mean, look at this story! It is making nowhere near what it should be. Ten reblogs, 66 comments, a whopping .5 STU upvote from @curie, and my largest upvote was for a buck. Which I am grateful for, DON'T GET ME WRONG! But when I see absolute shit getting 10 STU upvotes from curie, I feel like giving up.