Elegoo Mars Review - Review of the Elegoo Mars MSLA 3D Printer

in #3dprinter5 years ago (edited)


Review of the Elegoo Mars 3D Printer
Review of the Elegoo Mars 3D Printer

Elegoo Mars is a $250 resin 3D printer - check out this review to see how well it works in practice.

Yes, you read that right. The fully-assembled Elegoo Mars is $250 US dollars - on Amazon. I bought mine on Amazon Canada, and I am tempted to buy a second one.

Anyone who has been around 3D printing for a while will recall resin printers starting at, well, 10x that amount.

The Prusa SL1 resin printer with the exact same resolution is $1,000 more even for the kit, more for the assembled, plus will cost you additionally for shipping, and whatever your import duty is on top.

Yeah, I am a Prusa fan but with competition this fierce, I can't see that price being so very high for very long. Sorry, Josef.

Previously, the darling of the MSLA crowd was the Anycubic Photon and Photon S. They are obviously feeling the heat because there have been several discounts of the Photon over summer, but none bring it down to $250. From what I can tell, the Photon doesn't really have any substantial advantages over the Mars, other than air filtration, either.

Elegoo Mars in Action

Just like the Kelant Orbeat D100, leveling the bed is a simple case of loosening the grub screws, homing, then tightening back up.

From unpacking to starting the rook test print is all under 30 minutes. Make sure you order some resin along with the printer as you don't get a sample.

While the Elegoo Mars was well-packaged, I did have to get a (free) replacement from Amazon because after printing off my first rook and a Battletech figurine, my LCD died.

I carefully opened the unit, following instructions on the official Elegoo video, and saw the cable was detached. Rather than attempt a repair I just waited a few days for a replacement unit.

Elegoo Mars Print Quality

As you can see, the prints are frankly amazing.

For these prints I used Elegoo brand resin, which has been both the cheapest and the best I have found ... which means it is often sold out, unfortunately.

I'm using Chitubox to do everything - supports (I do auto plus custom), hollowing, adding holes, and slicing.

I don't have an ultrasonic cleaner, I just use isopropyl, and for curing I have been using the sun, seeing as we have had really nice weather.

Any Problems?

My one complaint about the Elegoo Mars is the USB port is around the back. This means I have to reach around the back of the printer. Not so bad when it is on a desk, but means getting my face uncomfortably close to fumes when the printer is sitting on a shelf. I will get a USB extension cable to rectify this, not a biggie.

Chitubox comes with a great starter profile for the Elegoo Mars, with just tweaks needed for your specific resin, but it doesn't always auto-generate supports everywhere you need them. It is a simple process to add additional supports, and when these prints can be 4-7 hours long, it is worth the effort.

When a print fails (almost always due to bad supports or curing settings), you will get partially cured resin floaters that need to be cleaned out. You will also need to clean when switching resins. Elegoo are going to be selling low-cost replacement resin vats, which will mean swapping will be far easier and cheaper. Currently the Photon vats are compatible but pricy (and a garish metallic blue).

Bottom Line

The Elegoo Mars is amazing value for money. It would be still amazing value at 2x the price.

Highly recommended.

Get your slicer settings dialed in, add the necessary supports, get the bed leveled and clean, and ensure your fep and vat are clear, and you will get brilliant prints time after time.

Check out the Elegoo Mars

View more details and reviews at Amazon



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://makerhacks.com/elegoo-mars-msla-3d-printer-review/
Sort:  

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Wow, that's so cool. The figures look nice. I think 3D printing has a really exciting future. I am surprised it isn't bigger than it is now.

Congratulations @makerhacks! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!