Looking for a 4K Monitor

in #4k6 years ago (edited)

I need some help getting a 2nd 4k Monitor.

Looking primarily for a good quality picture.

I specifically would love some hard facts about picture quality.

Sort:  

I would recommend to read through this WireCutter's latest guide on best 4K monitors- https://thewirecutter.com/reviews/best-4k-monitors/
This was published just a couple of months back and shall be a good reference to make a decision.

THE GREATEST 4K MONITOR YOU NEED! - THE BEST 4K MONITOR OF 2018

i think this will be the one

order.JPG

Ordered this baby

Might have to grab me one too. The type C connection is what I'm looking for(for usage with MBP) and it looks big enough to fit a good chunk of code for whatever I'm working on.

Depend on what you want to use the image for
For example, if you have an image with a 6” x 4” document size at 300 PPI resolution, you can
print that image comfortably up to 6” x 4” at 150 LPI.
And #4000 for monitor is easy to find here.

@knircky has set 5.000 SBD bounty on this post! logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

You are way more tech than me, but I do image editing and have been very pleased with my monitor - it has awesome height adjustment, and for what it looks like I thought it was a darn good deal - no complaints at all - I think it's excellent

Philips BDM3275UP 32" 4K UHD IPS LED Monitor

My monitors are 1080p resolution, which is the same as standard TVs. It's good enough for casual use, but for a 'power user', more resolution is needed. More resolution means more screen space and more ability to look at more things at once.

4K is currently the option that gives the most space on screen.. a 4K screen has 4 times the number of pixels of a 1080p screen, so it can either be huge or maybe a smaller size but with enhanced image quality due to having a massive number of pixels crammed into a small space. But 4K screens are quite pricey and worse than that, they really need a top-end graphics card in the computer to be able to run 3D software and games on them. I don't play games a huge amount, but I do sometimes and I wouldn't want to lose the ability to play games just because I upgraded the screen. I think it will be possible to play games in a window on a larger screen, so maybe this isn't such a problem. Graphics cards are currently pretty hard to find and the two biggest computer shops near me have ZERO in stock, because crypto miners are buying them all up in vast numbers!

The other option is to buy a non 4K screen, that's bigger than 1080p.

Then there's the issue of the type of panel in the screen. IPS is the form that is meant to give the best colour representation, which is important when working with images and video. I am not a professional digital artist, but I do make images and videos - and sometimes for clients, so it would be good to have an IPS screen. Unfortunately, that also boosts the price.

Then there's the refresh rate (the speed at which the screen image is refreshed) - with lower numbers (in milliseconds) being better. If the refresh rate is too high (as with flatscreen TVs) then photo editing and gaming is hard to do because there can be a lag between moving the mouse and seeing the change on the screen. There can also be a 'ghosting' effect created (residual images).

Additionally, there's also the size/shape of the screen to consider. Some screens are HUGE - at over 50".. While the standard is 27" currently. So I could maybe get two 27" screens side by side, or one big one. There are also now the super wide screens that are one single panel that is as wide as two standard screens side by side! These are great for gaming, but they don't come in IPS as far as I am aware.

Unfortunately, these screens tend to be curved - which is no good for me as I need a flat screen for photo editing etc.

THE BEST 4K MONITOR YOU NEED!
asus-pb287q-press.jpg

I'm agree about Asus but what width of monitor author need?

Posted using Partiko Android

27-32

Going to have to look back at this. Have to get a new monitor for my Wife computer.

This second monitor is to use in the same computer at the same time along with the other 4k monitor?

In that case the best option would be to buy the same model if available, to get the same color palette.

As far as I know, this is the only monitor currently available that has 4k, 144hz, HDR and G-Sync. Of course it is really expensive: https://www.144hzmonitors.com/reviews/asus-rog-swift-pg27uq-review/

My main monitor is old. I just want to get the best possible.

My main monitor
Is old. I just want to get
The best possible.

                 - knircky


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Why ia the better than other ones?

Because for now it is the only one that has all that features combined:

  • 4k resolution
  • 144Hz frequency, for showing up to 144 images per second
  • Nvidia G-Sync, for rpeventing tearing

    Tearing example
  • HDR, for increased contrast

In case it is too expensive, I recommend looking for a monitor with the same features but lower frequency. The difference betweeen 144Hz and 120Hz should be almost indistinguishable.

A monitor? Why not just buy a tv? Put it on the wall above your current monitor, it will be amazing.

Tv make bad monitors in my experience

Well, in that case: ASUS Designo Curved MX34VQ

or MX27UC

I believe the second one has a higher resolution, but the first one looks cooler :D

Mis monitores tienen resolución de 1080p, que es lo mismo que los televisores estándar.

Monitor 4k PHILIPS :

Monitor 8k:

While I don't have a specific answer this is where using the @steemhunt platform would be perfect. If you haven't already checked it out, I would highly recommend it. You can find lots of good products that people have hunted there.

Also, on a side note, don't forget to claim your steemhunt tokens as the air -drop has gone live

https://steemhunt.com/