Snow removal in front of the greenhouse

in #snow5 years ago

Hello, steemians! Welcome to my page, eh!

This year has seen a lot of snow fall here where I live. We've had more snow here this year than in the past 10 years. The snow has piled up in front of the greenhouse from sliding off the roof to the point where it has completely covered most of the front. It was bad enough that the snow on the roof had no where to slide off to.
This picture is from a couple weeks ago, but it gives you an idea of how much snow was in front of the greenhouse. There was about 6 inches of snow on the roof yesterday, as well as the pile in front going right up to the roof.
DSCN0538.JPG

I had finally dug a path through the ass deep snow in front of the greenhouse with the snowblower and shovel at the beginning of the week, but I had to go about 5-6 feet away from the front of the greenhouse because of the big pile of packed snow. I decided to try to clear out a lot of the snow in front of the greenhouse yesterday so that the sunshine can get into the greenhouse. Our snowblower isn't big enough to go directly through the snow pile, so I had to break down the pile a bit at a time with a shovel and them blow that away with the snow blower. That's a lot easier than shoveling it all, and the snowblower moves the snow further away than I could with a shovel. I started working on it yesterday and made some progress. Of course, I didn't think to take any pictures until I was working on it this afternoon.
My first picture shows a fair amount of progress. You can see how I was cutting chunks of packed snow off the pile and into the path that I had cleared in front of the pile earlier in the week. After that, I would run the snowblower through the now loose snow and blow it off into the garden.
DSCN0621.JPG

By the time I ran out of energy to continue this afternoon, I had made a fair amount more progress.
DSCN0622.JPG

Between cutting the snow with the shovel and wrestling with the snowblower, this ends up being a lot of work, it wears me out after a couple of hours. The snowblower is self propelled, but it doesn't have as much traction as you might think, so you end up pushing on it, or dragging it back to have another go at the pile. My back and shoulders really feel the effects of that kind of workout.

The temperature supposed to be in the single digits F for the next couple of days, so I won't work on it any more until the end of the week. Even if I don't do any more work on it, at least the snow on the roof of the greenhouse now has somewhere to go if it slides off the roof. Also, now that the sun can get into the greenhouse again, it will warm up inside enough to get the snow to slide off the roof. I expect that we'll get more snow before spring comes, but at least I'll be able to maintain the area that I've cleared for the rest of the winter.

Well, that's it for this post, I hope you found it interesting!

Thanks for stopping by my page and checking out my snow removal post, eh!

amber banner.png
banner_helpienaut.png
banner2.png

Sort:  

That’s a lot of assignment from Mother Nature!

Thanks for standing your ground as the man.

I’ve not experienced snow for once in my life.

Thanks @amberyooper for sharing your experience with all of us at #Steemit

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the comment!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 157 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

That sure can be a workout! Looks so much better and if you get sun, it will help once the greenhouse warms. I'm astounded the greenhouse has survived so much snow!

The good thing is that as long as the snow has somewhere to go when it slides off the roof, it never gets too deep on the roof.