Getting lost on the Camino was an adventure ...... a little scary!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Walking the Camino Portuguese was a fun carefree group affair that allowed me to leave the GPS job to my fellow walkers who were technically savvy; they had downloaded the MAPS app for Portugal and Spain before flying in to this part of the world. Although out intrepid leader gave us, a group of 11 happy walkers pointed the way with the names of the town and the hotel we were pretty much on our own. Not exactly one of those guided bus tours but rather an expedition kind of tour that required you to walk, trek and climb all day every day. We were joining the band of pilgrims walking the historically popular Camino, coming to feel the energy of the Way.

Anyway we were told that the Camino Way could not be hard to walk because of the yellow arrows, they were very visible absolutely everywhere on the tracks, posts, trees, stones etc. We found this reassuring, no-one will get lost the leader said, just follow the yellow arrows.

Wrong, I did get lost one day, the day I did not walk in my usual group of four with my husband. On this fateful day I was walking with Jennifer and Marie who were busy talking and so I decided to leave them to it and walk up ahead. Getting into a quick rhythm with my walking poles I got away from them very quickly. That was fine but I did not look for the yellow arrows and eventually found myself in a little town. It did not feel right, not a pilgrim was in sight. Stay calm, figure this out, you can do this, I will ask someone. Except not every Portuguese local speaks English and the nice helpful man I asked for directions to the Way talked with gesturing and drawing me a map. My job was to decipher and visualise, I was on my own, no relying on others that I really like doing.

As I walked out of this little town, no time for a coffee, I did the only thing I could go back the way I came. Eventually after a distance I looked down and there on the road was a yellow arrow - yes I had missed this big time. I did not think to look down as I stepped it out looking and breathing in the country. I felt good following this one lone yellow arrow!

Here is a road with arrows just to show you that they are on roads too. Maybe if my road was painted with numerous yellow arrows I would have seen them!

Then along came a large group of about 10 pilgrims, marvellous thought I, I asked the man at the front, obviously the leader if I could tack onto his group. It was a pilgrim group from South America. Very quickly I caught up with Jennifer and Marie and all was good again, my adventure had ended well. Just as well I had because I had no idea of the town or the hotel that we were walking to for that night!

The locals make it very helpful to walk the Camino, we were thankful for their efforts to show us the way.

We were told that an organised group of Camino supporters spend time painting yellow arrows to make sure that happy pilgrims not only find their way but keep coming. There are so many pilgrims walking the Camino the it is a marvellous boost the economy of each country, Portugal, Spain, France, England, Ireland and so on.


Cheers


{ 3 photographs were from Bill Bennetts collection)

Sort:  

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, community, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.

If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Shares - Curation Service

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

howdy there angiemitchell! wow that could have made some people panic! You guys didn't have cell phones with you?

Yes janton, that was on me thank goodness, Bu tthe day had just started and was too early to be picked up and anyway it all turned out to be a bit of an adventure. I didn't add that I got lost again later in that day and did ring Katarina the Portuguese driver who worked out where I was with me describing the landmarks.

what?? you mean you didn't stay with the pack after getting lost the first time?

Well janton, I was walking with 2 from our group but my blisters slowed me down. They went ahead and there you go - another adventure.

howdy back angiemitchell...oh blisters...what do you do if you get blisters? I mean you can't stop until they heal up right?

Congratulations @angiemitchell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!