Mangosteen Extract - Improved Brain Function, BiPolar, Depression, Schizophrenia and Alzheimers?

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

Straining and decanting my mangosteen extract, I was working in silence and calmly breathing life and strength into my tincture (as I tend to do) and speaking (ok - muttering) - repeating as a mantra, if you will - her strengths and all that she was created to achieve.

And so I whispered to her about all the mitochondria she would protect, the cancer cells she would vanquish and the immune systems she would naturally strengthen and enable. The frogs sang along with me outside and there was a beautiful feeling of peace and purpose, until my brain kicked in.

The mangosteen extract I make uses the whole fruit - and is simply the skin, seeds and fruit chopped very small (maximum surface area) and burbled in high quality clear white spirit for a whole moon cycle, or 40 days (depending on which part of my spiritual-religious self has dominance that day. LOL).
mangosteen2477553_1920.jpgImage by Fathima Shanas from Pixabay

This particular tincture needed to sit for the full 40 days temptation-in-the-wilderness. Missed the "How To" and why post? Here It Is Again.

My brain kicked in with a simple question as I watched the deep purple tincture drip through my extremely fine strainer: "I wonder if there are any NEW studies out there about mangosteen and uses we may not have considered before?"

61890014_614233842414096_8661861120815923200_n.jpg

Ad so, fortified with a shot of freshly decanted tincture and a pot of excellent organic coffee, I waded off into the bowels of the internet and published medical research - that part of the internet that they seem to make difficult to access and understand on purpose. I do so love it when the whisperings of intuition are on point, and they were.

I came across an Australian article published in the scientific journal, Frontiers in Psychiatry only 3 months ago which summarizes exciting new findings about simple mangosteen extract as a promising new therapeutic agent for bipolar disorder and schizophrenia. You can read the full article Here.

In the course of the studies, the extract was also found to be efficacious in regulating the dopamine cycle (steadying depressive 'dips'), protecting neural cells against the cellular changes which are believed to cause Alzheimer's Disease and improving memory.

Before you get too excited and start eating mountains of the yummy mangosteen fruit, the exciting phytochemicals are found predominantly in the pericarp (thick bitter rind) and the seeds. Hence the tinctures. You CAN simply liquefy a whole mangosteen and try to drink it down and access the botanical goodness that way, but I'm here to report (personal experience!) that it is so astringent and bitter that afer the first thick mouthful, it is almost impossible not to gag. And so I brew my whole mangosteens in pure white spirit and simply take a dropper full, squeezed as far back down my throat and on the back of my tongue as possible, and have a strong black coffee at the ready. It is still tongue-curlingly bitter and astringent, but is passes in a moment.

I believe the best natural medicine is prevention. So whether you have an official diagnosis of one sort or another to treat, or simply want to live your allotted time to the full - with great memory and an alert, healthy brain! - it makes SENSE to add in a "mangosteen tincture week" here and there. If I'm working intensely hard (as I am at the moment) or feeling a bit 'under the weather', I take a dropper full, twice a day, till my little bottle is empty (about 6-7 days). And then wait a week. Repeat if still not bouncing off the walls.

62000107_336896696996708_2558031398501875712_n.jpg

BlissednBlessed in my natural Thai world. Enjoying the mangosteen season. Going to lay down a few more bottles of mangosteen tincture in the coming weeks.

Come check out my natural Thai herbal business…

Logo1.jpg
Pure Thai Naturals
@ecoTrain Quality Eco-Green-Sustainable Content on Steemit
ecotrainbannerpassenger.png
Proudly contributing to @naturalmedicine natural-medicine banner.jpg

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemuptribesteemupbannerNM2.png

Celebrating and encouraging Freedom, Truth, Happiness, Life and Love with @freedomtribe freedom_steem_tribe.jpg

steemxp.png

Sort:  

I love Mangosteen and this is the first time I heard of Mangosteen extract. This is interesting.

Always delighted to increase someone's natural medicine information & choices. Thank you. :)

You’ve been visited by @riverflows on behalf of Natural Medicine!

'Depending on which side of my brain kicks in' - ah, the sweet balance between poetry and science! Looks like a gorgeous brew - look at that colour! And with an abundance of mangosteens around you, why not utilise them for your own natural medicine? Again, wishing I had an abundance of mangosteens. The only thing truly abundant in my garden at the moment is capeweed, and I'm desperate to find out if there's any medicinal uses haha! Loved this post - thanks so much for always bringing us great, informative, well balanced, thoughtful and spiritual content.

Did you know that @ecotrain and @naturalmedicine are colloborating on an awesome challenge where you can win 50 Steem? Check it out here.
If you are interested in natural healing from herbalism to alt diets to mindfulness, and everything else in between, you might like to join Natural Medicine on Discord or consider delegating a little to support healing wisdoms on the Steem blockchain.
50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

Using what's abundant to us naturally makes so much more sense than crawling around trying to find something elusive & expensive. I'm SURE there's a great medicinal use for capeweed - look forward to your post about that!! ;)

I am glad that alternatives like these are being found, usually conventional drugs especially of this type can become quite "hard-core" in the long run.

Peace!

Yes - drugs for brain function are nearly all 'hardcore' & addictive and often sub-optimal in terms of results. More natural options for more people - that'd our job - to uncover them, explain them and promote them.

Exactly, for this reason many psychologists avoid referring to psychiatrists lightly. It is preferable to exhaust Psychological strategies rather than directly prescribe drugs that generate dependence and even harm.

And in cases where it is really necessary, having these alternatives makes it perfect, healthy and helpful.

I seem to recall us having this conversation already but you know Dan Foxman don't you?

Shortly after meeting Sabrina on that bus I was introduced to him and ended up making a film for a herbal supplement company who wanted to use his dynamic freeze dry system.

His system was to use just the mangosteen rind. Some of the strongest anti-oxidants in nature I think he said. Though it sure doesn't look as good as your tincture!

If you have a moment you may enjoy this film. Feels like a life-time ago now!

Dan and I go back a long, long way. Yes, some of his powders are awesome. :) All good. The mangosteen rind is not well understood and hard to consume, unless as a capsule or a tincture.

Good old Dan. I enjoyed his energy.

One of these days I really must bring the family out to CM. Especially as it is where it all began!

Hopefully, further scientific research will explore this. Considering the Frontiers published this only in March - looks like lot more to come here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

ooh nice synchronicity. Im sitting readint his eating porridge with mangosteen in it! first time i tried it ;_ <3 can feel my brain working better already =_!

Oh that's interesting. 🤔 I'm thinking you'd know the answer to the customs fee to your country if you've ever received any FDA approved package overseas. 🤔 If not then let's hope there's someone you know who does. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android