The Haunted.

in The Ink Well6 months ago

pexels-ahmed-akacha-4959221.jpg

I watched as trails of sweat travel down my body like I was the path to their hiking fantasy. With a shaky breath, I murmured incoherent words to myself. I never would have believed it if I was told I'll do something as horrific as this.

But, it was too late now, for I knew the memory of that day would haunt me. And, yes, it did. It haunted my sleep every day until it almost took my breath away. I became "The haunted". And yes! I knew I deserved it, so I never pushed the thought of death away. It was a sweet escape to the disrupting act I had carried out.

So, instead, I embraced every guilt and thought as I knew deeply that I was a... a... a...Murderer! And just the thought of that brings countless tears to my eyes.

At first, it was hard to believe, but the presence of the red liquid that had stained my hands proved it. If only I didn't stand up at that moment in anger. Oh, anger, the killer of mankind. "I should have known better". I whispered darkly to myself with tears in my eyes. I was surely in a miserable land because of this, and I let my emotions lead me there.

My eldest sister's voice echoed in my head, and I wanted to believe it. But I just couldn't. The moment she came in and saw my fragile body on the floor whimpering like a child who was abandoned by his mother at the mall, and my hands on the floor facing the ceiling stuck her. I had never been a big fan of her while growing up, but at that moment, I listened to her like my life depended on it. "She'll fix my mess", I whispered strangely to myself until her words came out, and I knew I was doomed!

"You shouldn't beat yourself up. They'll die anyway. Wash the blood on your hands. It is going to be fine." She had said with a smile.

At first, I thought I heard wrong. "Is she trying to cover up the mess and doesn't want me to beat myself up?" I questioned myself, but I was left with no answer. "I should be in jail for this. I killed it just because I was frustrated by the sound it made. It was a living thing which had blood flowing through its veins, and I... I... I let my palms do the job." I replied back to my eldest sister. Looking deeply into her eyes to prove me wrong.

But, she smiled and replied. "The blood could be either yours or mine. They sucked our blood. It's their thing to do, and killing them isn't a big deal. It's actually fun killing them." She added with a smile.

My eyes shone with worry as I realized I was staying with a murderer like me, and that scared me most. "Why would she find fun in killing these innocent frustrating creatures. She must be a maniac!" I clarified.

pexels-aman-shxrma-12422282.jpg

"In seven days or about 6 weeks, mosquitoes will die whether they take blood or not. Would you like them to go scot-free after taking your blood without permission with their annoying sound?I really wish they could feel the pain and suffering of malaria they leave in our body. I'll kill every one of them with no remorse!" My eldest sister said, walking away from me.

And right there, I felt more tears stain my cheek as I looked her way. I am surely staying with a blood maniac, I shuddered.

However, when I got to school the next day and told my friend, she said almost the same thing as my sister and I stayed away from her until my teacher taught us about the life cycle of a mosquito and everything that surrounds it. It was then I breathed a sigh of relief as I reminisced on how dramatic I was. Though I didn't like the idea of killing them, It would have been great if we could come to a conclusion on how they can suck our blood. It'll be a win-win, but it's not possible, is it?

Although this incident happened a long time ago, when I was still in high school maybe, I couldn't help remember my breakdown that day after I killed a mosquito, and it blood-stained my hands. It is sometimes disturbing but that didn't stop me from killing the hell out of them whenever they become too disturbing.


Image-Source 1


Image-Source 2


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 180 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3

It is good you later got the proper understanding about these nasty creatures. In my opinion killing them should be a joy, if one realises the amount of sickness and death they cause millions around the world. But it is understandable the guilt you felt after 'committing your first murder' as it were, being young and ignorant at the time. I'm sure you terminate them with more vigor now, as they are harbingers of death and disease and should never be allowed to live.

Thanks, @balikis95 for writing. It was worth it reading your piece.

Yes, if one realizes the sickness they give, killing them is a better option. Thanks for coming around. Have a good day.

Clever piece of writing that captures the readers’ attention and holds it to the final word. Nicely done!

Thank you 😊 for your kind words and for stopping by 😊.

When I started reading your story, I thought it was a homicide. Hehe, I think I fell into the literary trap, I don't know if it was your intention to do it that way, but it generates interest in reaching the conclusion. Very good work!

Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Hehe, well, I am glad you nicely fell into that trap. That was my intention. Thanks for your kind remarks and for stopping by 😊.

Till present day, I have the same feelings about killing any living creatures; mosquitoes, cockroaches and even the dangerous animals like snake and scorpion. I wish there is a way we could coexist without being a burden to one another.

I wish the same, too. It is bad that it can't happen in reality, but our imagination can create a solution.

This is a strange kind of haunted o. Do you need me to come kill the mosquitoes for you? They are just pesky and annoying... sometimes I wonder why Noah allowed them into the ark before the great flood😁

Lol Noah needs to be questioned ooo. The man needs cane sha. Thanks for stopping by 😊.

You're welcome 🤗

I popped in again, I am a #dreemerforlife

You cried for killing mosquitoes. 🤣🤣

If I were your sister, I would've added to your pains by playing along. Lol

This is so we'll written.

Lol, you are truly wicked... Hehe. It was my first kil. Haha.

Thanks for stopping by 😊. I appreciate your presence here.

You shouldn't beat yourself up. They'll die anyway. Wash the blood on your hands

Hahaha, when I got to this point, I knew you were talking about a mosquito. Those creatures can make one commit murder anyhow 🤣

Beautifully written, well done

#dreemerforlife

#freecompliments

Haha... swears. They cam make you crazy ehn with their tone lol.

Thanks for stopping by 😊.

Hehe this was funny at the end. Do mosquito pitt us when they bite us
#dreemerforlife

No ooo haha

Those creatures should be killed with joy.
After leaving malaria in our body due to sucking of our blood