The Day to Remember to Say I Love You

in #esteem6 years ago

The Day to Remember to Say I Love You

Growing up, my father would lament “no one can tell me when to say I love you” yet still came home with flowers or chocolate for my mom almost everyday.

image

In 2016 today I fell in love. He was tall, dark and handsome, and my knees buckle at the sensual whisper of my name, that was the love of my life. My everything ...

Today I remembered something that gave me a lot more perspective, and a greater feeling of gratitude.


image

In 2016, I fell in love with you.
I fell in love with the pace of how we got to know each other. It wasn’t love at first sight, electrifying heart-racing encounter, and we weren’t drawn to each other like our lives depended on it. It was a slow gradual process, in fact I came to you with a complaint, then gradually we made the transitions from strangers to friends, and eventually to lovers.

I wasn’t addicted to the adrenaline rush each time you texted me because I felt safe with you. I wasn’t obsessed with thinking of you because you were an open book to me. I wasn’t fixated on wanting to get together with you because I knew we had all the time in the world. I wasn’t terrified to fall for you because you gave me the right feeling.

I fell in love with your sincerity. I was touched by the friendship you offered me. You were willing to be my friend first before promising me forever. You were willing to take things steadily with me and build a lasting connection. You were willing to be there for me in every way possible, through good, bad and evil times I had with certain older people around me.


I fell in love with your generosity and selflessness when you gave me the best you had. You always treated me as your priority, your most important person, and your home, your priced possession that you so dearly protected.

You showed me that I was enough the way I was without the need to be someone else for you to accept me. You loved me for all my insecurities and flaws, as they were the reasons why you fell for me. You encouraged me endlessly to dream bigger, to strive to be a better person and to love harder with my whole soul.

Before I met you, I had no idea that love was such a beautiful experience. It was being completely myself and being utterly content to live in the present with the man of my dream. It was feeling excited and being purposeful, to be working towards a common goal of spending the rest of our lives together. It was the feeling of this serenity and calmness to be with the one I love every day.

You were the best thing that happened to me in 2016. You dismantled my defenses and gave me the courage to begin our story with optimism and faith. You wrote our chapters with love, devotion, and commitment. You redefined what I thought of love and now, I want for our story of happy ending together and with our little family.

You taught me to be grateful and appreciate our everday life, which I have been blessed with you on my side.

Thank you for taking a chance on us by pursuing me fearlessly. Thank you for persisting to win my affection and never once thought of giving up on us. Thank you for seeing the good in me and believing in my strength even when I didn’t have faith in myself.


Thank you for being my pillar of support and strength, my constant in my life, and the light in my world.

I let my eyes travel through your words to give me murmurs of much-needed encouragement, until I was giggling with laughter, and your smiles of tender promises to never let me go.
The gaze of Your eyes, pulling me into the intimate part of your world and my contentment, unable to break our gazes.


It was in that moment of quiet simplicity did I realized how much I have grown to care for you and how incredibly fortunate I was to be with you.

In 2016, we found each other and it was everything I imagined it to be and more. I can’t wait for the upcoming year and the years hence after with you. I can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with you.


Credit : Ololade
Image credit

Sort:  

Enjoy this unique feeling!!

Thank you for coming around, hope to see you around next time

lovely words to express your feeling @bollutech, hope that both of you have a wonderful life. stranger to friend and the lover.. that's a beautiful process.

Thank you for this, i really love your comment