Where are you going? A #fridayfinance post

in Discovery-it7 months ago (edited)

20231020_093119.jpg


It's been a heck of a week, there is no doubt about that. I was going to try to fit some more Vermont content into this post, but the fact is, I have too many other things to talk about. I don't think I am going to have the time to cover much Vermont related. Shy of the awesome photo that @mrsbozz took on one of our day trips.

Heck of a view am I right?

The view of the markets right now is a bit all over the place. It kind of feels like we are having some false starts. It's hard to temper the excitement when you see BTC start inching higher and higher. I probably never would have guessed we would be close to $40K by the end of the year. Hopeful that it would be there, but never quite sure.

I'm still not honestly. Like a lot of people have said, there is a good chance we are going to see a lot more of this sideways motion until spot ETFs are released or the halving happens. If past history holds true, we know that bull runs love acronyms, so ETFs could be it!

finance Friday.png


It is time again for another Finance Friday/Friday Finance. This is a series I started where I talk about random bits of financial stuff that I have seen, gathered, or experienced during the week. I hope as a reader you find it informational, entertaining, or both. I also hope it can generate some good discussion and edify the Leo community.

I've got so much stuff to talk about this week, so I am just going to dive into it...

Hive Buzz

I was a little surprised the other day when I got a Hive Buzz alert. No, not by the fact that I got an alert from Hive Buzz (I get those all the time), but for some reason, I actually read what this one was about...

image.png


60,000 Hive in rewards from posts and comments. With my current HP sitting at just about 66,500 HP, that is pretty dang impressive. At current prices that's $21,000 USD in rewards simply from showing up here and engaging with the community. Sure, it took me six years to do it. I'm sure if you broke that down it would probably be far less than minimum wage (even at the all time high), but to me it's still pretty impressive.

Poloniex

I'm not sure if this has been proven or refuted yet, but on November 10th a headline came across my feed stating that our good buddy Justin Sun's exchange had been hacked for over $100 million. I just had to laugh a little bit. Of course I feel bad for anyone who may have lost their funds (sort of, we all know the first rule of crypto), but then again, anything that makes that poor excuse for a human look bad is okay in my book.

I wonder if he would change any of it if he could go back and do it again or if he really thinks he was in the right. I guess it doesn't really matter, we are here, he is not. Life moves on!

Shiba

By rule, I am pretty against memecoins. That doesn't mean I haven't thrown some money into one here or there. Usually after all the hype has happened and it is too late. I'll be the first to admit that I might have some $25 to $50 positions in PEPE, SHIBA, SUZUME, and BITGERT. I never bought DOGE though, I at least have a little integrity.

Anyway, I saw an article the other day that boxing legend Manny Pacquiao has a foundation that is going to be using the Shibarium blockchain for its operations. If they actually manage to establish a use case for Shiba, I might take back everything I said about memecoins. Maybe. The fact is, most tokens have a use case first. This thing with SHIBA kind of feels like an afterthought, but if it ends up working, who am I to judge?

Consolidation

In these recent pumps, HIVE has also been making some moves. Personally, I have started to consolidate some of my other holdings into HIVE. Random tokens on Hive Engine are being traded back into HIVE (probably at a loss), and holdings I have on other chains are slowly being moved back into HIVE. I have some pretty aggressive goals for where I want to be at the end of this next bull run and having as much of my holdings in HIVE as I can will be paramount to that.

Overemployed

Finally, I wanted to discuss an article I read the other day that talked about "overemployed" people. I'm actually including this in the #reflect community and tagging @tarazkp hoping he sees it, because first, I think he would find it interesting, and second, since he has written several posts about work at home, I'm interested to hear his take on it.

Basically, according to this article, people who have moved to working from home, have found it sometimes benefits them to have two or three full time jobs. I'm not talking a main job and then a side hustle, more like two or three jobs each with a fortune 500 company.

One of the main examples in the article has a software engineer working for META, Tinder, and IBM to the tune of close to $1 million dollars a year.

It's interesting because while it might be legal (maybe), it's not exactly kosher and there are a bunch of things you need to do to make sure you don't get caught. Thankfully, there are countless communities on the web dedicated to this sort of thing with their own lingo and code words.

I'm at the point in my life where my working days are fewer ahead of me than they are behind me, but it's not unbelievable to imagine that I couldn't pull something like this off if I wanted to. Especially given the fact that I already sit behind a computer 9 hours out of the day anyway.

Don't believe me? Comment on one of my posts through the weekday and see how quick I reply to you?

If you read the article, there's also a nefarious side to this. The idea of doing as little as possible and still keeping your job. It's a very interesting dynamic. I've merely glanced upon the whole concept here. I'm sure @tarazkp could do it much more justice in a full post.

How do you feel about it though? As long as the job is getting done should it matter if the person has two or even three jobs? Is it taking away opportunities from other people? Should you have to hide the fact that you are doing it or should it be totally legitimate? I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

As long as the job is done and done well who cares how many "side" projects you do. That's my thinking anyway...

Congratulations on the sixty thousand! Not too shabby, one of these days maybe I'll catch up. I only started on here this year so it may take awhile...

I agree with you, you have to throw some money around is some of the meme coins, kind of the old spray and pray theory. Maybe one will pay out, kind of like slot machines. I once did pick up DOGE (there went my integrity) when it was like 0.001 just as part of the old "spray" and got lucky. I wouldn't do it now, and for some reason it is pumping because they are going to put a DOGE on the moon? I just don't get it....

DOGE is definitely a point of contention for me. I always felt like I was taking the moral high ground by not buying it, but then you see people cashing out and maybe that moral high ground is just a myth. I don't usually put more than $50 into a token that I consider a memecoin, but if you time it right, sometimes that's all you need. Hasn't really worked out for me yet though!

I agree with you one hundred percent there. I've only really done well on DOGE (thanks to Musk) and SAFEMOON, but on that I got in on the third day after launch and took profits along the way. Most of the others have been absolute garbage... I would never put more than fifty bucks on meme coins! There was one guy I heard about who bough Shiba the first few days it came out for seventeen dollars and cashed out to the tune of four million... that guy got really lucky. I guess that's why we all try a few of them out!

Wow, yeah, see that is why I don't totally sleep on them, but it always seems like I am on the downward curve by the time I hear about them. I bought some SAFEMOON back in the day, but again, it was too late by the time I got in.

What you have achieved on Hive should be an inspiration to others. You've done a lot to help others and that is appreciated.

I can't see the point of 'memecoins'. Doge being top 10 is just crazy when others have more utility. Having a cute logo does not make it valuable.

I think I've heard before of people taking several salaries. I even heard of a guy who outsourced his work to poorer countries and could make a lot whilst doing little. Some people do all their work remotely and may never meet their employer. Maybe some will get AI do do their work for them eventually.

Thank you! Yeah, I am still not a fan of memecoins really, but I think it is interesting that they might be making a use case for some of them. That is a good point about the working. They could be using AI for a lot of it.

I am working from home and get less then minimum wage creating my content on HIVE, I actually would not like to spend more time working than that!

I guess if you have the skills and you can handle the juggling it might be worth it. At close to a million per year you could work five to ten years, then be done.

Only in the US over here we are better protected but earn less. But agreed if I would be younger, and smarter I would try it as well

That is a wonderful view, I agree! I love seeing the mountains in the distance. I have gotten used to seeing mountains in the horizon in every direction here. So whenever I visit my folks in Indiana it always keeps so weird to have no mountains anywhere in sight.

Congrats on the hive buzz achievement! I've been here slightly longer than you, posting daily for most of that time, but my earnings are far lower than you, so I must be doing something wrong. Even if it is less than minimum wage, it's a great achievement! Well done.

It's interesting about the work thing. I'm sure that's more common on the top of the ladder. All these people who are CEOs and also sitting on multiple boards and in addition pulling huge salaries as consultants. Altho I could make a comment about an unfair class imbalance, I'm sure also a factor is that the more you make, the more you can outsource part or most of your job and therefore do more jobs. I knew guys in college who used technology to do something similar, writing scripts to pretty much automate most of their jobs so they could basically do another job while at work. I'm not sure how ethical doing that was, but it worked, and they made pretty good money as a result.

Work smarter not harder they say! That would be awesome to be able to see mountains every day. That or water, I would be good either way! I was in a couple of communities that really boosted my growth before we moved over to Hive. That really got me where I am now.

I've heard about this doing a few jobs at once and I say fair play if they can hack it and pull it off. Hopefully they don't have a crazy Boss who wants a stand-up meeting every day though. Lol

Yeah, that would be kind of rough. I think all of the things you need to do to keep red flags from coming up would be tedious though.

Hello bozz!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥉 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by nuthman

You and your curator receive 0.1785 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 5.11% share of the reward from Daily Report 120. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUBROWN token for taking 3rd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

Congrats that's an accomplishment. It should provide motivation to others I know it does to me. Just think if we break new highs and your content keeps on the same trajectory that wealth creation there is impressive.

Yeah, I am looking forward to see what the next cycle brings! Thank you!

I'm doing the same as you and concentrating on HIVE as much as I can. Assuming the price keeps on rising, then it will outperform anything else on layer 2 (in my opinion), assuming it will rise relative to BTC if good times are ahead.

On the job front I cant believe people would take on multiple jobs from home and pretend they are just doing the one job. Thats quite mad. I have also heard about people working from home, and then subbing out their work to another person and paying them way less. Its nuts what some people will do.

It is pretty crazy. As I said I'm one of the other comments, if you are able to still get everything done well, then it maybe shouldn't be an issue, but who knows.

I'm not talking a main job and then a side hustle, more like two or three jobs each with a fortune 500 company.

Back in the day, (20+ years ago), one of my brother's was working as a contractor for a US company in Papua New Guinea. One of the guys there could "dolphin sleep" (a total of two hours a day), and this meant that he was working two full jobs for the same company, across the two time zones. He was earning very well.

Obviously, his company knew about this arrangement. However, I wonder if it is really possible to do a good job if spread as thin as Google, Meta and IBM. I work a lot and I am not the cleverest, but it is very difficult to keep up with it all. But, I don't have a supervisor for my own business, nor for crypto stuff. If I had to answer to supervisors, I don't think I would pass muster.

That is very interesting. I know over here people will retire from a job and pull a pension then start up somewhere else and eventually pull a pension from there as well. It might not be 100% vested, but they are likely pulling it in. I have a feeling what these people are doing probably work better on a project based team. Where they might get their piece done in a short amount of time, then they need to wait to proceed. Probably similar to the way people pick up multiple jobs on Fiver or whatever that platform is.