Live, take care of myself and be happy, there is no other option.

in Silver Bloggers9 months ago

IMG_20230817_161136.jpg

Feeling good is a duty at any age, the difference is in the purposes that each one has to procure it. When you are a child this premise is not present; the curiosity and energy you have seems to be betting every day on pain and suffering.

I remember that in my case I was accompanied by a need to jump, which led me to climb on furniture or high places or to set up sticks to act as a pole with the sure fall, which brought me, in addition to pain, the scolding of the elders.

In my youth I also maintained a somewhat irresponsible behavior; I never got on a motorcycle to do stunts, but I did not care much if the driver of a car or bus was driving too fast, I even liked that. It was when my oldest daughter was born that I began to think about myself and the need to take care of myself so I could take care of her.

Now my steps are shorter and I keep the necessary caution as I do not want a fall and as all my children are grown up, I know that they do not depend on me, but any irresponsible behavior of mine, would cause them expenses and also some kind of suffering.

I know older people who are not
worried about that. On Sunday I visited a relative who is 84 years old, a widower, lives alone, still looks strong, although the sciatic nerve causes him pain. I found him trying to change a light bulb, we offered to help him, but he insisted that it was something easy and that he could do it by himself. I lingered in the kitchen, for a moment, making coffee and when I came out to the living room he was riding on a ladder, as I had my phone nearby I was able to take a picture of him on the way down. So they will believe me when I comment that he is not taking care of himself.

IMG_20230817_161553.jpg

That at this age, one does not think about the dangers, which a fall can bring, for our later performance, is worrying. Many elderly people are left bedridden by fractures and injuries after such an accident.

What is really going on here? That we do not want to feel useless, that we no longer have the same agility and we venture to do what we did before, as a test of our vitality. Yes, there are older people who do physical activities with good command, possibly, they do not live alone.

The networks show us: bodybuilders, gymnasts, marathon runners, skaters and other high performance athletes: some, because they had always practiced those disciplines and others, who started in middle age and achieved that goal.

I do not doubt that it is necessary to be physically active: walking and gentle exercise, the first, fundamentally, since a sedentary lifestyle is very harmful to our health, but everything with consistency.

I think that all these people who achieve these challenges, are not alone, they have help from family or friends, and have a monitoring of their health; but those who live alone, should be more cautious with their physical care and move with caution, according to their physical strength.

IMG_20230817_161201.jpg

In my case, I live as a couple, just the two of us, we like to walk and dance, he with less moderation than me, because his physical constitution allows him to do so, I avoid doing nothing for a long time, I like movement, taking care of plants, pets, visiting friends and family, but I can no longer jump from a piece of furniture, because everything had its time.

Thank you for your reading.

My content is original
I used the translator DeepL
The images belong to me.

@charjaim

.

Sort:  

I believe that prudence is never too much and with age one is more prone to falls and fractures. And it is something to be avoided because as you say many older people end up bedridden for that reason.
But staying active is vital to take care of our health, so the key is to do it with prudence.

Being prudent at our age is a virtue, staying healthy is necessary for us and for our loved ones.

Thank you for your comment.

Hello @charjaim

This is @coquicoin and I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

Thank you for sharing your excellent post in the Silver Bloggers community! As a special "token" of appreciation for this contribution to our community, it has been upvoted and curated.

silver_blogsilver_white.png

@charjaim your post invites the reflection of all of us who comb cane, we must be careful and aware of our limitations, to know that and hadta where to get, as you say this way we can have more quality of life and avoid our children and other loved ones unnecessary worries and sadness. Thanks for sharing.Take good care of yourself.🤗

Thank you very much, yes, I am convinced that we have a responsibility to our loved ones, one of which is not to cause them unnecessary worries.

Best regards

https://leofinance.io/threads/silverlions.leo/re-silverlions-leo-2ctu4txo7
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( silverlions.leo ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Hi there @charjaim and Happy Friday! This is to let you know that your post has been nominated for Silver Blogger of the Week you can read about what this means in Another week and it's time to vote for Silver Blogger of the week 33 and if you like go and vote here

Good luck and thanks again for posting in Silver Bloggers community.

Thank you very much

Jumping and also rolling over the flor, thats what we all loved as kids :-)
If your friend is fit enough to climb on a save standing ladder, why not If this helps him to stay positive and resilient. My opinion :-)

Yes, he does it because he feels strong, the problem is that he has sciatic nerve pain and something in his spine that requires surgery, I shouldn't make too much up, but in the end he's going to do what I provoke him to do.

 9 months ago  

I applaud your relative for not letting his age stop him from doing chores around the house. But, stepping on a ladder when no one is around, is not very wise as you pointed out by taking the photo.
Just sitting around and doing nothing will age one much faster, so like you, I do believe it is good to keep busy.

Yes, being busy without losing coherence, being idle is very boring, but understanding that there are things that are better to delegate such as climbing a ladder to change a light bulb, and doing others that do not require you to do potentially dangerous maneuvers.

Best regards.