LUV breakdown

in LUVHBIT Community7 months ago

Summary first

I wanted to put out a current status update on things.

@LUVshares and @Hivebits (HBIT) are both down. That means the @Wusang game is down too.

  • I currently don't know what the problem is.
  • I currently don't have a solution going forward.

When LUV was first made (almost three years ago now!), I drew this gif to illustrate my attempts to get it running. This is where I am again.



How we got here

The LUVbot (and HBIT/Wusang bot) have been running great for months. Then, on October 20, for some reason at roughly the same time, they didn't. The screenshots below show the log files in the LUV/HBIT Discord server's log channels.

LUVbot's last correct functioning.
Hivebits/Wusang's last correct functioning.

At first, I wasn't particularly concerned. This type of thing has happened before. Usually, it has been an API node having a glitch. After switching to a different node, or just waiting, the problem has been resolved. This time, it did not resolve. Hmm.

I asked on the Hive Discord and got a couple of replies.

  1. API node? I said I'd tried three with the same result.
  2. If same result from all three, likely is on my end.

Hmm.

On my end? I hadn't done anything in weeks, maybe months. To change things on my end, I must SSH in (that is, connect to the virtual server and do whatever), and I hadn't done that in some time. Looking at my GitHub history, the two main files involved hadn't been altered in six months and one month.

The only other "end" is the virtual server, the VPS. Was there a change there? Did the VPS get an update or pick up something somewhere that's throwing a wrench in the engine?

This seems to be where the issue is.

The traceback points to a sock.connect(sa) issue.

screenshot-2023,10,28-07.17.53.716.png

The help at https://stackoverflow.com/questions/67159193/stuck-in-process-sock-connectsa-or-making-connections seemed closest to my issue. A conflict with ipv6 and ipv4 may be the problem. That sounded plausible, though I'm not sure why it would have simply appeared suddenly.

I tried unsuccessfully to follow their steps.

So, I'm stuck.

Going forward

I'm likely going to simply wipe the VPS and start over from scratch.

My, ahem, "coding" skills are limited. My experience with coding has been to eat the low hanging fruit first, then grasp at the apple just beyond my fingertips, to jump and stretch and maybe latch onto it, then try again with an apple just a bit higher. Wiping the VPS and starting over would be chopping down the apple tree altogether and replanting...a big step and one that I may not be able to do.

That's a drastic step, but, if it's totally broken and there's no apparent hope, then why not?

So, what I'm saying is, the future is uncertain for LUV and HBIT/Wusang.

I'd like to get LUV going because the goal is to spread love on the Hive chain and I just think that's a good thing. And regarding HBIT, I made a commitment that every single HBIT is backed by the guarantee that somebody "mined" it with conscience effort. Currently, that can't happen and won't happen unless it's fixed. Until that happens, the HBIT supply is effectively frozen.

Likely I won't be able to do anything for a while. Company is coming tomorrow so there's business to attend to. Maybe an epiphany will occur to me along the way.



You ask, "What's Hive?" Watch the animation I made: The Hive Story Animation and you'll learn about this Web3 chain. The top benefits of the Hive blockchain: (1) no ONE person/group runs it, (2) YOU own and control your content, and (3) YOU earn the rewards that your content generates. Learn more or consider using my referral link to get your free account here and I'll support you as you begin. Alternately, you can see other sign-up options here. All my links: https://linktr.ee/crrdlx.

Sort:  

I don't know if this would be helpful or not, but I run my Hive bots on a raspberry pi 4 that sits on my desk and runs 24/7. I write the bots in js inside an HTML file and then bring that up in a browser. Might be a good backup for your bot. I see yours is running Python but you could run that as well on a pi.

I like the pi because I don't have to pay monthly for a server and it runs on very low electricity, and in the event of a power glitch or failure it is plugged into a low cost Uninterruptable Power Supply / Battery Backup. And any keys in the code are not online anywhere or in a server out of my physical control.

Anyway, best wishes with the bot breakdown and I hope you can get it going again. If I can do anything to help, let me know and I'll see what I can do.

This is intriguing. I've never played with a raspberry pi but this makes me want to. 😫

Want to play with sum rasberry pi sumtime too. Best with getting both bots going again!

The pi computers run a version of Linux. If you like Windows better, I bought an amazingly cheap but fairly powerful low power Windows 11 computer for $150 recently which is not much more money than the pi and doesn't use that much more electricity either. You can also run that 24/7.

My post on that computer:

https://peakd.com/hive-193552/@kenny-crane/actifit-kenny-crane-20231001t094619686z

Give it a try, got my bots running on a raspberry, too

Thank you for your reply. May like to try this idea in the future myself.

it seems the bot is correctly reading the blockchain and finding the commands in the comments but runs into trouble when checking the balances.

so seems to be an issue with hive-engine node. the wallet lib I use has the hive-engine for token actions hard coded. not to be confused the the node used for reading the blocks to check for the comments. which can be passed in as an argument in the creator of the engine object.

so whenever hive-engine itself (not the blockchain) has a downtime my bots stop working because they cannot check or transfer funds.

the traceback looks similar to yours in that case, also uses rpc calls to hive-engine.

did you check if there was an update your libs don't cover? Since you didn't change anything in the source, that might be an issue.

An update in the libraries has been something I'm guessing, exactly for the reason you mention...I did nothing at all. Today I tried to both update libraries and versions of things (beem, hiveengine, python) and actually tried going back to older versions of some of them. LUV started using the open source distribubot and then switched to the open source pizza-bot. I thought I'd try the distribubot and seem to get similar errors, couldn't get it to work either.

Also today, I reinstalled the VPS server (Privex) just to see if that would help, got the same result. So, I'm kind of stuck. Worse, I've got to travel for a week and am going very light (no laptop), so it'll be some time til trying again. @flaxz gave some good tips from Alivebot, which I also tried today. Got it close to running, but with some errors. Maybe I'll give that another try when I get back next week.

Appreciate your help and encouragement (and lots of Hive folks)...helps keep me trying. :)

Sorry for not seeing this earlier, I was focused on the connection, but the comment from @hannes-stoffel gave it away, the account that you are trying to read the balance for has never had any LUV in their account ever, so Hive-engine will not give an amount, not even 0.

I ran into that issue before as well, and had to make some exceptions for those cases, look from line 191 in Alivebot here to see the 2 exceptions that I added, https://github.com/flaxz/alivebot/blob/main/src/alivebot/alivebot.py

!ALIVE

the account that you are trying to read the balance for has never had any LUV in their account ever, so Hive-engine will not give an amount, not even 0.

oh, that is a good point, depending on how you access the wallet balance/stake this might be it.

I get around that problem by using the Wallet class (iirc the pizza bot does it this way as well, my source is mostly built on pizza bot):

    wallet_token_info = Wallet(user).get_token(TOKEN_NAME)

    if not wallet_token_info:
        liquid = 0
        stake = 0
    else:
        liquid = float(wallet_token_info['balance'])
        stake = float(wallet_token_info['stake'])

    to_Debug(f'User {user} has balance:{liquid} and stake:{stake}')

In worst case (either user or token not found) the object is empty and the first if triggers setting the variables to zero.

But does the hbit bot check balances? Does not need to, does it?

I get around that problem by using the Wallet class (iirc the pizza bot does it this way as well, my source is mostly built on pizza bot)

Maybe that was added to pizzabot after I forked it, alivebot is also based on that, when I ran into this issue I added an exception for no valid balances.

But does the hbit bot check balances?

I don't know, but I would think not.

!ALIVE

@hannes-stoffel! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ flaxz. (14/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I don't follow everything here, but I'll take a look, thanks. It'll be a few a week though...got some traveling coming up and computer less time ahead.

Termux for Android is a good mobile terminal that allows you to use SSH easily.

!BBH

Thanks for the tip. Could not find Termux in the playstore though. But it showed me Termius. Do you mean that one?

No, Termux can be installed from the Fdroid open source app store.

!BBH

@crrdlx! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @flaxz. (27/50)

First of all here is a link to my Github repo for Alivebot if it can be of any help, which is a fork of the open source Pizza bot, https://github.com/flaxz/alivebot

Secondly I have noted several Hive nodes that are no longer compatible with the way that new blocks are streamed to the bot which seems to be the issue from the readout, up until about a week ago I used https://hived.emre.sh as the node, and it worked well until the node was no longer running well, now I use https://anyx.io instead and it has worked well since, nodes like hive.blog or deathwing is not working well with the bot though, not sure why.

One other thing is that I use https://engine.rishipanthee.com/ as the Hive-engine API, the main HE node is also the one having the most issues, possibly due to being the most busy.

!ALIVE

This is great info and I'll take a look-see for sure at your repo. I also use a version of the pizza-bot so that's definitely pertinent. I plan to start looking into things a bit more in the coming days.

Good luck.

!ALIVE

@crrdlx! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ flaxz. (8/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@crrdlx! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ flaxz. (5/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

If you are interesting to build the whole project by using NodeJs & related technologies, I can support you to do that. I have no good idea of python. If you are looking for a hosting place (a server) I prefer privex.io.

Cheers~

Awww I guess that's why I can't share LUV anymore... Hope this gets resolved soon.

It might be working now. I've been working on it. It's sketchy while I'm testing, but you can try for sure. I'd try now here, bit my daily limit is up.

Ok will try asap.

@crrdlx...


Happy Sunday...

As you know... I have been away for several days trying to get things sorted in the home my Mom and her life partner who passed in April, lived in. I am slowly starting to read through copious amounts of DM's, as well as checking in on everything "blockchain". You know my feelings on the LUV and WUSANG energy. I am curious if you have touched base with any HiveDevs on this.

Thank you for sharing. !ALIVE

@missbebeth, sorry! You need more $ALIVE staked to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 1000.0 ALIVE staked (non-delegated stake plus incoming delegations).

More $ALIVE is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex, plus you can win Alive Power delegations in our daily chat on @alive.chat every day.

Wow thank you so much and more blessings🎉🎉🎉

That would be a lot of work to see getting lost... I hope you get things working again! Good luck! And have a !BEER

Haven't given up yet, just haven't had much time to dig in as yet. Hope springs eternal.

I have been reading the post about it a few days ago. Keep up the good work @crrdlx ! Thanks for the great work! !BEER

Here's some !LOLZ with !HUGs to encourage you more (even a bit) to continue trying to fix the !LUV bot as soon as you have the time!🤗

What did the mayonnaise say to the icebox?
Close the door, I am dressing.

Credit: reddit
@crrdlx, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of savvytester

(8/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP


Hey @crrdlx, here is a little bit of BEER from @svanbo for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

I appreciate the update. It's not just your tip bots. Around the same time several tipping bots began to break, or they'd go back and forth between working and not working. Aside from yours, the LOLZ, DHEDGE, PIZZA, and HUG tipping bots have all been only partially functional. I'm so curious what is causing this bizarre and frustrating problem. I truly hope that you're able to get everything work again very soon! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

😀

Perhaps @flaxz might be able to assist you. He's assisted others with their bots before. 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

!ALIVE

Thank you, Erik! I hope you don't mind me tagging you! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

No problem.

!BBH

I appreciate it! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

!LOLZ

@tydynrain! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @flaxz. (11/50)

@tydynrain! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ flaxz. (4/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.