From options trader to Division 1 athlete to owning my own business to developing a startup and trading crypto, my name is Drew and this is my story

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Aloha Steemit, I went from trading stock options as a middle schooler in Buffalo, New York, to playing NCAA Division 1 Volleyball for the University of Hawaii while running a drone photography website/business, to owning my own landscaping business in Muskoka Lakes, Ontario, Canada, to freelance trading stocks, commodities and cryptocurrency in Chicago while starting a real estate venture; my name is Drew, and this is my first post on Steemit.
IMG_5032.jpg
Playing Volleyball for the University of Hawaii
.
.
.
I have been interested in the way the economy works since I was running lemonade stands as a kid. It fascinated me how supply and demand shaped the entire world we know and live in, the fact that the intrinsic value of a stock and the market price could be so far apart from each other, and how you could control 100 shares of an actual stock with one contract and not bear the risk of owning those shares, it thrilled me ; I just had to be a part of it. I am currently working on a new real estate venture in Chicago (stay tuned), as well as trading stocks, options, forex and cryptocurrency in my spare time. Muskoka Summer Sunset 2018.jpg
Muskoka Sunset 2018
.
.
.
In my free time, I highly enjoy a brisk bike ride in the morning before the opening bell as well as playing intramural football, soccer, and volleyball on the weeknights. My favorite hobby is reading on the lake, I have a soft spot for books, mostly self-improvement, and non-fiction. Another one of my passions is healthy eating and self-experimentation, I have tried veganism, vegetarianism, pescetarianism, and the paleo diet; recently I have struck a balance between all aforementioned diets that works best for my lifestyle. I cold shower twice a day, regularly practice intermittent fasting and meditate regularly (working on cementing it into the daily routine).
I found Steemit through a friend (Reis) after we dove hard into the cryptocurrency scape, we both loved the idea and thought it was a perfect way to share opinions with a like-minded community, have a space to bounce ideas off of and be able to learn from intelligent, independent thinkers.
I will be posting everything from:
Crypto theory, trade ideas, and fundamental analysis
NYSE and NASDAQ trade ideas and market sentiment
Pictures and stories from epic hikes, waterfalls and near death experiences in HawaiiKuliouou ledge camp  copy.jpg
Hiking and Camping atop Kuliouou Ridge
.
.
.
Ideas for self -improvement, helpful youtube channels for specific, goal-oriented growth and small tips I have learned from reading over 50 self-improvement books the last few years, paying for courses and watching countless hours of video instruction.
Health tips, ideas for meals and results of experiments I am conducting on myself, such as cutting body weight/BMI with ice baths, optimal protein intake in the morning to keep muscle and burn fat, increasing testosterone with breathing exercises and many more.
Evergreen content such as ideas to start your own business with minimal startup cost from my own personal experience, Hawaii hiking and travel guides (for all the islands), and commentary on other interesting news stories and facts that happen on this crazy floating rock.

I believe that the way to best help yourself grow and succeed is to help others who are on the same path. My goal on Steemit is to help like-minded people succeed and grow in any way they can benefit from my posts. I plan on offering a wide range of information to open-minded people, but more importantly, I look forward to opening discussions and feedback on my ideas, as well as ways to improve and grow my theories, while expanding my general base of knowledge. Go explore!
dolphins wavy3 copy.jpg
Swimming with Dolphins on the West Side of Oahu

Sort:  

Hello @drdrew! Welcome and congratulations on making your first post!!


Welcome to Steemit @drdrew!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!


Welcome to Steem @drdrew.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem, @drdrew!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3305 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus Points : Wallet Sneak Peek.

Welcome to Steemit! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! I explain this initiative on one of my previous post.

There are a number of great content creators on the platform to help you on your journey. I have used @gold84 guide as a starting reference for many tasks that can be done here on #Steemit. As I continued to expand this initiative, I continue to find great content and guides for new users such as this post from @finnian who not only includes a great step-by-step process of registering for #Steemit but also provides great security and engagement tips as well to help you on your journey.

Keep your eyes out for these tips and references to help you on your journey to becoming a minnow! It is also a great idea to follow some of the great projects being built on the #STEEM blockchain. You can see these projects here. Some of these projects provide you the ability to interact and engage within the community and have the potential to provide rewards for your engagement. For example, @actifit is a fitness app that tracks your daily activity which you can post to the blockchain and earn rewards for your participation. Another interesting project is @steemmonsters which is a digital trading card game that enables you to collect and battle with the community all within the #STEEM ecosystem. I wish you the best in your future endeavors!

Congratulations @drdrew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome!😊

Congratulations @drdrew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great introduction @drdrew And those are amazing photos!
Welcome to Steemit.

Congratulations @drdrew! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!