Fantasy farm

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Untitled-1 copy.jpg

This is not my farm, although I dream of creating a scenery that resembles to this one. For now I am at a very early stage of the transformation of the land, that I have in mind and I am occupied with a lot of dirty work that has to be done before the pleasure begins! Today for example, I spent my day arguing with a stubborn irrigation system that refuses to cooperate with my ambitious plans :)

Obviously taking pictures wasn't top priority but it is Wednesday and @tattoodjay challenges us to take a walk and share our pictures and thoughts about it, in a #wednesdaywalk post. Plus it is already the 6th of April and I am not sure I'll have the time to make a proper #gardenjournal post and @minismallholding is waiting for something new!

So I'll forget for a while the backbreaking tasks that are waiting for me and I'll invite you for a tour at the botanical park of Crete and my fantasy farm :)


_MG_4891.jpg

_MG_4895.jpg



_MG_4900.jpg

I have told you about this place in this post. If you follow the link you'll see how it looks like during a rainy day of March. Today I am showing the pictures from my second visit which was in a glorious spring day, in the middle of May, a few years ago. The story of the park is also interesting. I am not going to repeat it, you can find it at the previously linked post but the bottom line is that it used to be an olive grove that was burned by a wild fire!

And look at it now :)



_MG_4913.jpg

It's not that I am dreaming of a farm exactly like this park but the biodiversity, the unorthodox mixture of plants coming from different continents and climates as well as the overall feeling, are pretty close to my fantasy!

_MG_4915.jpg

_MG_4917.jpg

_MG_4919.jpg



_MG_4929.jpg

The park is placed on a slope, like my land and like most of the properties in Crete :) The entrance is at the highest point, you have to descent till the lower part where there is a little pond and then it is uphill to the exit. A restaurant with beautiful view is strategically placed at the end of the climb tempting the sweaty and tired visitors to sit for, at least, a cold refreshment if not a nice lunch! If you replace the restaurant with a house you have a fabulous homesteading :)

_MG_4934.jpg

_MG_4936.jpg

_MG_4939.jpg



_MG_4945.jpg


Maybe @zedamna2022 has a garden related story from Indonesia for us and just maybe @oceanbee has a garden around, to practice her wonderful macro skills :)

More details here!

linebreak.png

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

That garden is so beautiful
And I know as you say you have a lot of back breaking work to do on your garden but with time you will get there and have your own garden

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much!
Indeed, time and hard work are a powerful combination :)

Indeed they are a great combination and hard to beat 😎

I think I would enjoy the views from the spot that the last photo shows...

For a long time I would move form there 😎

 2 years ago  

Haha, me too :)

And I wanted to say in my previous comment that I would NOT move from there hahahha

well, I missed a word, just noticed now, but you understood what I wanted to say lol 😂😂😂

 2 years ago  

Don't worry, I understood alright :)

👍 good :))

It is a very beautiful place and a great inspiration. It is so neat to see your inspiration and hear about your desire to mix all types of plants. That will be great.

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much Sara!
I hope you are better now.

Thank you so much. I am feeling good now.

 2 years ago  

Splendid 😊

That is truly a garden of Eden! I know you did not have any on this post, but I viewed your link, Birds of Paradise is one of my favorite flowers!

 2 years ago  

It is a garden of Eden indeed :)
Thank you for taking the time to read my posts, both of them :)

 2 years ago  

Beautiful shots! You are ambitious if you want to build a garden like this one! I want mine to look something like a forest someday as well. I bet cultivating on a slope is hard. That's probably why the Incas turned their mountainside into terraces!

 2 years ago  

Ambitious indeed but dreaming is free :)
Thank you for stopping by @proto26!

Dear @fotostef

Thank you and an honor for me for tagging me in your cool post. I'm surprised you have a Fantasy Farm like the land full of flowers you visit. We all got a complete ilustration of your dream to build a place that is more comprehensive and more organized than the garden in your post.

In my opinion, a hillside and has a small pond below with complete flower plants and a building on the top is the dream of everyone who loves gardens.

Absolutely, all of us in this community are very supportive of your dream garden. Once you've got everything set up, I mean when it's all ready, the idea of ​​making it public is absolutely brilliant. Moreover, if there is a part that is planted with various fruits that can be served to visitors with a menu of freshly cut fruit or made various juices, I am sure it will be an added value for the park manager.

There, you can make adequate paths that can be used as a bicycle playground or ATV machine. The small pond can be a source of water and an arena for freshwater fishing, plus fishing rods.

Visitors will definitely be willing to spend more time there. His income apart from entrance tickets, restaurant sales, also from the rental of various facilities there. If you want to give free door prizes to some lucky customers, it will certainly be a plus for visitors.

I once visited a fruit garden which is also located on a hillside in the cold area of ​​Puncak Bandung-West Java Province, there is a serving of fresh cut fruit and various juices there, all the raw materials are from the garden itself, but there is no pool there.

BTW, about similar parks in several areas in Indonesia, I promise to share it with you once I have the chance to visit it soon.

Hopefully succsesful and it will be an inspiration and soon the construction of your dream garden will be realized, Sir

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much @zedamna2022 for your thorough comment, you provided some very good pieces of advice!
Best wishes from Greece :)

With pleasure
If you don't mind, i'm waiting for news when your dream garden starts

 2 years ago  

I'm reminded of one of our Botanic Gardens in the hills which was partially damaged by bushfire in the 80s. Every time we visit is a new experience as it changes with the seasons. I can see how it would give you inspiration.

I'm also reminded I really should start looking into irrigation systems for our gardens.

 2 years ago  

Since I am in the fantasy mood I am dreaming of abundant, self-watering gardens, without irrigation systems :)

Thank you very much for your support!

 2 years ago  

Lol! You mean rain? I miss that stuff most of the year.

 2 years ago  

Same here :)

It really is an amazing place! Definitely an inspiration of things to do at your place.

 2 years ago  

Yes, a great inspiration, although I am miles away from creating something remotely close to this beauty :)

Hi Stef! I found your blog this morning while I was drinking coffee, looking at the Qurator's Photo Quest entries.
I AM AMAZED! 😍
What a spectacular photographer you are... I declare myself an absolute fan. I joined Hive just 3 days ago, so I am just starting to understand how this great community works. You will have me among your regular readers.
Thanks for your original work! A big hug from Cuba.

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much Amy, you are very kind!
Welcome to hive, I am sure you'll fit in perfectly here :)

What a beautiful garden / park. I love it when a lot of different species live together and there is not too much of a plan, more like a wild garden. I'm sure your future garden will be lovely.

Thank you for inviting me, Stefanos, I can't join this time because, well, time's up but also I don't have a garden of my own and while I love a garden, especially an herb garden to cook with the crop, I am not a gardener. That's my hubby's job. But we do have a lovely arboretum nearby that soon I will be going to take pictures in because soon spring will blossom here. Now it is still a bit asleep.

 2 years ago  

Thank you!
No pressure! I just think this is a lovely community and I thought you might want to take a look :)
That arboretum sounds interesting!

 2 years ago  

I love your photography, they are so beautiful.

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much :)

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)