Does the content on trending pages have changed in the past few months?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Does the content on trending pages have changed in the past few months?


In my opinion the content of the trending pages is changing. While it used to be personal posts which were upvoted by bigger account, them selves or just got there by buying votes. Things are changing in my opinion.
The trending pages slowly are being used what they were designed for. To spread the news about the things going on in the big steem ocean.

You can find my detailed post about it here:
https://busy.org/@fullcoverbetting/is-the-news-feed-becoming-more-and-more-important

Feel free to use dpoll to answer the question or by leaving a comment on my blog. Both are appreciated.

Cheers,
Peter


  • Don't know, I am still ignoring the trending pages

  • Yes, more and more interesting posts appear on the trending pages

  • No, it is still the same old story!

  • What? What are the trending pages?

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for Yes, more and more interesting posts appear on the trending pages.

I don't visit trending that much, but the few times I do, i notice there are a lot more posts that 'belong' there because they are 'quality' posts and not just some bot-sponsored crappy posts. Exceptions are inevitable, though, lol

Voted for No, it is still the same old story!.

Voted for Yes, more and more interesting posts appear on the trending pages.

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for Yes, more and more interesting posts appear on the trending pages.

It has has ups and downs but I think that important posts are getting there more often.

Not every day you will find something interesting on there! But things are changing in a rapid pace (if rapid is possible on the steem blockchain besides generating the blocks :)!

Voted for Don't know, I am still ignoring the trending pages.

Voted for Don't know, I am still ignoring the trending pages.

Voted for No, it is still the same old story!.

Hey, @fullcoverbetting.

Not here to contradict or argue with your assessment, but is it possible that you caught the trending page on a good day? :) Actually, I suppose it's possible that I just checked at a point where the same old same old was happening, too. At any rate, when I looked just now, 8 out of the Top 10 Trending posts were bought and paid for with bidbots, including an announcement about a new witness.

The two posts that didn't appear to be bot boosted were the new steem business alliance announcement and tokenbb. So, anyway, there might be some change going on there, but it's not enough for me to detect quite yet. It would be great if things were too change, though.

No never made it to trending. Maybe number 20 of hot or so!
We all know that changes don't go fast on the steem blockchain besides the generating of the blocks!
I did discover drugwars on there! Which I really enjoy playing!

I do agree that most posts on there are still there because they did buy the votes. But I do notice a chance in content! I rather see an announcement post of a new dapp or something on there in stead of a picture of a cat! Although I do like cats :)

It is not about having it right or wrong. So nothing wrong with a disagreement. Discussions can change the mind set of people, if there are open for it. Just like you and me!

Cheers,
Peter

I see. No cat content, etc. botted up means progress. :) Well, in all seriousness, it does, and I wasn't paying as much attention to the type of content as I was the bots and the authors, who seemed to be some of the same folks that people aren't happy about, with or without cats.

At any rate, I don't look at trending (unless somehow directed there), so the announcements are things I might miss, though I do have a few folks I follow who are pretty prodigious resteemers, so some of it might actually end up in my feed. Lots of things seem to be happening now that Steemit Inc is at least perceived as less dominant, so we have movers and shakers out doing more, and announcing their intentions. Whether anything comes of any of that, we'll see.

Maybe we'll find out it wasn't incompetence on the part of Steemit Inc, but that dreaming big is one thing, but bringing the dreams into reality is difficult, and not so easily maintained once it's there.

Or maybe we'll find that all the good project managers and developers and delivers of promises have been sitting out in the STEEM community all along. Who can tell? Time can, but he aint' talking yet. :)

So, your saying people bought Steem to promote their posts? OH NO. Said with a smile.

Hey, @whatsup.

Not exactly sure what I'm saying. :) Surely, though, in all seriousness (and said with a smile, too :), there's better ways to promote one's post than sending it to the top of the trending page that everyone keeps talking about with some disdain (albeit a smidgeon not as bad as before), but supposedly know one looks at. It's an odd deal. :)

Voted for Don't know, I am still ignoring the trending pages.

Voted for Don't know, I am still ignoring the trending pages.

Voted for Don't know, I am still ignoring the trending pages.

Voted for No, it is still the same old story!.