Crocodile cuddling

in Weekend Experiences2 months ago (edited)

crocodocodocodile.jpeg

If you're not from Australia you might not know that we have crocodiles in the tropical northern parts of the country; there's lots of them including the relatively harmless (if left alone) fresh water crocs and the deadly saltwater crocodiles that can live happily in fresh water estuaries and water bodies and also in the ocean. The latter...well, they hunt, catch and devour people from time to time and swimming in these waterways is not advisable. There's signage of course, but people are stupid and go in any way and...croc dinner is served.

The saltwater crocs grow to around seven metres in length (23 feet or so) and are efficient and calculating hunters and once they have you, well, there's rarely any coming back from an encounter like that, you're either dead or have less limbs than you had before or are so fucked up you wish you were dead.



crocodocodocodocodile.jpg

Anyway, you might also be unaware that us Australians are taught from a very young age to cuddle crocodiles; that's right, we cuddle those deadly beasts all the time because why not...and we're fucken bonkers mostly.

And speaking of bonkers, recently my sister in law sent me the image in this post of my nephew @mrbonkers cuddling a crocodile.

Clearly this is a very young crocodile and its mouth is taped up, safety first and all, because my nephew is in the early stages of crocodile cuddling school but eventually he'll be cuddling seven metre crocodiles and if he's lucky get to bond closely with one and eventually ride the beasty to school each day. I know what you're thinking, where do they keep all those crocodiles, but don't worry, there's designated crocodile parking areas in schools here - it's really quite well managed and catered for.

On this particular day, my nephew managed to play with some other deadly Australian animals, like snakes, and he cuddled them too...it's legit, don't worry if they're venomous and a bite can kill within a painfully agonising hour or two, we cuddle them anyway! Why not right?

It's through deadly animal cuddling days like this one my nephew attended that Australian kids learn to respect the native animals and gain an appreciation of their place in nature and how to care for the environment that those animals call home, just like we call it home.

Disclaimer: Don't cuddle crocodiles and deadly snakes if you come to Australia, you're likely to die, although don't take my word on it, cuddle some and see how you go if you like.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Thanks to my sister in-law for the image of @mrbonkers and the other image is my own

Sort:  

Bonkers indeed! Thats a great photo and check the tail on that young un!!!

Yeah man, they're pretty cool animals, quite frightening in real life, especially the big'uns. They don't fuck around, not one little bit, and even this little tacker will fuck a person up pretty badly. Something like 9 tonnes of clamping force in the jaws.

They are surprisingly soft though, their skin, which is why they make good shoes, handbags and purses.

I never thought of that, makes sense that they wouldn't be iron hard.

Aye, I have seen the odd doco about them. Dangerous fuckers!

Nothing you couldn't handle, I reckon you'd be a good crocodile cuddler.

I love getting my hands on beasts, that's why my singleton years were great 😀😀

Your nephew is such a a brave little man. Good thing school taught them about wild animals and let them experience this extreme

He's a good chap for sure, a great little nephew. He knows how to cuddle crocodiles too, a good life skill I reckon.

I have caught crocodiles, but smaller, with a couple of days old, born not so big that scary. There is a season when they get married and even eat them. I don't like it, but some of my relatives eat them.

We eat crocs here too...but mostly just cuddle them.

Ok, we don't cuddle them much. 🐊

I'm just waking up and with a cup of coffee next to me, and after seeing the photo I don't know if I'm awake or dreaming. The truth, very good way to learn to love Nature and to grow with great self-esteem. And of course, if I travel to Australia I will not hug any of those "pets" 😁 that you have over there.

Best regards, have a great weekend.

I reckon you'd be a good croc-cuddler man.

You know, if people want to immigrate to Australia one of the tests is they make you cuddle a seven metre croc. If you do it you're in, if you don't succeed you're dead, that sorts things out fairly easily.

Ok, not really.

I hope you have a good day and enjoy your coffee...I'm sipping one right now too, 16:00h (4pm) Saturday. Have a good one.

I initially didn't think there were crocodiles in Australia, that is until I saw one commercial for Steve Irwin, the Crocodile Hunter. There are a lot of crocs in the Philippines as well. While I haven't cuddled with one, I was able to touch one with my palms.

A lot of people say that in Australia, everything is out to get you, so I guess cuddling crocs and snakes is just a daily thing for you guys /s. You have your hands full worrying about spiders in your boots.

Yeah, loads of them man, big buggers too.

There's a lot of stuff that will kill a person in Australia, snakes, crocs, sharks, box jellyfish, spiders, cassowary, koalas...ok, not koalas. I'm ok with them except for snakes and spiders, hate those fuckers.

Yeah, that's a lot. I read that Kangaroos would even drown people and pets if you are both in the water.

Kangaroos aren't really considered a dangeral animal here although if cornered they'll fight and do a pretty good job at it.

I see. I've seen some videos where owners saved their pets from Kangaroos, or there were some conflict with them. I guess it's good that they are rare.

Yep, alive seen the same, in person too...but it's the deadly snakes, spiders, sharks, irukandji and crocodiles that one needs to worry most about.

Come to Australia he said...
It will be fun he said...
You can cuddle deadly crocs and snakes he said...
... and go home in a box !

Naahhhh... reptiles are definitely not my thing, poisonous or not ! No croc cuddling from the Jace.

It is good for the children to learn though since these creatures are in their environment. The earlier you learn to respect their quirks, the more chance you have of one of them not being your end.

Lol, it's a bit crazy huh?

In the tropical north it's so easy to get it wrong, simply standing next to a creak, river it billabong (water hole), or at the shoreline of the ocean is dangerous as crocs lurk there. So, it's smart to give the litte kids an appreciation of the animals themselves and the dangers. The saltwater crocodile is a calculating (and brutally efficient) hunter, that's why they have remained virtually unchanged since prehistoric times, a perfect design already, and so being aware is one's only chance.

I couldn't believe what I was reading... they hug crocodiles.... I want them away hahaha and snakes too.

You made me remember once I went to a reptile show and my brother, five years younger than me wanted to put an albino python on his shoulders, I almost died!!!!

And there were crocodiles! Far away... but I still respect them, but they scare me a lot!

Your nephew is brave!😃

We don't really hug crocodiles, I was just fucking around, but having a good of a little one helps teach the kids to respect them. They are a real threat in the tropical north, people get taken all the time.

What a scare you gave me!!! I believed you!

I'm terrified of those reptiles and I wouldn't even go near them if a carte told me .... crocodile! jajaja

I won't go to the north of Australia, that's for sure!

There's people that wrangle them, professionals, but generally people leave them alone because they are so dangerous.

The tropical north is one of the most beautiful parts of this country, worth a look. It's safe, just don't go near the water.

Ok if I get the chance... I'll go but far away from the water... I still like the beach!

Crocs in the ocean, but they won't eat much. 🫣

Also on the beach.... well I'll just sunbathe...🤣

Good to know what lives in the water, done responsibly the children grow up respecting unusual in the region.

We don't make a habit of cuddling them, just photograph at a safe distance.

Crocodile steak hit the plate in some restaurants, not too bad, not something to go gaga about either!

!BEER Have a great weekend.

I don't mind a croc steak, pretty good really although I prefer beef. I had a crocodile schnitzel in a place called Mackay, (Queensland) which was pretty bloody good though...I'd have another one.

Can think of many other wild meat offers that are superb! Old croc was OK....

As per my knowledge crocodiles may only live in salted or dirty water like as Ocean or some somewhere else.
It's scary to hold a 🐊no matter how old is he/she.
And very few animals can be human friendly, not sure about 🐊, what you say?

Yeah, as I make clear in my post: "fresh water crocs and the deadly saltwater crocodiles that can live happily in fresh water estuaries and water bodies and also in the ocean..."

You ever cuddled a croc?

Nah, I didn't cuddled neither will cuddle :)

You should give it a try, they don't bite...much.

don't bite...much.?

That means they do bite?
!LOL

Don’t you hate it when someone answers their own questions?
I do.

Credit: marshmellowman
@galenkp, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of nabbas0786

(1/1)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Lol...yeah they do...not things to be messed with.

!LOLZ I'll try one day 😜

Each country has its rules and customs that we also call traditions and are part of the culture that identify those countries.
Australia is a country, island continent or whatever you want to call it that has a very varied native fauna with unique animals that we only find in their territories, at least in their natural habitat like the kangaroo and others that are very deadly like the venomous vipers and crocodiles that you describe here.

I clarify that I have never been to that country and what I know is from what I have studied, to teach my Geography classes.

In the case of what you publish is very interesting and, above all, this ritual that you have with the children and the animals I see it as an act of love and respect that we should feel for the animals that, after all, as you say, like us, also live in this home we call Earth.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

It's an interesting place and it makes sense to appreciate it, and treat it with respect.

"Be Crocowise" Hahaha, loved than from the warning sign! That kid, let me say it, he is brave as hell... I couldn't do that!

Yeah, getting in there with the crocs won't end well.

You guys in Australia are so used to really wild animals everywhere.... It just took one Tik Tok or anu other social media video to realise how common truly fierce and wildlife animals can be in touch with every day lives in Australia. Really interesting place.

It's an interesting place for sure, we like it. Well, not getting eaten by crocodiles I guess, but all the rest. 😊

Spiders, snakes, crocodiles and Tasmania Devils, you have an entire continent for yourselves. We all have grown knowing how wild and powerful Australian's nature actually is

How many tourists try to treat them like pets? Definitely a don't try this at home activity 🤣

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

No tourists treat them like pets, these are efficient and deadly killers that the people in the northern areas of Australia have to live with on a daily basis hence a holiday programs like this one to educate the little kids. People get taken all the time by these incredible creatures and there's no fighting them off really, so awareness is the key.

Of course, Americans don't always seem to heed the warnings and a few of them have gone swimming never to be seen again.

Of course, Americans don't always seem to heed the warnings and a few of them have gone swimming never to be seen again.

I've heard of them jumping into zoo habitats with predators too. Not sure why all the stories seem to occur in the US.

It's good that the kids can get a good appreciation of what the native predators are capable of, in a non threatening way. Maybe he will be the next Steve Irwin, who knows :)

What a brave little lad!
I can't dare near them even when they are tamed or not.
The sight alone gives me bumps🤔

There's no tamed ones, but they're safe enough when small like this one and their mouths are taped up.

Hmmm, I can't deal

I think it would be creepy to pet a crocodile and it was stuffed 😀

In BeoZoo we have one crocodile, the famous Muja, who is the legend of the zoo, and the oldest specimen of his kind in the world https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muja_(alligator)

this is the only repril whose tail I have touched once.
He's not stuffed, he moved his tail when I touched him 😀

Yeah, this one my nephew is holding is a live crocodile hence why its mouth is taped up...I don't think there's be much to worry about with a stuffed one.

The boy is really brave. I can't do that even if the crocodile is dead

Yeah, he's pretty adventurous and happy to give things a try even if he's little scared.


Hey @galenkp, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Awesome very brave to hold that croc I’m not sure if I could do it!