You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week 15: Funny or interesting

IMG_20200916_172141544.jpg

For donating my time helping out at the Oregon wildfires they sharpened my chainsaw gave me some premixed gas that's really cool and ready to go as well as a full gallon of bar oil to keep me rolling.

On top of it they also got me a hand file with sharpening guide so I can keep my saw razor sharp even in the field!

Sort:  

Hey mate, that sounds like a decent pay off for something you would have done for free I'd imagine. Coming from Australia I know all about wildfires and the devastation they can wreak so it's great to see people pitching in like you; It happens here too. Nice work.

!ENGAGE 20

Actually I was totally doing it for free other than bottled water delivery pizza and free beer!

They definitely take care of volunteers and I watched an entire Community come out.

The first night I was out there we had a arson incident happen.

Extremely wild is the best way I can put it.

And right now as we speak all of the rain is avoiding the areas that we need it to fall in.

I am pretty upset. We totally need that rain.

I wonder if we could sacrifice the weatherman and get the gods to help us out with a little bit of moisture....

I mean hey we've tried everything else we might as well go back to the old ways those things work man.

It's good that the community turned out to pitch in; It's in their interest to do so I guess. Happens here too. Those who can't fight fires make food, help shelter the displaced people and animals, offer support where they can...Nice to see humans all pulling in the same direction at the same time.

Hey, sacrifice that weather man mate...The bastards never get the fucking weather right anyway! 🤣

And honestly enough think about how many mouths that weatherman could feed! Add some rice and beans it could really feed the community.

Oh yeah, that's a good point too! Weather men, who needs them! Whilst were at it we could do something about arsonists too.

Well we could always use the people who like fires as barbecue for the people who are hungry?...

That'll work!

I don't know what it is about those arsonists...We get them here too. The fires they light cause so much devastation.

The concept of a weather man is pretty wild in these times. Why can't they get their jobs cut during this whole 'Rona crap? We need the construction workers and stuff, but the weather men? How often do they get the weather right nowadays? Probably 10% around here! The most hilarious example was we were on track to get a MASSIVE snowstorm, according to the weather men, and it gloriously snowed a couple flakes and completely changed directions. Schools and businesses closed across the state for pretty much nothing. They are always saying "well it's better to be wrong!" as if that makes up for their failures lol

Honestly enough it seems like they put out the worst fear that they can so that everybody prepares...

Then then they are like oops sorry.

Nate Silver the famous predictor wrote a book a few years ago called 'The Signal and the Noise'. He explained why complex predictions go so sideways and it was pretty interesting.

In his book, he claimed there was only one group worse at prediction than the weather people. Economists :)

Oh my God man you got me on that one.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

My wife has been tracking all those west coast fires and watching the smoke on Ventusky weather map (https://www.ventusky.com). They have a button for air quality and it did not look very good at all some days.

Those covid mask are actually handy for something now.

I thank you for helping to control what other would like to see burned and destroyed, be careful.

I am so lucky today we have blue skies and I can take a breath without coughing so hard.

I can definitely feel that week of smoke.

I am very glad we are not in Calif. anymore. Second year back in Alaska was a bad fire season and difficult to breath back then. We had a very tiny fire season this year, so it has been great. Some of that west coast smoke did make it up to us though, but not real thick, just noticeable on two days.

Yeah it was super socked in here quite a few different times.

Like hundred yard visibility for days

Good on you! I have people in harm's way (mostly in Washington) and I really appreciate the effort of volunteers. I mean REALLY.

I fought some wild fires up in that neighborhood when I was younger. I'm a danger with a chainsaw but big enough to be a pretty fair hand on a nozzle. I got to stay cooler than all the rest of you!

One of my besties here is a retired Wildfire Captain. They MADE him retire at 70. The last 20 years he ran a prison crew of Hotshots. Our fire season is a little different than yours so he took his crew to Washington, Oregon or California every year. The inmates loved it and he made a shit pile of money (and in truth he loved it, too).

Thanks again, man. That's some big stuff. Oh. When I first saw your picture I thought you had a double barrel shotgun draped over your shoulder... Pretty typical pose on a trap range :)

Yeah I am definitely not so hot on the double barrel shotgun thing however they are definitely fun and interesting I have to say that.

It was definitely fun work.

Watching the locals put water containers in the back of their vehicles along with a pump some hose and a nozzle next thing you know we are spraying spot fires and really helping things out.

Really excited about that chainsaw it definitely helped get the job done over and over.

Hell yeah! Are you part of a VFD or is it more of a everybody who can help turns out sort of occasion? I'm rather fond of Oregon, hopefully it calms down quickly. I was out there in 2017 (not fighting the fires though) and it seemed like everything was on fire then. I didn't think it could get much more hellish than that but 2020 never ceases to up the ante it seems. Be safe out there!

It was more of anyone was welcome especially when I come showing up with a chainsaw that is sharp and works.

That will make you popular in times like these!

You earned the love of the people by donating your time and at the same time, you had your rewards as thankful for what you did. It's a good way of helping the community tho.

Yes I did thank you

Excellent lesson is incredible how life gives back everything we do.
In this case it was a good thing, big heart brother, and all those who collaborate and do good, do well ...
It's a cycle, successes!

I definitely try to do what I can.