Difficulties in being a Marine Biologist.

in Hive Learners10 months ago (edited)

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Banner Pizza News (1).png

Banner created in canvas

  I was a kid like any other kid. I had a regular job dream when I was very young, maybe before my 5 years old which was to be a firefighter! I don't know why to be a firefighter nowadays, but It is a very common kid's dream. Maybe it is related to the type of toys that we play and fire trucks are so complex and different. Kids are amazed by fire trucks possibly 90% or plus of kids dream about driving one. Later we give up on being a firefighter, that's why it is rare to find friends that turn into one. Why do we give up? Possibility because we start to know about other careers that we identify ourselves more. It was my case at least. I started to love animals, to understand them and meet them. I started to watch some documentaries, more precisely National Geographic documentaries, sorry @aiuna you aren't the only one to watch documentaries when you were a kid. As a kid, I didn't have cable TV, we were talking about the early 90's. So I used to rent NatGeo documentaries in VHS tapes. I remember watching them over and over again. All types of animals for sure were displayed at home. I had a sticker album of animals! I remember completing the collection by the way.

  Eu era uma criança como qualquer outra. Eu tinha um sonho de trabalho regular quando era muito jovem, talvez antes dos meus 5 anos, que era ser bombeiro! Eu não sei por que ser bombeiro nos dias de hoje, mas é um sonho muito comum das crianças. Talvez esteja relacionado ao tipo de brinquedos com os quais brincamos, e os caminhões de bombeiros são tão complexos e diferentes. As crianças ficam fascinadas pelos caminhões de bombeiros, possivelmente 90% ou mais das crianças sonham em dirigir um. Mais tarde, desistimos de ser bombeiros, por isso é raro encontrar amigos que se tornaram bombeiros. Por que desistimos? Possivelmente porque começamos a conhecer outras carreiras com as quais nos identificamos mais. Foi o meu caso, pelo menos. Comecei a amar os animais, a entendê-los e a conhecê-los. Comecei a assistir a documentários, mais precisamente documentários da National Geographic, desculpe @aiuna, você não é a única a assistir documentários quando era criança. Quando eu era criança, não tinha TV a cabo, estamos falando do início dos anos 90. Então eu costumava alugar documentários da NatGeo em fitas VHS. Lembro-me de assisti-los repetidas vezes. Todos os tipos de animais, com certeza, passaram pela minha casa. Eu tinha um álbum de figurinhas de animais! Lembro-me de completar a coleção, aliás.

image.png

  There was one series of VHS tapes that were my favorite ones. A documentary series made by Jacques Cousteau. He was an important French oceanographer that documented most of the sea life. I guess many people nowadays that work in this area were influenced by him, or at least know him. He also was a great diver. I loved animals but sea life was much more amazing for me. Under the sea is a different world and it isn't natural for us to stay there so we need the right equipment, it is basically traveling to another world. That motivated me a lot to pursue Biology school. I wanted to be like Jacques Cousteau. My 5-year-old birthday gift was an aquarium, I had fish as a pet until my early teens. I loved observing them, how they breathe and swim, and also studied a bit about them and how they are there. In addition to fish, I loved whales and dolphins. Always amazed me the fact of how mammals like us are adapted to live underwater. Their breathing, feeding, and also how their thinking work, dolphins can see mirrors and identify themselves as mirror images. It is pretty rare in the animal world this type of thinking if we take off humans from the list of course.

  Havia uma série de fitas VHS que eram as minhas favoritas. Uma série documental feita por Jacques Cousteau. Ele era um importante oceanógrafo francês que documentou grande parte da vida marinha. Acredito que muitas pessoas que trabalham nessa área hoje em dia foram influenciadas por ele, ou pelo menos o conhecem. Ele também era um grande mergulhador. Eu amava os animais, mas a vida marinha era muito mais fascinante para mim. Sob o mar é um mundo diferente e não é natural para nós ficarmos lá, então precisamos do equipamento certo, é basicamente viajar para outro mundo. Isso me motivou muito a seguir a faculdade de Biologia. Eu queria ser como Jacques Cousteau. Meu presente de aniversário de 5 anos foi um aquário, tive peixes como animais de estimação até a minha adolescência. Eu adorava observá-los, como eles respiravam e nadavam, e também estudava um pouco sobre eles e como viviam ali. Além dos peixes, eu amava baleias e golfinhos. Sempre me surpreendeu o fato de como os mamíferos como nós se adaptaram para viver debaixo d'água. Sua respiração, alimentação e também como seu pensamento funciona, os golfinhos podem ver espelhos e se identificar como imagens refletidas. Isso é bastante raro no mundo animal, se tirarmos os humanos da lista, é claro.

image.png

  I joined the Biology school, and when I started to go deep into biology studies I started to learn and also love biology more deeply about how life works. So my path through molecular biology started. But still, I want to see how is it the life of a Marine Biologist. I found an internship with cetaceans monitoring. There I learned more about the identification of whales and dolphins how to spot them and a little bit more about their biology since we also sealed with stranding. Every time that one animal got stranded I was there doing the necropsy, sometimes they were starting to get rotten so the smell was awful. I was there more for the love than for the money. The internship wasn't in my city so I had to drive multiple times and pay gas by my own cost. But still, it was something that I loved to work with. The supervisor after a while decided to renew the team and I was one of the people that left the project. I still tried to find a job in the area, many oil companies hire professionals in this area to spot these animals and make reports to avoid ecological problems. But I couldn't find anything, it is a tough area to get a job. The employment perspectives weren't good so I decided to follow other paths and I consider myself happy and satisfied. I still love marine biology and I left it as a hobby, so I still try to learn and see them when I have the chance in whale watching tours for example. The only thing that I hope is to pass to my kids this passion and maybe they enjoy it too.

  Eu entrei na faculdade de Biologia, e quando comecei a me aprofundar nos estudos de biologia, comecei a aprender e amar ainda mais a biologia, entender como a vida funciona. Assim, minha trajetória na biologia molecular começou. Mas ainda assim, eu queria ver como é a vida de um biólogo marinho. Encontrei um estágio no monitoramento de cetáceos. Lá aprendi mais sobre a identificação de baleias e golfinhos, como avistá-los e um pouco mais sobre sua biologia, já que também lidávamos com encalhes. Sempre que um animal encalhava, eu estava lá fazendo a necropsia. Às vezes, eles já estavam começando a apodrecer, então o cheiro era terrível. Eu estava lá mais pelo amor do que pelo dinheiro. O estágio não era na minha cidade, então tive que dirigir várias vezes e pagar pela gasolina do meu próprio bolso. Mas ainda assim, era algo que eu adorava fazer. O supervisor, depois de um tempo, decidiu renovar a equipe e eu fui uma das pessoas que deixaram o projeto. Ainda tentei encontrar um emprego na área, muitas empresas de petróleo contratam profissionais nessa área para avistar esses animais e fazer relatórios para evitar problemas ecológicos. Mas não consegui encontrar nada, é uma área difícil de conseguir emprego. As perspectivas de emprego não eram boas, então decidi seguir outros caminhos e me considero feliz e satisfeito. Ainda amo a biologia marinha e a deixei como um hobby, então ainda tento aprender e vê-los quando tenho a chance, como em passeios de observação de baleias, por exemplo. A única coisa que espero é passar essa paixão para os meus filhos e talvez eles também gostem.

Sort:  
 10 months ago  

The love and curiosity for nature never ceases. It's always surprising when we see the way life works for other living things like ourself, how different their world is and how they adapt and live comfortably.

I also hope you will be able to pass the passion to your kids 🤗.

 10 months ago  

Very deep thoughts! you mentioned something that is the base of my knowledge:

How different their world is and how they adapt and live comfortably.

That's triggered me a lot during my life! And nature always surprises and these interesting attributes we try to copy in our technology! I know a professor that has a project with Arctic Spiders, he got a grant from NASA because he is studying hibernation and how it maintains these spiders alive for years in hibernation thinking about space travels. lol just an example!

 10 months ago  

Awwwwww 🥰
Good to know

Good morning from Nigeria 😇

Wow... You love biology? Kudos!
Back in school I never really loved or hated the subject. It was just too voluminous. While it was easy to read and understand, the diagrams and long notes was maddening. Funny enough, I never had issues with the subject. I passed it every time.
So for you to love it... You must be really intelligent 👍👍👍👍👍

 10 months ago  

Thanks for the kindness ! I am just a nerd lol

 10 months ago  

Nature is a gift man, the beauty of nature us more than what we can imagine. Marine biology is good one but things did not as planned.

 10 months ago  

Yep i agree with you nature is beautiful

 10 months ago  

Que legal! Você ainda conseguiu viver um pouco do seu sonho e optou por mudar o caminho diante das dificuldades. Parabéns pelo foco. (:

 10 months ago  

Acho que é mais ficar batendo a cabeça contra a parede toda hora doi!! hahaha uma hora cansa, o que aprendi com o tempo foi que não existe apenas um caminho ... da pra ser feliz pegando outros! A questão é como voce aceita esse novo caminho. Por mais que o caminho que voce saia seja o seu sonho de geraçoes, voce pode seguir em outro e ainda ser feliz, depende do que você quer na sua vida.

Obrigado por promover a comunidade Hive-BR em suas postagens.

Vamos seguir fortalecendo a Hive

Metade das recompensas dessa resposta serão destinadas ao autor do post.

Vote no @perfilbrasil para Testemunha Hive.

Congratulations @gwajnberg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 3500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - July 15, 2023


Your post was manually curated by @michupa.
banner_hiver_br_01.png

Delegate your HP to the hive-br.voter account and earn Hive daily!

🔹 Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting! 🔹

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @aiuna.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more