Bird Flight Trails

A few years ago my niece showed me some photographic art of flocks of birds taking off, which were basically multiple exposures showing the flight trails of all the birds massed together. They were stunning but had no details about the exact technique the photographer had used and the only thing I can remember about him now is that he was French.

These images stayed in the back of my mind for a while until I grew confident enough that I could give it a go with the one difference being that birds in flight rather than taking off would be my targets.

The photographs in this post are my results.

The first two are of thermalling Openbill Storks and the other two are of Swiftlets. All were taken over our garden here in Thailand.

The basic technique I used was to take a video and then blend the frames into a single image. I made them by first taking a video of the birds with the camera on a tripod, which meant that the trails would be smooth clean lines and also that the birds would be the only thing moving. This was easy for the Swiftlets, which are constantly scything through the air in all directions so I could more-or-less point the camera anywhere, but more tricky for the Storks as it's hard to be sure exactly where and how quickly they are going to drift.

Secondly, I used "import video frames as layers" in Photoshop, but found that it was better if I didn't use every frame so checked the option to "limit to every 5 frames" for the Storks and "every 2 frames" for the Swiftlets. Changing the blend mode to "darker colour" on every layer except the lowest then produced the trails as you see them here with just a little bit of contrast and saturation adjustment. For the Swiftlets I also toned the image for a warmer feel.

This "darker colour" blend mode works well with dark bird silhouettes against a light sky. Something like a cloud of butterflies flying against a cluttered background of branches and leaves would be a whole new level of challenge!

I think these trails add an interesting extra dimension to their already beautiful flight, which is hard to display in a still image. The Storks are particularly fascinating as the thermals they use to gain height are themselves traversing across the land so the tracks of the birds tend to be stretched out spirals rather than circles. Also, as the angle of these broad-winged birds changes the thickness of the line produced also changes giving a nice italic-style effect. The "e" for Ecency was a lucky accident!

I will definitely be trying to make more of these images. A passing flock or roosting birds bursting out of a tree are other variations with great potential.

There is also, by the way, a Myna bird in the first Swiftlet image and a fly in the second! Can you spot them?

Sort:  

Congratulations @hadrianwild! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the play-off for third place

What a great idea to create these bird trails! I would never guess that you took them out from the video... It looks amazing! You could create a quiz with a question: How many birds (not counting trails) are in the last photo? 😃

Thanks for sharing


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Thank you! There may be other ways of doing pictures like these but video seemed like the easiest to me. The problem with your quiz idea is that I would have to count them first!

These are awesome! I especially like the first two against the blue sky. Definitely a cool technique.

Thanks. I agree the first two of the storks are the best and perhaps more satisfying because they were harder to make.