So far, and goodbye...

in Reflections2 months ago




Many times we do not know when and how to say “so far, and goodbye”.

I think it's a personality issue. And it's also about following the passion for what you like from another corner, it's a sign of emotional intelligence, to go out the big door, when you decide to put a "so far, I'm still in this job, in this relationship", for example.

I believe that our high performance in any activity, task, situation always makes an appearance and our emotional intelligence and the ability to make mature, wise, timely, sometimes convenient decisions are necessary, signs that are key to a successful retreat.

It is essential to understand when the time comes to leave everything and retire with dignity, maturity, passion and purpose. I am convinced that these are the values that we should apply in any aspect of our life.

There are difficult decisions, whether today or tomorrow, for many factors, from experience I know that at work I am on the way out, in some things that I am living in this my time and for now it is the most beneficial for my health.

How to know when to retire, when to get out of there?

It is when you feel that you have reached the top and that if you continue there you run the risk of falling. Even when you know that you have a lot to give, but that it is necessary to make the change. That happened to me and I made my choice.

A few months ago, I decided that I no longer wanted to see myself in a classroom, for any longer, I am a teacher at a university in my country, a profession that for more than 30 years, work that has been my day to day.

I left through the big door with a very emotional farewell from the university authorities and my co-workers. I had that moment of closure of the cycle, after many years of dedication and tenacity.

Knowing when to retire on time, is to recognize when we weigh the pros and cons, and have clarity about what is non-negotiable for us, we see the path of that retirement easier, and we move forward trusting in ourselves, which is part of assertive intelligence.

In my own roadmap, I understood that everything has its end, only that you have to know when to do it because already this cycle is closing to say goodbye.

What I have in plans, because I still have a lot to give is...

To continue practicing only professional extension and research consulting at my own pace and rhythm.

Discerning in debate and differences is where the human being is nourished. It is to leave a generation of colleagues who are an excellent relay that is doing well, and that the new times demand new skills.

In life we will be many times in that place, at that crossroads with many doubts, product of fear that always makes an appearance when we want to break schemes.

And this that I write applies to any scenario of family life, work, couple, let's not confuse retiring on time from something that we enjoy or something that we suffer.

In the cover photo, a few years ago after my last chemotherapy, I can say so far, and goodbye, to this terrible disease.

It is part of the art of learning to say "So long, so far, and goodbye".

I continue to advise, but they make their own decisions. Have you been through this kind of decision? We can talk in comments.

Janitze. 🌹



Separator made with Canva by @janitzearratia


Any images in this post are taken with my iPhone 12, the Infinix pro-note 30 or with the camera eighties Rolleiflex 2.8 f, and edited with Canva


Translation with |DeepL