CHRONICLES WITH @jeaniepearl......EPISODE 2

in #life6 years ago

Hi dearies....
image
Welcome to the second episode of CHRONICLES WITH jeaniepearl . This a show that tells the untold real life stories of people. Stories that can uplift someone out there, Stories that help to relief the teller,Stories that unfold the dark side of life people never share,success Stories,motivation,etc all real life experience.

On Today's episode I will be sharing with you a story by Adejoke Adesokan, an hair stylist that stood her ground and pursued her dreams to get to where she is now. I hope you learn something from this.

HER STORY

image
My name is Adesokan Adejoke,A Professional hairstylist, A student of Archeology from the University of Ibadan.I hail from Oyo State, the 6th of 7 Children..

It all started when Aunty Tessy opened her salon close to my house in Satellite Town Lagos, and I was on a long term break, we just finish Junior WACE at that time, I was waiting for resumption, instead of sitting at home, I will stroll to the salon, on this faithful day my dad came back from work and saw me there and he was like I must not go there again, he never told me why. His words were " My daughter a hairstylist, it can't happen in this house" but I love the salon, I just want to be at the salon all day long.

I actually forgot my dad forbid me from going to the salon, the next day, I was at the salon again.

I can't remember what happened one day, he came back early from work this beautiful day, and he saw me there, mehn!Hell was let loose, I received the beating of my life at a point I had to ask my self, if he was my father.

I got several scars that day, that the following day, I didn't step the salon, but I was learning really fast, if I watch them make a style, I will practice it on the doll head I got from Aunty Tessy, I will sleep late at night just to ensure I make the exact style so I can show her the next day.

I will pick used attachment and weavon from her dustbin just so I can practice.I couldn't stop myself from the salon, my father was always ready to punish me.Sometimes he will make me crawl to and fro in the compound that my knees will be bleeding, sometimes I will be knocking the floor, tears

It was tough for me, this made me not close to him, I can't tell him what I want, I don't even know if my mum will understand. I had to always keep to myself, it seems that's why I enjoy my own company now.

Sometimes when I look back at all these, I wish I can turn back the hands of time, so I can have good memories of my childhood.The punishment didn't stop and I wasn't ready to quit even though I was always in tears, I can cry for the continent.For me hair making is a passion I discovered at the age of 14, but it was really tough for me because my dad was against it.

You see two things can only hinder you from from reaching your goals.

  1. Money
  2. Vision
    If your vision is clear enough, money won't be a big deal at all. A friend of my elder sister told.me about a a beauty School in Ogba, he said it will be of great help if I enroll, because he saw that my passion for hair gets stronger daily.

I went to the Beauty School (OAK Institute ) in Ogba Lagos Nigeria.On getting there the madam said the entire fee was 150k and I had 70000 that I had saved then.she said I can pay twice, but how will I drop all that I have, how will I balance?
Arggh!
Who will I turn to??
How will I go about it??
I just had to let it go, because there was no point absolutely starting what looks like I won't be able to go further.I kept on sneaking from one salon to the other.

I gave my life to Christ and my whole life took a new turn. I used to be a Muslim,my family members are still Muslims.

I officially started the hair business in Ibadan Jan, 2017 During one of the services in Church, Pastor Matthew Ashinmolowo was ministering, he was talking about tithing, he said we should declare that we will pay our tithe, I didn't declare anything oo, I said, how will I pay tithe when I was still struggling with my bills.

I heard the word sell your phone and start your hair business.I just obeyed after several analysis.I sold the itel tab for 12000, through the help of Onawale Tobi.I went to the market with 10000, got some few weaves to sell and make people's hair

Then Iweanya Gloria ordered for a braided wig, I asked for a part payment, got the materials needed and that was the beginning of the wig business.

A year later, I felt i needed an upgrade and i traveled to Lagos to seek more knowledge about bridal hairs from Kemi Amusan and I got my first job during my first week of training.The incredible thing is I get students through referral, I have not for once put up advert to training.

I get invitations to train, in an Orphanage home, some university students, teenage girls and am really looking forward to be able to train lots more. I travel to different states to make bridal hair.The journey wasnt smooth from the beginning,there are still some rough angles even now but I bless God that I never gave up on my dreams. I am proud to be a hair stylist add know that there are even higher milestones that I will reach.

Adejoke is available for business anywhere in Nigeria and beyond. You can contact her via:-
WhatsApp ~ 08085779640
Instagram ~ @uniquehairffairs
Mail ~ [email protected]

THANKS FOR JOINING ME TODAY

Do you need a pen pal?
Do you have stories that could help lift someone?
Engage with @jeaniepearl let's heal the world together.
You can choose to be anonymous or not
You can contact me via...
Steemitchat ~ jeaniepearl
WhatsApp ~ +2347069670702 (YOU CAN SEND AUDIO IF YOU DON'T WISH TO TYPE)
Discord ~ jeaniepearl
Telegram ~ jeaniepearl
Twitter ~ jeaniepearl
Email ~ [email protected]
image

Sort:  

Inspiring, captivating and very motivational
The Journey towards Entrepreneurship is never easy or a smooth sail
I am inspired

i am glad you and @adejoke will be too

Absolutely!
She's actually my WCE

wow
great choice

As good as always @jeaniepearl. Great job dear.

Thanks much bro

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

This is inspiring.

really

thanks for reading

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jeaniepearl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.