Some speculative thoughts on finding purpose in this crazy life.

in #philosophy4 years ago

Find our what the infinite is doing and be about that. Religions and mystical traditions often have a version of the absolute, unbounded oneness or abiding non-duality or THE ALL or THE I AM. In various ways with various branded stories, this infinity is learning about itself through temporary individuated units of consciousness (finite illusions of separateness, if you prefer). Science has similar stories as these hairless ape forms of functional matter try to understand matter (and beyond).

So, if you get all that (within this speculative thought experiment), then the most important thing you can do with the life you are given is to know thyself. Yes, the Oracle in the Matrix really knew her stuff. As you grow to understand your own consciousness, you are fulfilling the purpose of The One. You are bringing the knowledge of a uniquely individuated experiential understanding to the larger system. Every single moment (good, bad, happy, sad, rich, poor, joyful, painful, etc) becomes an opportunity to (as Thomas Campbell puts it) decrease the entropy of your consciousness (for better understanding and clear seeing) which increases your capacity for love. The more you know about yourself and your true nature as part of the infinite, the more you will comprehend yourself as unified and integrated (loved!).

If we’re still tracking, the next part is to essentially help others wake themselves from the Matrix and, as the Oracle did, help them find their path to understanding themselves. As we ourselves awaken, we give them tools to do the same, keeping in mind, “I can only show you the door. You have to walk through it.”

“No one can see beyond a choice they don’t understand, not even me.” The powerful Oracle in the Matrix series highlights the importance of knowing ourselves well enough to know why we do what we do. This is the essence of self-knowledge. Every thought, belief, decision, and action seen clearly by its full motive and intention. This is the infinite learning about itself. This may be the highest calling.

Temet Nosce: Know Thyself

B2A69FD85327409BA3BE1A25347736CF.jpeg
I’ve often said I want to help create a world we all want to live in. Maybe that’s too vague for a true purpose. In more concrete terms, if we all fully knew ourselves, our connection to the infinite and everything around us, the result would be a world we all want live in.

So, next time you find yourself experiencing, well, anything... think about how it can serve a higher purpose of teaching you (and perhaps the infinite) about yourself (and itself).

My hope for you is peace, love, light, awareness, and self-knowledge.

Sort:  

I remember how the oracle talked to Neo extensively about purpose. Then when she got corrupted by Agent Smith, he also talked about purpose as well. Both versions of the conversation were right; we are predestined but at the same time, the purpose is also what guides us to the destination.

Pleasant coincidence that I run into this post after the weird morning I just had. I had a nightmare about my parents where I cried my eyes out in the dream, and those emotions overflowed into reality and the tears continued flowing. I phoned them and they're okay but I'm still a bit shaken by it.

Sometimes I feel like pain and how we accept this pain is the only point of living. I feel like our best deeds to fellow humans is just to reduce the pain others feel in the best way we can.

I'll will show the door of Hive to new users, they have to walk through it 😁

I liked your publication, short high-quality post jeje I'm thinking to run a curation project for short posts but original and quality content on Hive.

Cheers!