On Becoming 23

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Many said that 23 is the start of your “real adulthood” and some people have finished college, which apparently is a pretty big deal. Well, I woke up on my twenty-third birthday and am still not finishing my college.But I am pretty sure I am not the only one.

They say that 23 is the year when you’re lost and struggling with life more than ever. No parents to back you up, getting a job that barely pays your rent, no more interesting activities, no more friends. I would say that this phase for me has happened. Long before I am 23, I faced things in life that shaped me the way I am today.

Birthday Card.jpg

The world these days have created a sense of urgency that we have to accomplish something big even before 20. The internet has opened so many possibilities that a baby can be worth billions of dollars by entertaining us on screen. There are tech preneurs who made it even before they turned 20 like Eric Finman and so many other examples out there that made us question ourselves.

There are also so many emergencies created that we have to visit this place and that place, being productive 24/7, and able to be multi talented at the same time. Oh yeah, mostly importantly don’t fuck up or ruin your reputation. Though some people say that it’s okay to fail when you are in your 20’s but there are so many contradictory pieces of advice out there. It gets confusing. So, What the hell should I do?

I’ve had that question for a long time. I finally came to terms that I am gonna do whatever I want and I won’t give a single flip. I am content with how I run my life and I will navigate it with a go-getter attitude, something a 15 years old me has fiercely. I learned that listening to others is stripping myself from my actual self. I will only become a projection of their negativity and broken dreams. I have my dreams and I know how to get them.

At twenty-three years old, I finally learned patience. A patience that I have been trying to nurture from when I was a teenager. I was expecting to get rich before I turned 21 but well, I am still broke and one step away from being bankrupt. But I learned that getting rich is possible if I don’t become a sloth. I learned that my dreams won’t magically come if I just sit on my asses, scrolling whatever is being fed on my screen. I have to do something here and now.

This is my first day of being a twenty-three years old. And so far, I am quite positive about moving forward and I simply just have to put all the skills and past knowledge to a good use. Especially to step out of my comfort zone and be the person I have always wanted to be.

To many more awesome days !

~ signing out


Mac is a freelance writer based in South East Asia. She specializes in Technology, Management, Productivity, Minimalism, How-to Articles, Reviews, Travel, Food and Lifestyle. Other than those, she dabble in other various interests, including cryptocurrency and art. If not writing, she can be found cooking or coding.
Sort:  

They say that 23 is the year when you’re lost and struggling with life more than ever.

I guess it depends, wait till you turn 40 lol

Nice article,m enjoyed it, probably because we all share the same problems issues and fears at some point, maybe bit different timing :)

hahaha that's still too far for me. I think many of us share the same struggle, that I found only like you said, bit different timing.

hahaha that's still too far for me.

Oh, you think so? :) You'd be surprised lol All this S****t is soooo relative :) I've been told this myself when i was your age and laughed at it. A lil bit time later i turned 40 lol But this again is just an experience, and you'll be telling this as i do to you now a lil bit later :)

Anyway, enough of this rant, enjoy life, it flies fast and have tons of fun like there is not tomorrow :)

Happy Birthday! How I wish I was 23 again...
Don't give up on your attitude and do whatever you feel like. Forget norms, what the society tells, and what should or shouldn't be accomplished in a life time. It's your life time. Make it yours.

Thank you ! I learned the hard way when it comes to listening others :)

23...lol. I don’t even remember 23.

Happy Happy birthday dear! <3 <3 <3
Life happens differently to people and remember where you are is where you need to be. No one can live your life and all the suggestions are just suggestions. You'd live based on what you really touch and learn.
Welcome to the '' Adult life '' , it sucks but you are gonna love it! :D

hahaha yeah, adulthood sounds fun until it's not :p and thank you !

Best birthday post! You seem to be kicking ass!

gotta stay positive ! :D

Happy Birthday, hun!
I will turn 23 in a few months too, and I am so not prepared for it, lol! There are so many people younger than us who have the world on their feet and successful life and I feel like I will struggle my whole life trying to build something and still not succeed! That's so discouraging...

Thank you so much!I really appreciate your kind words but unfortunately I'm not even close on succesing with any of my passions. Hope that will change soon 😔

Thank you dear !
The pressure is real ! you gotta look pretty, well-traveled, afford this and that but I learn that we have our own timeline. You are ahead of many people and your travel content are getting more awesome each day. I am very impressed with your progress and keep on doing what you love :)

Happy Birthday to you! Seriously.

I was such a wreck at 23. I didn't have a clue.

I'd say one thing I've learned in 45 more trips around the sun than you've made. Don't be in too big a hurry to get where you are going-enjoy the ride. When you get to be my age it doesn't matter where you've been or what you've become, it's all about the ride it took to get there.

Broke isn't a success or failure issue. It's just a waypoint that you can measure from.

Thank you so much ! that sounds very encouraging. I am also trying to slow down with my life and sleep more :) I heard sleeping is very important, so I'd definitely do that.

Happy birthday in advance. And I wish you get more good news this year.

Thank you !

You are most welcome 😊