That One Time When I made a Clay Mug in Florida

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

For some insane reason, we made the decision to buy a house in Florida a few years ago. We reasoned that for what it would cost here in LA, we could live like kings in West Palm Beach Florida; plus we would be living closer to my little brother.

Well, that's not really what this post is about, but suffice it to say that I absolutely hated it there, and now I'm back in sunny yet not so crazy humid Southern California.

When we first got to Palm Beach, there was a delay in receiving our shipment with all of our stuff, so I went to hang out with my sis for a while who lived near Tampa at the time. She took us over to a friend's house, where I ended up doing something completely new to me.

I made this thing:

20150412_195436_Seafairer Dr.jpg

As you might have guessed if you follow me, the A is for Amanda. So this friend of my sister's has a whole pottery making area on her back patio. I had never tried before, so I thought, what the hell! I must admit, if you are high strung, this activity is quite calming.

Oh, by the way. I didn't respect the Florida sun, so this happened to my white self earlier that day:

20150411_202852_Oaklawn Ave.jpg

My sissified pale skin was not happy about being baked in the sun like a lobster. But anyway, I digress. My sister's friend was nice enough to give me an apron and sit me down with a lump of clay and some basic instructions.

FullSizeRender3.jpg

So that was me after about 5 attempts. I magically fast forwarded so that you wouldn't have to see those disasters. It also helps that no one took any pictures because they were making things too! (Thank God)

I worked on the clay for a while until I thought it looked like something that I could reasonably drink out of. Check me out pretending that I have some kind of a clue as to wtf I am doing.

FullSizeRender4.jpg
This is what Shrek would look like making pottery

If you didn't know any better you might think I do this all the time. I mean, if you really didn't know any better. The last step in the shaping process was to sculpt some sort of a handle. For some reason this took me longer than actually forming the mug. Don't ask why, I can't answer that.

FullSizeRender2.jpg

It was always either too big or too thick. Too short or too heavy. I finally managed to make something reasonable that would pass for a mug handle. I don't know why I'm questioning my own native language right now, but is that called a handle? Sounds weird to me right now. Oh well, whatever.

FullSizeRender.jpg

So this is what it looked like when it was completely finished, before firing:

cup.jpg

I don't know if you can tell from the picture, but the weight of the handle is starting to make the cup droop. We messed with it a little and it actually ended up coming out alright! I'm proud of myself in the same way an F student is when he gets a C. But it's all good! I had a great time. I would recommend trying it out to anyone who could use a little stress relief. It's quite therapeutic!

It also helped deal with my rage after receiving the shipment of my bike:

20150408_154252.jpg

So essentially, the truck arrived the next day with my shipment and everything looked fine. However, when I took my bike off of the truck, it had an extra 15 miles on it than when I left it. I had marked down the mileage before they picked it up, just in case something like this happened. Basically, the mover, while sweating quite profusely, claimed that it was normal for the bikes to have some extra miles on them because they have to move them from one location to another. But, um 15 miles?

Apart from that, I had signed an agreement that the bike would never leave from truck that it was loaded onto until it arrived at my house. Well, anyway I will save this for another story. Besides, I need to sleep tonight and just thinking about these bozos gets me wound up.

It must be time to work some more clay!

Sort:  

I used to learn this in school when I was a kid. I remember having too much fun with it honestly and often I just made these "ugly" mugs for my parents for Christmas(God they must have been disappointed).

I never managed to create the handle though, that shit was too difficult lol

Lol. ohhh thanks for the lovely gift, son. We love it. hehe.

I know, right? That handle was a serious pain in the ass. It was ruining my fun haha

Yeah right?! You feel like a pro until you get to that damn handle! Then all your hopes that you had talent are crushed. Although you did a pretty good job at it! haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks dude. I am glad that I didn't quit my job to become a sculptor before making that handle!

Seriously I always see potery and sculptural work as a very stressful and hectic thing to do and I prefer drawing and painting. But from the way I see you here, you seem to be very passionate about it.

Yeah, I imagine it can be stressful, but you just can't take it too seriously.

Painting makes me stressed out. Haha! Mostly because I worry about ruining it the whole time.

Haha...different individuals, different interest. Such is life.

Your expression of love to your lovely wife amanda is quite unique man. I guess she likes it very much. I just have 1 confusion. In your previous post u shaved your head (which looks very cool thou), but in this post your head is full of curly hair like jim morrison. I wanna know which oil or shampoo you have been used! lol! 😂😅😀😊😋 and the red skarf/ bandana is looking so cool on your head mate. Style on mate!

Posted using Partiko Android

I kept my head shaved for quite a long time, and then I decided to let it grow for a while. It is really long right now! The shaved pictures are from a few years ago!

It is naturally king of curly. With curly hair you just have to use a lot of conditioner because it gets really dry! I will eventually shave it off again because I get hot easily, and it is always in my way!

Hi @ nuthman
Good try. And for the first timer output is very good. It’s in a perfect shape. I thing you can try some more.
Working on clay is very difficult. I tried once when i went to my village. But I dropped immediately.
These little things remain as memories.
Waiting for your mileage story.
Thanks.

Thanks! I may try again at some point. It was kind of fun! I think I would like sculpting a head or something like that.

Very nice mug! Thank you for the interesting photos and story!

Very nice mug! Thank
You for the interesting
Photos and story!

                 - sweettais


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

That was a nice masterpiece you have there. I can also do some clay stuff but they aren't as beautiful as that

I don't know if it is a masterpiece, but thanks!

Memories are very precious..
You made great mug friend..
This is call art...

Thank you! Much appreciated.

Congratulations @nuthman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow. Beautiful mug

Posted using Partiko Android