When You Are in Italy... .:. Sommacampagna, Italy ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น ๐Ÿ•

in Pinmapple โ€ข 2 months ago

I know that the title isn't like an original, but it is very close to it, or better said it is in the same country... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ When we went to HiveBeeCon, to Krakow, we had to try the local specialty, pierogi (dumpling)... When you go to Italy, you have to try Italian pizza, and as I went to a couple of different places, the probability that it will be tasty is very high... On the contrary, if I go for pizza in Spain or some other country, that probability is extremely low... Not sure if I have already mentioned, but the best pizza that I have eaten in my life was by the Lago Verde, also in Italy... The second best was the one that you can see in the photo... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

01.jpg

This trip happened last summer, as usually, on our 3-day trip we make 2 breaks, one in France and the other one in Italy... As we heard so many great things about the Lago di Garda, we finally decided to visit it last year (I still owe you photos from there โ˜น๏ธ)... Unfortunately (or luckily) we didn't find good accommodation at the lake itself as the prices were crazy high and we didn't book it on time... So instead, we booked the small hotel in Sommacampagna, a small town, half an hour's drive from Lago di Garda...

02.jpg

I can't remember why, but we arrived in the town much later than planned and I was exhausted from all day driving... In those moments, I was unable to rest or sleep, so the best option was to go out for a walk and find some food... As it was already after 7 PM, the idea to go to Lago di Garda was out and we did it on our way back... Back to Sommacampagna, the first place to search for was a restaurant where we had those tasty pizzas!!!

03.jpg

After filling up our tummies, we went for a walk around the town... It was Thursday evening, around 8 PM when I took these photos, but everything looked so empty... The town itself has around 15000 residents and after looking at its Wikipedia page it looks like that number grows year by year... As Lago di Garda is a very popular tourist "attraction" I suppose that many people moved from there to other places in the area, renting out their homes for tourists... That could be one of the reasons why Sommacampagna is growing...

04.jpg

I have mentioned in my previous travel blogs that I'm not the guy who researches the place where I go too much... Just a couple of things and that's it, the rest is just strolling around, taking photos, and researching the town AFTER! For example, I had no idea what was the building above when I took the photo, but now I found it on Google and it says it is a Ski Club, which organizes ski routes in winter months... Very peculiar design of building for that...

05.jpg

This small street reminded me of small traditional Spanish villages, where neighbors would take out their chairs in the evenings, chat with each other, and enjoy the fresh, evening air...

06.jpg
of course, as it was a "golden hour" I had to take some "sun rays photos" ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

07.jpg

This is probably one of the typical townhouses and we saw many like this...

08.jpg

Also, in small towns, you can always find abandoned buildings like this one... What got my attention was how the building is constructed from different materials, probably during different times, and you can spot that it is in fact, 3 buildings in one...

09.jpg

10.jpg

This was a monument inside the public park, but I didn't find additional info about it... Btw., after all the "redness" (hot sun burns it all) in Spain, it was great to see a green area like this... :)

11.jpg

12.jpg

This looks like a town hall, and I thought it was, but it is a government office where you can do your paperwork regarding residency and similar stuff...

13.jpg

As it was getting dark, we had fastened up our walk, but we still were able to spot some nice things in the town, like the Church of San Rocco, which was visible from our hotel room, too!

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

I have no idea why I liked this short street, probably because of so much vegetation on both sides and it looked like a tunnel into a different world... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg
*a couple of tryouts to make some "artistic" photos with a mobile phone camera ๐Ÿ˜ƒ"

20.jpg


21.jpg

22.jpg

My favorite flower is a rose, so I had to come closer to take a photo of this one, but... Surprise, surprise... That wasn't a real rose, but a rose made from metal!!! As you see in the photo below, the rest of the fence was also artificial! After checking out the gate, we found a plate where our doubts were cleared... The artist was living there...

23.jpg

24.jpg

25.jpg

26.jpg

What you can see on the right, the opened gate, was the entrance to the small hotel where we stayed... As it was a great hotel, and I had a good sleep, we booked the same place on our way back 3 weeks after!

27.jpg
Sunset from the hotel room

28.jpg

When we came back 3 weeks later, we found this great bathtub! Great colors and a great idea to recycle the old bathtub!

29.jpg

Of course, on our way back, we had to visit the same restaurant and order another pizza! ๐Ÿ˜‚ But, this time I didn't take a photo (I suppose I was even hungrier than the first time and ate it fast! ๐Ÿ˜‚)... That would be all for this walk around Sommacampagna and I hope that the next time, I will prepare a post about the well-known Lago di Garda! Stay tuned!

Thank you for your time,

--ph--


Liotes Divider Blue.png

๐Ÿ‘‰ Vote for Liotes HIVE Witness HERE ๐Ÿ‘ˆ

Don't forget to follow, reblog, and browse my Hivepage to stay connected with all the great stuff!

You can also find me on Ecency .:. Twitter .:. LBRY

Sort: ย 

When I saw the photo, I thought of the guy who spilled ketchup on pizza on social media, man. The locals were looking like they were going to kill him XD

I really want to eat a pizza in Italy. If I visit one day, I'll call you on Discord and ask you where the best pizza you've ever had is XD

I really want to eat a pizza in Italy. If I visit one day, I'll call you on Discord and ask you where the best pizza you've ever had is XD

Oh, I can tell you right now! It was in Italy, but not in this place, but in another one... It was called Lago Verde, close to Treviso and Venice... That was the best of the best pizzas ever! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

https://maps.app.goo.gl/Jf56nfygPJSekQn59

There you are... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ There is an airport in Treviso, so you can easily travel there... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Thank you so much for all this information, man. I'll keep it all in mind!

The pizzas look delicious, I'm sure they also tasted so, the metal roses looked so real and beautiful.

The pizza was fantastic! and the whole town was nice and peaceful, including metal roses... ๐ŸŒน

Yeah it did look beautiful.

I am the same traveller. I would like to discover a city or a town just while wandering around, loiter over :)

Hehehe... I'm glad that I'm not alone... In that way, I discover certain things that are not the "most emblematic" of the town/city (like that ski club), but I do indeed miss many things... lol... That's always a good reason for another visit... :)

You really can't beat pizza from Italy. Usually you go there and eat so much pizza that you can't eat it for a month afterwards. I thought it was Wednesday for a moment there. ๐Ÿ˜…

Hehehee... I miss creating posts for Wednesday Walk, but the thing with the show on the same day is killing my will to write a post as I keep my focus on #HHHLive... Maybe I will do some draft posts in advance...

And regarding pizza, I suppose that you can eat a bad pizza in Italy, and I did once in Vicenza, but that was a german restaurant, so it doesn't count... lol...

How lucky to discover such a delightful holiday spot! Wonderful photos and delicious pizza!

Curation by Ecency

Thanks! To be honest, that place was found by accident and a good accommodation price... In the end, it was a nice place to chill out... Re-visiting the same place after 3 weeks was like going home... I like it when the town makes that feeling!

Those pizzas look delicious!!! What better place to eat one than in.... Italy!

Really weird design of the Ski Club building ๐Ÿ˜•, looks like a tower with a water tank or something like that. ๐Ÿคญ

The metal roses are beautiful. I loved the bathtub recycled into a planter. ๐Ÿ’š

Greetings and happy week to all of you.

Ski Club building ๐Ÿ˜•, looks like a tower with a water tank or something like that.

That was exactly my thought when I took the photo! I thought it was a "camouflaged" water tank! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

There was more than 1 rose, but I forgot to take a photo... Maybe next time... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

That was exactly my thought when I took the photo! I thought it was a "camouflaged" water tank! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Evidently the design of that building is somewhat confused ๐Ÿ˜†.

Wow simply amazing! I hope you liked your journey. Greetings from Italy :)

I did like the journey and Italy is one of my favorite places to be!!! Greetings from Spain! ๐Ÿท

I love that bathtub!! Great post, @ph1102 - it's nice to get insight into other parts of Italy; I live in the south, and haven't explored much of the rest of the country!
Have a beautiful day!

Thank you! Well, I have never been to the south of Italy, so there you are... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ Jokes aside, I would like to visit some places in "your" part as I saw some great documentaries about small towns like this, but in Southern Italy...

Have an awesome rest of the week! Thanks for the visit!

Aye; there is a great richness of landscape in the more southern parts of the country, and soo many incredible small cittร  that are full of glorious food, culture and people!
Good days to you too!

๐Ÿค—

Without a doubt it was a beautiful walk, I am always surprised to see that it is 8pm in other places and it is very clear the day, on the other hand I loved the iron rose and then see the flowers as well as in an arch, I like that artist who made them has a lot of creativity, greetings nice photographs

I'm not sure if I mentioned it, but this visit was in July last year, so that's why it was still daylight... As a matter of fact, here in Spain, when we have the longest daylight in June, it stays light until 10 PM!

I liked that rose too very much! There were some other objects in the garden of that house, but I didn't want to be rude and take photos over the fence... ๐Ÿ˜€

Thanks for the visit! Have an awesome day!

Although I live in Italy I have never been to Sommacampagna and I have never been to Lake Garda so thank you for this nice travel post and I will also read with pleasure your next post about Lake Garda
P.S. Also on Hive there is !PIZZA but it is not as good as what you can eat in Italy :)
!DHEDGE
!discovery 35
@tipu curate

Hehehehe... The best pizza is in Italy and that's a fact, not just a legend... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

And regarding not visiting Sommacampagna, I suppose that there are hundreds of small towns like it and it's normal that you didn't visit all of them despite living in Italy... :) Personally, I found Italy as one of my favorite European countries and we have had always the best experience with people there... I can't say the same for some other countries... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Lago di Garda is definitely a nice place to visit, but again, there are a lot of places in Italy that are beautiful... Will see where will we go this summer... Any suggestions? :)

Your phone has a good camera, the photos are very good quality, who would think of that design for a Ski club๐Ÿ™ƒ. Good shots, looks like it was a nice ride. โœŒ๏ธ

Thank you for the comment! It was a nice visit and that's why we got in the same time twice last year! You never know what you can find in these small towns, like that awkward Ski club building, for example... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

๐Ÿ’ฏ

The food looks great. Tasting local food when traveling is great but I don't travel much. I have gone to some Italian pizza shops in the US, but I don't think it can compare to the real thing.

We have pizza numerous times in Spain, but none of them tasted like the one in Italy... Have no idea how is that even possible, but it is true! ๐Ÿ˜€

Eating pizza directly in Italy is an extraordinary experience, I really like seeing the delicious pizza there

Hehehehe... None can beat the original! Pizza is the best in Italy... Period! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Hello ph1102!

It's nice to let you know that your article won ๐Ÿฅ‡ place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by deepresearch

You and your curator receive 0.3280 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 13.85% share of the reward from Daily Report 241. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUGOLD token for taking 1st place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow! Thatโ€™s one hell of a name!!! I tried pronouncing it and I sounded ridiculous๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Hahahaah... It is a bit complicated, but it can be pronounced after a few hours of practice... hahahahah ๐Ÿคฃ

That spot is the best place that fits the holiday and Iโ€™m sure you also enjoyed your meal
The pictures could tell that you had a fantastic holiday

Thanks!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2158.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks for picking my post for your collection!!! Appreciated!

ย 2 months agoย (edited)ย 

Nice share! Enjoyed seeing the architecture in Europe!
!LUV

You are welcome! I'm glad that you liked it!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

๐ŸŽ‰ Upvoted ๐ŸŽ‰
๐Ÿ‘ Keep Up the good work on Hive โ™ฆ๏ธ ๐Ÿ‘
๐Ÿ™ Don't forget to Support Back ๐Ÿ™

!BEER


Hey @ph1102, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The great country of Italy. So much has been said concerning that country and it will be a wish someday to explore that base around

!LOL

What's the most modern plant?
A courant bush.

Credit: reddit
@ph1102, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of curart38

(6/6)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

The great country of Italy. It will really be great someday to visit places like this