Empowering Voices and Exercising My Right!

in Lifestyle8 months ago

DE3EA94F-8C33-42C6-BAB7-F27F9C0AEEC0.png

Ballots, ballot boxes, and indelible marks? Nothing beats a community that has good leaders possessing qualities such as integrity, vision, good reputation, effective communication, adaptability, and the ability to inspire and motivate others.

After the nine-day campaign period, today marks a momentous day in my country not to mention that communities all around the Philippines are empowered, voices are heard, and we all exercised our rights to suffrage since today is the 2023 Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections.

IMG_5629_jpg.jpeg

From the previous elections, I have been serving my country as one of the members of the Electoral Board who will accommodate the voters during the election, but since my mother is running for the position of Barangay Kagawad, I am exempting myself from serving and now, I am exercising my right to vote.

I woke up early today so that I could vote early. I was with my cousin, preciousbree and we went to the venue together. We know the place where to vote but we need to find first the room where we should go that is why we have to go early aside from avoid a huge crowd and longer lines.

IMG_5582_jpg.jpeg

IMG_5584_jpg.jpeg

The venue of the Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan Elections is in Public Schools in my community so it was very accessible for us and it was just a walking distance from home. But the problem was we did not know where to go, so the first thing that we did was look for the classroom. Good thing, we were heading in the right direction even though no one guided us. And the room my cousin was also just beside my precinct so we could just see each other after voting.

IMG_5586_jpg.jpeg

Just before my turn, I was so happy because I was one of those early birds. After five minutes, I was surprised to see many voters waiting already even if that was still so early. I then realized that it is better to be early to avoid a large crowd and avoid waiting for so long since it is expected that there are thousands of voters in my community.

IMG_5590_jpg.jpeg

The election was on a first come first serve basis. However, there was an express lane for pregnant women, persons with disabilities, and senior citizens. For ages 15 to 17 years old, they will surely vote for the Sangguniang Kabataan officials only. For ages 18 to 30 years old, they will both be for both Barangay Officials and Sangguniang Kabataan Officials. And for ages 31 and above, they will vote for Barangay officials only.

Meanwhile, one of the members of the electoral board came near me and gave me details so that it would be easier for the pork clear, chairman, and board member to check on the Election Day Computerized Voters List. And then after I was allowed to go inside. When I entered, I had already seen both young and old voters seated at the armchairs as they chose for their candidates.

IMG_5596_jpg.jpeg

As I entered, the members of the electoral board thought that they were supposed to give me two ballots, which meant one ballot for the Barangay Election and the other ballot for the Sanggunian Kabataan Election. Funny how they thought that I was still younger and could still vote for the Sangguaniang Kabataan Election but I am years older to vote for it and could only be allowed for the Barangay elections.

When it was my turn to vote, I was given the ballot and I was glad since there were many available seats and I could choose where I would be seated. Honestly, I so love the murals in the classroom, the designs of the floor, and most especially the pink chairs.

IMG_5598_jpg.jpeg

IMG_5599_jpg.jpeg

Afterward, I sat at one of the front chairs so that the others could occupy the back. It took me just a minute to vote since I already have in my mind d in my mind who to vote for. I noticed that the first to get inside was still at the back of me writing on the ballot.

Although it was too quick for me to vote, still I had the follow the election procedures and fall. in line once more so I could submit my ballot, put it on the ballot box, have my fingerprints, and put an indelible ink since the Election in the Philippines is manual voting unlike the National Election that used the computerized machines and automatic counting of votes.

IMG_5608_jpg.jpeg

IMG_5613_jpg.jpeg

As I fell line, I am bringing with me the closed ballot so no one could see who are my candidates for the Barangay Election. I am allowed to vote for 1 Barangay Captain Official and 7 Kagawad members. Here in my community, there were 4 candidates for Barangay Captain and 32 candidates for Barangay Kagawad.

After voting, I went outside to look for my cousin. I strolled for a while to look at her precinct and I was able to capture some quick snapshots of the classrooms with several voters looking at their names on the list and precinct number as well. It was nostalgic strolling around this place since I had my elementary days here at Alae Central Elementary School.

IMG_5658_jpg.jpeg

IMG_5639_jpg.jpeg

IMG_5660_jpg.jpeg

A lot has changed here over the past twenty years. Although the place where we used to play before was replaced with classroom buildings, I am happy to see its development. Honestly, coming back here made me remember my elementary friends as I also saw them earlier.

IMG_5657_jpg.jpeg

After a while, I saw my cousin and we went home together. I was so happy to see beautiful shadows on the pavement. Here are our shadows as we walk back home. It was nice to see these awesome shadows.

Perhaps it feels so good to exercise my right to vote. The election process ran smoothly and I had a great time going back to my old school when I was in elementary.

HiveDivider_sm.png

Disclaimer: All texts and pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.

pinkchic--rc.gif

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/pinkchic/re-leothreads-2sqgtukdq
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( pinkchic ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @pinkchic! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.
You published more than 350 posts.
Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2023

Wow sana all naka document sa pag vote. Ako two picture lang talaga Meron Ako. Gusto ko din sana magpicture2 para may ma icontent today pero nahiya eh kaya ayon Wala hehehe

Truth sis. Hehe. There may be many people earlier but they never mind about it. Mynpicyures were just quick snapshots never minding also of the angles and all. Hehe. May the entire Philippines has a peaceful election today. Good luck to all the candidates.
!LADY !LUV !PIZZA

Counting na nga ngayon sis..

View or trade LOH tokens.


@pinkchic, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jenthoughts and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@pinkchic(2/5) tipped @jenthoughts

I hope your mother gets elected. When will the results be known?

For the benefit of those who don't know, whats the difference between the Barangay Officials and Sangguniang Kabataan Official? And why the age split for voting, particularly 15-17 year olds being able to vote? That's a very low age limit. Also, do you not need to provide any ID to vote because unlike yourself, some dishonest voters may have just taken two ballot papers.

It's always interesting to learn about how other countries run their elections

Hello, dear LivingUK. It is nice seeing you and good evening from my side. Your questions are interesting and I love to answer them as much as I can.

Sangguniang Kabataan or SK is a Local Youth Council here in the Philippines. Members of the SK are elected by the youth in their respective barangays. And yes, 15-17, are considered not of legal age, that is why they are only allowed for the youth council. And the maximum limit to be part of the Sangguniang Kabataan is up to 30 years old only.

However, for 18-year-olds to 30 years old, this age range indicates legality, so two ballots will be given since they still belong to SK and are allowed to vote for the Barangay Election. And for 31 years old and above, only for the Barangay Election consisting of the Barangay Captain and the Barangay Councilors.

Concerning voting, each citizen must bring a valid Identification Card and there is what we call the EDCVL or the Election Day Computerized Voters List indicating the details such as Name, Birthday, Age, Address, Precinct Number, and how many ballots should be given to each voter. This is done by the electoral board for each precinct that does the verification process consisting of the Poll Clerk, Third Member, and Chairman as assigned by the Commission on Elections or the COMELEC.

The counting is manual and as of the moment, the electoral board is still doing its task until all votes are counted and the final announcement is made by the Commission on Elections in the Philippines.

I hope I was able to answer your queries. I appreciate your time and attention. Best regards!

!LUV !LADY !HUG

View or trade LOH tokens.


@pinkchic, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @livinguktaiwan and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Dear @livinguktaiwan, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @pinkchic.
(1/3)

i hope your mother wins

Awww, thank you so much for the good wishes my friend. Appreciate you so much and have a wonderful day!