Misty Saturday Morning in Almere, Netherlands - Autumn Walk | Diary of a Refugee from Ukraine

in Team Ukraine7 months ago (edited)

There was a time in my life when I had a few good habits and used to maintain them every day. For example, when I was in Ukraine, I used to go out for a walk every day by myself. I was able to build this habit during Covid 19 time. Besides the area I used to live in was a pretty nice and big neighborhood with a lot of empty spaces and parks. So every day I used to go out to take a long walk by myself, sometimes I used to grab a cup of coffee and sit in the park. After coming to the Netherlands, that habit is almost lost. First of all the location and second, the area I live in is very busy always. I go out with Gigi (my dog) for a walk almost 2-3 times but that is just because of the responsibility towards my dog. I don't enjoy my own time or solitude moment. My psychiatrist and psychologist suggested many times to go out to have some alone time, I did that quite a few times, and then I stopped. I don't know why but perhaps the reason could be the bad experiences that I have encountered living here.

More or less, in time I kinda changed all of my good habits and kinda kept myself in an invisible confined wall. Well, not exactly invisible, I keep myself locked in my room. I created this attitude willingly but I why I created it, but I couldn't figure that out.

Saturday morning, foggy fall weather. Like usual I went out with my dog so that she could have some time outside and can run a little bit here and there. I am kinda lost interest in focusing on her training and my dog took advantage and does what she wants to do. Basically, I don't care and sometimes I get annoyed when she starts pulling me hard. I realized that this is not just carelessness, this is my sickness and I don't care about anything anymore. My attitude towards my dog is not so healthy and I am aware of that but I am unable to change my attitude lately. It's like I am letting myself flow in darkness. I feel pity for my dog, she got the worst owner in her life.

Anyway, today while walking with my dog, I suddenly felt like I should walk a little bit more and spend some time outside alone. The weather was not attractive, it was foggy and rainy but still, I felt I should walk alone by myself. So, after walking with Gigi, I went home, gave her breakfast, and went outside again to have alone time.


20231023_122317.jpg

20231023_121638.jpg


After a long era, I was walking alone and it felt good. It was cold but it felt different, fresh. This picture of the highrise building will show the level of fog we had today. It was a misty morning. Normally early morning, people experience such kind of atmosphere but I went out quite late and it was still cloudy and misty.

I haven't experienced beautiful autumn weather this year so far, so I thought maybe I should look around to see some fallen leaves.


20231023_121644.jpg

20231023_121550.jpg

20231023_121657.jpg


Today was a lazy weekend morning so many people were outside walking with their dogs. Seeing that scenario kinda reminded me of my attitude and carelessness towards my dog or I just blame myself for everything due to some bad experiences. I cannot just let anything go. I let myself be destroyed by the judgment and opinion of others. This has been happening for quite a long time and knowing that there was no mistake made by me or by my dog, I couldn't let the incident go.

I was thinking a lot while walking, rubbish or intense thoughts. At one point, I thought coming outside alone was a mistake but instead of going back, I decided to go near the canal. I took some photos, of wildflowers and wild plants.


20231023_121904.jpg

20231023_122003.jpg

20231023_122009.jpg


The canal side is beautiful and very quiet. I have been here before with Gigi, she did swim in this canal. I am not so sure that this canal is allowed for dogs but she didn't swim for a long time and that's okay. The canal is not deep at all, shallow water level. One can easily cross the canal by foot. During the rainy season, I have seen boats here but those were private boats. Many people take a walk here in the morning.

I thought of spending some time near the canal but unfortunately couldn't find any sitting space there. The soil of the canalside was very soft and muddy so it was also impossible to go near the water. Far away, other side of the canal, I noticed a bunch of swans were resting. I don't know what got into me, I decided to disturb their nap. I kinda made some intentional sound and they woke up, started looking around, and then again went back to relax.

I think they don't care about the sound until they sense the danger.

So, I ignored them and started walking.


20231023_122301.jpg

20231023_122149.jpg

20231023_122401.jpg

20231023_122721.jpg


Finally, I arrived in a small neighborhood street where I saw some colors of autumn; yellow leaves. It was nothing compared to what I had seen and experienced before. I tried to take one photo but it didn't turn out how I expected. Failure of searching autumn colors but I knew it somehow.

I returned home; did this walk help me? I would say I liked my alone time, away from the room, away from the location. Someone told me once to spend time near the canal whenever I feel bad; obviously, I didn't do that but I guess I will do it in the future. Probably the flow of water, and nature will help me to heal in time.

20231026_121527.jpg



Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thoughts easily...



Find me on:


All images used are captured by the author...

Sort:  

It's good that you go for a walk, even if it's as part of caring for Gigi. I understand that self-isolation thing, I admit that I am also a bit of a shut-in (or indoor person), I avoid leaving the house as much as I can, but I know that I need to go out and interact with the world for my own health.

Furthermore, locking yourself away after a series of unpleasant experiences is understandable, it is not the healthiest and most complete solution, but I have lived it and I understand it. Like the others, I have to advise going for a walk anyway, because in the long run, staying indoors does not solve the problems and can create other problems.

By the way, you're not the worst owner, believe me, I've worked in certain places that led me to have to study records of certain kinds of people, and I can tell you that I read too many unpleasant things, so I can tell you that neglecting Gigi for the side effects of your current state, it's bad, but it doesn't make you the worst dog owner there is. Also, the fact that Gigi shows interest in you and wants to push you to do things shows that she loves you and is trying to help you, a dog wouldn't do that with an owner who was the worst.

I'm glad to read that the walk near the canal has helped your mood, certainly getting closer to nature and doing light physical activity can help with mental stability and spirit.

Well, I wish you well and that everything gets better for everyone.

Stay !ALIVE
!GIF relaxing river

!PGM !LUV !CTP !BBH
!LOLZ !MEME

First of all, wanna apologize for my late reply. I was kinda taking time for myself and stayed out of blockchain. I was antisocial always and an indoor person but I was social when it was necessary. Minimum interaction is needed for everybody but I don't do it now, I don't know why but like I said, I isolated myself.

About Gigi, I am struggling because, in my mind, I understand I don't pay her much attention which is needed but I am just unable to do it. I still couldn't figure out how my mind works but it works in a very strange way. I just struggle every day no matter how much I try to divert myself. I just feel I am manipulating myself every day...

Don't worry too much about a late response, that is always better than no response at all (I have experience in both things :) or situations)

The mind is a complex thing, I know that, I spent a lot of time with different therapists since I was a teenager, so already at this age, I have become accustomed to the fact that the mind is something "very simple and complex, contradictory and unified. Anyway, it's something that we don't understand, but that fascinates us" which I remember was something one of my old friends said.

I can only reiterate my best wishes for you and Gigi.

Stay !ALIVE
!LUV !LOLZ
!Gif my best wishes for you!

I would say humans are the most complex species in this entire world... Hahahaha...

@priyanarc! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ pedrobrito2004. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I told my doctor that I broke my arm in two places.
He told me to stop going to those places.

Credit: benthomaswwd
@priyanarc, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of pedrobrito2004

(1/4)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

This joke is certainly cruel, but it still made me laugh.

@priyanarc! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ pedrobrito2004. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I don't know why but perhaps the reason could be the bad experiences that I have encountered living here.

Like mad cyclists, perhaps?

I don't think Gigi has a bad owner. You take her out. You are going through a rough time but still you try.

To give you some perspective, I was a dog groomer for twenty years. I would see dogs that would come in once a year, their bodies caked in urine-soaked mats and nails grown out so long they could barely walk. Ear matted to their bodies. Fleas. Festering sores. I'm not exaggerating. They always showed up around christmas time. Why? Because the family was having a party and didn't want their dog to look grossly neglected. I'm certain that that party was the only real attention those dogs got all year. I saw lots of these dogs, and I was a groomer in two cities. Those were the worst owners. They did not love their dogs or even acknowledge that they were beings.

OMG!!! I didn't know that. Well, my only problem is walking with her because she has so much energy and she releases it whenever she goes outside and most of the time, I am not prepared for it. I groom her by myself and she doesn't require a lot of grooming because her coat is short hair. Other than walking with her, I take of other things...

Because the family was having a party and didn't want their dog to look grossly neglected.

I never thought such people even existed...Poor dogs... :(

Labs have sooo much energy! I remember one named Jet that would come in once a month for bath and nails that had a tail that was like a million miles long. He would be so excited/anxious about seeing everyone and start jumping up at us, all 75lbs of him. When he wasn't jumping he was whipping our thighs with his tail. He meant well, but omg...
So yeah, I can picture Gigi's energy. She needs a treadmill! Lol.

Gigi is the same, wagging her tail all the time, a small run is not enough for her. She can swim for 4-5 hours and never gets tired easily. And jumping on people!!! Here everybody knows her nature 🤣. Jet and Gigi would have been a great crime couple 😝

Jet and Gigi would have been a great crime couple

😆

'Disturbed some swans' lol...you are a rebel! What will it be next time 'distract a duck'? 'Slap a seagull'? You will get a reputation as a bird botherer haha.

You have a lovely week and best wishes :-)

Yes, I was kind of rebellious mode at that moment because I was I guess hyperactive :D Seeing them relaxing kinda made me jealous, lol... Slap a seagull !!! No no, they will slap me instead trust me because seagulls in Almere are rebellious and they steal food from people :D...

Distract a duck, yes I can do that :D...

Thank you and have a great week...

Seagulls everywhere are definitely the hooligans of the bird kingdom lol..

This is a very interesting place, and we can see that the pictures that you show are quite good.

Thank you so much, I am glad you liked these photos...

Hello priyanarc!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥈 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by love.gray

You and your curator receive 0.2267 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 7.90% share of the reward from Daily Report 100. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUSILVER token for taking 2nd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq