Scattered Memory of Katowice City, Poland - Diary of a Refugee from Ukraine

in Team Ukraine7 months ago

I am having an urge today to write something on the blockchain but my mind is completely empty. It's not new, I have been dealing with such emotions and feelings for a long time. I am feeling completely blank while writing this post but I am writing, strangely. I am just lost in the middle of nowhere and I guess I don't want to be found myself.

I am pushing myself a little bit to recall my memory of being in Katowice Poland. Because at that moment, around a year ago, my mind was scattered and my heart was shattered after fleeing from the war. I don't know when I will stop talking about war. I don't wanna recall those broken moments in life but also many good things happened at that moment.

Katowice is a really lovely city in South Poland, the capital and central city of the Silesian metropolitan area. Once upon a time around 50 coal mines operated here. A mixture of history and modern architectural city. I went to Katowice for a reason and lived for a month nearby city called Ruda Śląska. While staying in Ruda Śląska, I had to go to Katowice from time to time for many purposes. Before coming to the Netherlands, I went to Katowice for one last time to take some photos and for a walk to see the city. Obviously, Asia, baby Bombel was with me to show me their city.


20220327_145535.jpg

20220327_123621.jpg


We parked our car near to city center and started our walk. Asia was explaining a lot of crucial things about her city but unfortunately, I cannot remember any of it. I don't blame myself because my mindset was completely different at that time and it's natural not to remember anything because I was trying to heal from the trauma.

A part of the city seemed historical while another part of the city looked modern. Today I am going to share the historical architectural part of the city, basically buildings and infrastructures.


20220327_145533.jpg

20220327_145529.jpg


Like Krakow, Katowice city has a history but is not as old compared to Krakow city. During World War 2, most of the monuments, and structures were destroyed and demolished to the ground but this city flourished after World War 2 because of heavy industrialization. The present Katowice I saw was completely new and after passing a lot of phases, the city now looks like this.

Most of the buildings were renovated and reconstructed later to preserve the architectural character of the city. Unfortunately, this city's architectural character is not as strong as the Medieval Era. The street layout, architecture, and urban characteristics came from different phases of time; basically, the city layout is the result of the expansion and annexation of different neighborhoods and cities of Silesia. Some buildings represented Neo-Renaissance style while some churches represented Gothic style.

Despite of different characteristics of architecture, the city does represent its strong history.


20220327_144808.jpg

20220327_133256.jpg


As far as my understanding, I most noticed new classical architecture whenever I saw the linear-shaped buildings. Bold groove lines and ornamental designs on the exterior part of the building especially highlighted window sills and parapet walls. You can also see a Gothic-style church in the photo.


20220327_150555.jpg

20220322_171319.jpg20220322_171324.jpg20220322_171329.jpg

Katowice Railway station is hardly visible because it was destroyed in 2010 and is still under construction. A part of the station is rebuilt as an expansion to the Galeria Katowicka shopping complex. Another interesting fact about this city is if a building has greenery and plantation on its exterior and interior, it is considered a sustainable building and as a result, they don't have to pay tax to the government. You can read details here.

Infront of the Polski Bank, there are sitting spaces for tourists and visitors. Also, the front of Katowice Galleria always stays busy.


20220327_122634.jpg20220327_144501.jpg20220327_145643.jpg

20220327_144443.jpg20220327_144727.jpg20220327_144736.jpg

You can see the differences among the buildings, contrast between the buildings is clearly visible. Each building character is completely different from than other. But still, together they created this city. I often noticed such kind of features either in a new city or in an expanded city. For example, the city of Almere has no character, it just follows contemporary and modern architectural rules, and that's it.

We went to the city center during the time, the sun was shining, not so cold weather.


20220327_123322.jpg

20220327_140824.jpg

20220327_123311.jpg

20220327_123308.jpg


At some point while walking we ended up in front of the Silesian Theatre located on the market square in Katowice. It is considered the largest theatre in Silesia. I hope one day I will visit inside of the theatre. Market Square was crowded because the food festival was ongoing. Many food trucks and kiosks were there with different cuisines. Without any second thought, I was looking each and every food truck because I was hungry. I was also curious what they were selling.


20220327_140830.jpg

20220327_141101.jpg

20220327_140835.jpg


I ended up infront of the Poke Bowl truck where many people were already waiting to order food. Poke Bowl is a traditional Hawaiian dish that is inspired by Japanese Cuisine. I ordered fried shrimp with rice. mangoes, limes, mints, and bell papers. It was colorful, fresh, and good as lunch. The price was 30 PNL. This bowl was called lime and mint shrimp.

The most expensive bowl I took from the truck I bet.


20220327_141056.jpg

The moment and mindset of mine was not right when I was in Katowice that's why probably I didn't pay attention to the surrounding. Of course broken mind cannot focus on anything. After long a year, finally, I wrote something about this city, I wish I had a vivid memory instead of a bland memory.

Thank you for your time...



Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thoughts easily...



Find me on:


All images used are captured by the author...

Sort:  

♥️
Nice photos, again 🤗 it was good having you here and walking around our city.

And... Katowice was not destroyed in the war :) it looks like that because it was simply developed in the modernist era :)

Katowice was not destroyed in the war :) it looks like that because it was simply developed in the modernist era :)

See I already messed up the history and created a whole new story :D LOL

I hope to see more of this city next time whenever I visit...

I already told Jagoda you're coming next year 😜

So fast... 😀 I hope she will be in Poland when I visit again 😁

Hello priyanarc!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 4th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by fantagira

You receive 🎖 2.1 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 106 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START