Sick of Costa's aggressive upselling, how should I respond?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Sick of Costa' aggressive upselling, how should i respond?


As if being charged £3.05 for a Cappuccino wasn’t enough, Costa staff now seem to be required to try and upsell you their ‘limited edition’ blend for an additional 40 pence.

Screenshot 2019-04-23 at 16.57.58.png

I don’t blame the staff, I’ve actually got quite a lot of sympathy for them being forced into this extremely negative form of interaction with customers.

Rather I blame the Coca Cola Corporation which recently bought the 2400 Costa Coffee chain outlets for £3.9 billion, which was apparently well over its market value.

What I hate about it is that it dehumanises the relationship between the staff and the customers even more than was already the case – the staff now have to go through a script when a customer walks in, for fear that one of them might by a ‘mystery shopper’.

They are also clearly required to upsell in an upbeat tone, pretending that they’re happy about it, when in reality this is highly unlikely to be the case, as we both know they’re not upselling for our benefit, but for the benefit of the company’s profits – upselling is basically about them trying to suck money out of my pocket into the shareholder’s.

I guess the psychology is based on the fact that another 11% on top of £3.05 won’t feel like that much, much I think they’re wrong there. Honestly, I watched 6 people after me all refuse the upsell – surely it puts people off, I mean I know Nero’s don’t upsell, I’d rather go there just because they don’t.

What I really hate about it besides the extra cost and the inhumanity of it is that it puts you on the offensive, it puts you in the position of having to say ‘no’, and even if you say ‘yes’ then the best that can happen is that the seller gets and you get to feel an awkward sense of relief.

I’m thinking about getting some badges made up, I’m not sure which, seemed like a good idea for a dpoll vote, so please vote for your favourite anti-upselling logo.....

  • If I want your special blend I’ll fucking well ask for it.
  • Save us both the embarrassment and don’t upsell to me.
  • Go tell your boss to shove his upsell up his Corporate ass.
  • Something else (make a suggestion).

I also blame my own weakness for drifting into Costa earlier on this week. Maybe I should just avoid it? After one final trip to try out my new badge that is.


  • If I want your special blend I’ll fucking well ask for it.

  • Save us both the embarrassment and don’t upsell to me.

  • Go tell your boss to shove his upsell up his corporate asshole.

  • Something else (make a suggestion).

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • Go tell your boss to shove his upsell up his corporate asshole.

hahahaha great poll...
best response to buy some beans and brew at home!
Although it's less convenient, it is cheaper and you could make some great stuff

I don't go in very often these days! Better at home for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • Something else (make a suggestion).

Politely decline. Makes your and the baristas job easier.
Or don't go there anymore. There are probably enough non corporate coffee shops around

Yes I should go elsewhere of course!

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • If I want your special blend I’ll fucking well ask for it.

Seeing as I hadn't got to the poll and was thinking exactly this, it is my choice (but the rest should also be made into badges - fuck it, wear all 3!

Maybe I could sell them for revise only?!?

Posted using Partiko Android

Tell them you will take it if they take upvotes.

I'm not sure how being offensive to frontline staff is going to help.

Offensive?

I got rid of all of those options!

Posted using Partiko Android

Unfortunately, they are not the only who do that.

Maybe not but they are the most testy!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is true.
The vendors are not to be blame for this.
I remember I was working as a waiter for a period of time, and I was always told by my manager to offer a dessert, coffee.

Promote it by giving for free not upselling. Ridiculous

Posted using Partiko iOS

Voted for

  • Save us both the embarrassment and don’t upsell to me.

Have you seen Supersize Me where the guy had to take the extra large meal if offered? I expect the extra money is just about all profit to the company. I have an aversion to expensive coffee generally. I don't like it too fancy anyway. A black filter is fine for me.

I have seen it, the US is where it goes on as standard I think... I drink a lot at home... some days the coffee shop is my only trip out the house besidez the run and gym, hence why I do it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • Something else (make a suggestion).

Choose other coffee chain.

Voted for

  • Something else (make a suggestion).

I go to Lidl, you can buy the cold coffee drinks for like 59p each, you could buy a weeks worth for the same price lol

You don't get bugged there by staff either because you can't find any staff, I use the self checkout of course to make it even less socially interactive 😂

Sounds good to me! Good ole cheap Lidl!

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • If I want your special blend I’ll fucking well ask for it.

Voted for

  • Save us both the embarrassment and don’t upsell to me.

Voted for

  • If I want your special blend I’ll fucking well ask for it.

Voted for

  • Something else (make a suggestion).

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies. Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Voted for

  • Something else (make a suggestion).

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.753 which ranks you at #1535 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 83 places in the last three days (old rank 1618).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Voted for

  • Save us both the embarrassment and don’t upsell to me.

Sencillamente genial, jajajajajaja me diveti mucho leyendo este post... Muchas gracias!!!

Voted for

  • Something else (make a suggestion).

Go buy your coffee somewhere else if it annoys you and be happy you are not the one who needs to ask each customer the same stupid question..

Btw I see it. At supermarkets to.. Right before you pay they ask you if you want to buy the washing powder it...

Yup - I hardly ever buy at Costa, only when 'wants must'.

Sounds like that's a big argument FOR self-service checkouts!

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 1.55% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Voted for

  • Save us both the embarrassment and don’t upsell to me.

Voted for

  • Go tell your boss to shove his upsell up his corporate asshole.