The Things You Notice When You're Looking

in Wednesday Walk7 months ago

'You notice things a lot more than we do', my daughter in law said, admiring the way I walked up the beach and collected this and that for my grandson - a shell, a rock, some dried kelp, and a cuttlefish bone. Ned's only one, and anything can be a source of curiousity, even the sand which he faceplants and creates a sandy Hitler moustache on his upper lip.

I guess we do. It makes a walk more interesting. I mean, there's an endless beach, or there's a beach full of delightful treasures, like this bottle with Lepas anatifera or goose barnacles with their fleshy edible stalk. There's something just super cool about this find, which I toss away from teh high water mark as it's going to be a hot day and I don't want them to die.

image.png

Even a drain can be delightful. I love how kids bothered to find this out of the way spot and graffiti it.

image.png

It becomes a really fun thing to photograph in the landscape. No wonder my walks take twice as long as they should.

image.png

It's really misty and foggy as I walk, which makes for a beautiful atmosphere. The moon is still out - it's only early still. There's not much more gorgeous things than a moon visible in the sky. It's like it shouldn't be, but it allows this glimpse of magic if you're looking. I wonder why we associate it so much with the evening when it does show off quite often in the mornings, refusing to go to bed.

image.png

There's a guy camped in a tent half way up the beach. I wonder if he's walking along the Great Ocean Road on some kind of mad journey. Either way I like people who stealth camp. Why should people with tons of money be the only one with ocean views? As long as you're not causing harm and you're leaving no trace, that's fine by me.

Huge sheets of kelp sweep up and down the beach. I should get around to making a basket or eating some of it. There's a whole food source here I haven't explored.

Though one way is still misty, by the time I start walking back the sun is coming up and I get hot enough to have a swim. Everything changes from washed out blues and greys to warm oranges and the day starts becoming noisier, shinier and louder. There's really something to be said for the time before dawn. It's still very moon like, still young and pale, still calm and soft.

Oh, and the most delightful thing was a little blue wren landing on my car as soon as I pulled up. It was looking for insects and must have learnt that the cars coming down the track have them on. It was such a quick, fluttery, delightful little thing, too fast to capture. But definitely worth noticing.

There's an awful lot of delightful things in a day, if you're looking!

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

That's grandma for you, they enjoy the way children play than the young adults. By picking stones and other things for the children give them pleasure and that's their way of supporting children to play.

I can't believe I'm a grandma, but I reckon it's not that bad.:P

Things are so fast now that people miss so many great wonders around them. Thanks for this reminder that sometimes I need to slow down and experience the marvelous things around me. Thanks again !PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 8

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


It's a constant practice. Easy to miss stuff.

Sorry for short comments this week I have a lot going on and wont keep up if I try to to do longer replies this week

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

No worries hon, you do a great job with the time you have and as a leader of a community who can hardly keep up, I really understand that.

👍🙂👍
appreciate your understanding

With so much going on, most of us tend to miss seeing beautiful things right before our very eyes. What a delightful walk this must have been!

Always! When you notice little things, even a seemingly boring walk becomes better.

Hello riverflows!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 7th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by fantagira

You receive 🎖 2.8 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 112 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START