[SHOWCASE] Physiotherapy

in #photography6 years ago

While I was scrolling through my blog, I believe I haven't really shown you what I really do with photography, now and then I published a travel blog, some product photography, a live capture of creating artwork and some portraits I did. Perhaps it would be cool to tell you a little bit more about my work-related projects. If you'd like to see more or want to know more about these projects, just let me know in the comments below.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Behind the scenes: Preparing with the Crew.

One of my clients I had the chance to work for was a physiotherapy practice. This was one of the challenging projects I had to work out last year. The first thing I always do when a new client contacts me is scheduling an appointment to get to know each other a little bit better and to see if I would be a match for them so I could translate their desires into solid photographic images.

Without having a connection with a client, I strongly believe it will affect the results. Truly understanding the needs of your client and knowing you understand your client is one of the things that I believe in and matters a lot. When it comes to capturing images, in any case, you capture time as how it is. Whether it is a still life, a portrait or a scenario, the soul of a photograph tells the story.

This specific project was quite challenging and had some surprising last-minute change of events. I am happy that I am a completely different person when I hold my camera. Super focused and aiming for high efficiency without losing the quality of a final image. I never understood exactly why people would tell me I show a lot of passion for my work. But recapping this project makes me understand myself a little bit more and perhaps I will agree with them ;-).


The client

Fysiotherapie Polman, they are located in Enschede and were rebranding. They needed new portraits, detail shots, and photographs that would showcase their various disciplines. They are with a team of 12 people that blend very well together. The work-atmosphere is easy-going and I felt welcome once I got introduced. Picking up these good vibes show that a company is in a healthy state. I have had plently of clients that were either too selfish, or always trying to get the most for less than I would charge.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Behind the scenes: The art director together with the client.


Planning

Looking at the inquiry, I knew I had to do some research about the various disciplines that comes along with practicing physiotherapy. This would give me a better understanding of "what" I need to photograph. Categorizing the disciplines allowed me to create an image-concept for their brand and how to photograph everything with different lighting set-ups. Planning took me about 2 full-time days of work. I knew that I would need at least two days to photograph all of it.

Ah, never mind the two days. It is one day now. This was one of the last minute change of events which was quite challenging, especially considering the last final planning that needed to be adjusted as well. They desired about 3 photographs for each discipline, some general photographs, and 12 to 24 portraits. This changed things drastically, but because the planning was mostly done, it was a matter of re-adjusting and make a few changes, eliminating some 'safe' time.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Behind the scenes: Crew & Cast.


Teamwork

As the list was getting longer and longer, the time needed to be cut plus the fact that I had to find extras (models), I realized that I would need more eyes on set during the photo session. Doing everything in one day felt almost as an impossible task to accomplish alone (which it definitely would be if I hadn't had extra eyes). There was a girl that contacted me twice and asked if she could see how I work and how a photo shoot went. I turned her down before, I don't know why, probably because I like to have control and take full responsibility and perhaps I just enjoy working alone. Not long before this project she asked me again and I told her I would think about it.

Well, hello there, I need you. Would you like to come with me? We are going to do all sorts of photography disciplines. And that's how I got my second pair of eyes. Also, the MUAH (Make-up artist / Hairstylist) is a good friend of mine. I enjoy working with her and she knows her stuff. We share the same approach, everyone is unique, so everything needs to be personally addressed. I like that. What I do not like, are people who just do for what they get paid for. It's too formal in my opinion. You do the job, to deliver your quality, if you going to bitch about it, don't take the job.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Behind the scenes: Make-Up Artist in action.

Since I didn't really use Facebook at that time anymore, the MUAH helped me a lot with posting a call for extras (models). The rules were easy, don't look "too divine" (lol). Well, we had to choose from about ~40 different people. Some were top notch models, and some were perfect for the job and image look-and-feel. Great!


As I could go on explaining whatever needs to be done, I think it's for the best to show you some photographs.


©2017 - @Rubencress - Detailshot: General Physiotherapy.

©2017 - @Rubencress - General Physiotherapy.

For the various disciplines we had to change the settings from time to time. These two specific photographs were taken in the same setting. All I had to do was to change the lense from my camera and move a few steps. Having a shot list was great as it would speed up the process incredibly.


©2017 - @Rubencress - Detailshot: Dry Needling.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Dry Needling.

We had to change the setting for the photographs that needed a patients bench in it.


©2017 - @Rubencress - Ultrasound.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Ultrasound.

It was kind of funny, because the first time I heard about ultrasound I thought about making an echo for pregnant woman. Men... these days... what do they know huh? So, I got clarified by the one that is an expert in a matter of seconds, with a big smile on her face. Ha, that was funny, so I first had a woman obviously on the list that needed to sit on the bench, but it was a nice touch to get more contrast in the photograph to play with gender.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Ultrasound.

In the end, we chose the photograph with both women in it. Just love the expresison on their faces.


Here are some other photographs of the various discplines.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Pediatric.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Consultation.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Manual Physiotherapy.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Edema Therapy.

©2017 - @Rubencress - Psychosomatic Therapy.


Well that was it considering translating the various disciplines of the Physiotherapy branche. I'm really satisfied with the results. The portraits look just as good, but I am always a little bit careful with showcasing headshots online. Within the blockchain I'd rather not do it as quickly, or it has to be free work or show an artistic form of a portrait.


So, in the end, we took about 700 photographs and almost 100 photographs were bought by the client. Thats a 1 to 7 ratio which to me is pretty impressive to shoot in one day.

If you have any more questions about this project, feel free to pop them up in the comments below or message me on Discord or Steemit.chat.


Cheers,
Ruben

Sort:  

As always, brilliant photography! And they sure sit pretty well on the website. I also love that you chose to share the thought process on a blog post. Archived as material of reference.

Hey @misterakpan, thanks a lot man (and for submitting to @Curie <3). Yeah, haha I could talk all day about this project. I honestly believe that without planning it might not have been possible to nail the job and have a super satisfied client. The designers they work with nailed the job on the website, and the print media is looking great as well! (Takes a snapshot with phone)