[TRAVELS] The world's longest art gallery

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hey World, today I want to share a pretty bloody awesome spot in Stockholm, Sweden. It started when I was browsing the web for some artistic interiors. I somehow ended up looking at some photographs of the world deepest subway stations. Eventually, it led me to Stockholm's amazing art subways. I was quickly interested, hodl on, I was obsessed with these subways in a blink of an eye. These subways are full of art and are truly mesmerizing. From that point, I knew I would not die before I would have seen these subs with my own pair of eyes. It took me a few years until I captured these special places with my own camera.

I remember I just booked a ticket to Stockholm for the first time, I immediately fell in love with the country and its citizens. I was staying at a cheap hotel in Stockholm Region, the food was alright, and the room was perfect for my type of holiday, just sleep and roam. The location was a little bit away from the capital city, but more or less it will take 20 minutes by train. In case you didn't know, or you are from the Netherlands. These trains actually are always on time and the travel system in Sweden is very easy, and in my opinion, fairly priced.

The reason why I found it easy, was because you only had to buy one card and you buy/activate the card for a specific amount time, and you could travel by train, bus, metro and subway. No stuff to worry about, everything is covered with just one slip and slide card. This way, you be able to travel faster and you'll have more time to experience more of Stockholm. Make sure you’ll charge your card for the length of your stay if you’re planning to travel a lot in the Stockholm Region to cover unnecessary travel expenses.

So, where are these gems located? Easy! When you travel to Stockholm Central Station, you only have to walk to the Blue line of the Subway station. I think there was another line that would show you more of these type of subways, but the blue line was my favorite. I even named the artworks of my most enjoyable photographs. "Belly of the Beast" (T-Bana Rådhuset) and "Mouth of the Dragon" (T-Bana Solna) were absolutely just 'what-the-wooow-is-this-real'ing out of me for sure. SO, are we there yet? Fuck yes, we are! I could not capture the absolute magic from these places, but I have tried my best. I encourage you to go travel and see this for yourself with your own eyes.

While I make my way through the world largest art exhibit I receive some surprising looks of the locals. “Why is this guy here with a tripod?” It’s written on their faces. Not all of them are surprised, some of them are realizing and remembering that they have something special and stop to embrace the moment (I’d like to call that a great opportunity to seize the day). I am well aware that when you walking through these subways every day, it would become a standard daily routine, so eventually, you stop noticing the beauty what is around you.

As a first timer and as a tourist, this experience is so much more than any money I have spent on a travel holiday. Check out the photographs below and make sure to check these subways out for yourself if you’re ever planning a trip to Stockholm.

Have fun ;)
Ruben


©2018 - @rubencress

T-bana Vreten

©2018 - @rubencress

T-Centralen

©2018 - @rubencress

"Mouth of the Dragon" - T-Bana Solna

©2018 - @rubencress

"Belly Of the Beast" - T-Bana Rådhuset

©2018 - @rubencress

T-Bana Huvudsta

The length of this art gallery is about 105 km long and lies underneath Stockholm Region, completely hidden in their subway system. When will you go?

Cheers,
Ruben

Sort: