More New Donner Lake Fall Foliage Photos

Alright, I actually shot these a couple of weeks ago. But I've been very busy and the RAW images were just sitting in my computer, waiting me for me to finally have some time to open them up and work on them. I'm glad I didn't forget about them... It wasn't a magnificent sunrise or sunset, but I love the contrast of the cool and warm colors. I think they turned out great!

_Q1A9295.jpg1.

These new Donner Lake photos were shot with the Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens, on a tripod. They were all with an ISO of 50, the lens aperture was f/22, and the shutter speed varied. I often use a polarizing filter when shooting fall foliage, but the colors were looking so vibrant, I decided not to. Sometimes polarizers can create too much of a colorful "pop" and the image can end up looking fake. These colors were real! And they were great to see in real life.

_Q1A9289.jpg2.

Unfortunately, winds and colder temperatures have arrived, and there are very few leaves left on these Cottonwood trees now. What is left has turned mostly brown instead of vibrant yellows. I may be done shooting fall colored photos for the season. However, there is still some pockets of color around town so who knows, I may end up getting a few more before the snow season starts...

_Q1A9300.jpg3.

All of my new images are now available for ordering as large fine art prints through my website's Recent Work page.

These new images are numbered 1-3, please let me know your favorite in the comments.

Thank you for looking and I hope you all have a great weekend!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Love image #1 the reflection really cranks up the color 👍 we are looking pretty bare here now. I think I have some photos I haven't been through also 🤔

Thanks @steven-patrick! That one is pretty cool looking. Yup, snow will be here soon... But for now, it's that meh looking time of year. Looking forward to seeing what you have to share!

Donner Lake is simply beautiful! I'm loving the fall vibes and colors but already dreading what will most likely be a very cold and long winter. I miss the sun!

Every time I leave town to go on vacation, I always compare things to the beauty of home. And I'm always looking forward to returning. Spoiled!
It will only be darker starting tomorrow... A tough time of year, how to do explain daylight savings to those roosters??? Lol.

lol, I'm not looking forward to that. Mornings were already early enough 😂

Ouch... Good luck Gubba!

I want to say 2 is my favourite. However, if I go through the same pictures on your website then 3 is the clear winner to me. Love the vibrant colors.

Thanks @blind-spot! Lots of different opinions on this... I'm glad I shot more than one composition. And thank you for visiting my website!!!

The natural beauty is extraordinary. The color of the plant's leaves also looks quite good.

Indeed it is! Fall is the best time of year for photography up here, imho.

Yes friends that's a good photography time. Hope you always have a nice day.

The color of the leaves in autumn does look very attractive and steals a lot of people's attention including me, I am so happy to see the contrast of the colors of the trees in autumn that you display.

The little pockets of fall color around here are hard to beat! Glad you liked seeing these.

Your photographs are always amazing
Is it possible for you to take it as a full time job?

Thank you @rafzat! Yes, but I also shoot real estate photography, and marketing photos for local businesses. Between it all, I keep quite busy.

@scottshots
Really much appreciation for these shoots of cottonwood trees. In initial look it seems that someone have make it colour full by his hand. As well as view of lake with mountain looks awesome too. Straight wood also increasing it's beauty.

Happy to share these @sahilkhan5! I tend to think Mother Nature might be using her hand...

All the pictures are really amazing
I will pick number 3 as my favourite

Thank you @biyimi! Glad I got more than one composition. It was hard to go wrong at this spot.

wow, i just fell in love with this beautiful lake, you have a captured a beauty.

Donner Lake is easy to fall in love with. Nearby Lake Tahoe tends to steal the show, but there are plenty of tourists that love to visit this lake too.

Hermosas fotografías, y el paisaje ni hablar, está bellísimo. Eres un excelente fotógrafo.👏🏽

Me alegra que te gusten, ¡gracias!

When there are such beautiful trees on the banks of the river, its beauty is enhanced and it is very relaxing to see all such scenic spots.

I love heading out the the docks, looking at the lake and trees, and having a nice meditative moment. It's been very good for the mind, body, and soul living in this new location.

what a colorfull captured, i love 2 photgrahy, with the trees in the foreground and mountains in the background.

Glad you liked those @himalayanwomb! Thank you.

Some beautiful autumn golds here, and I love the use of reflection!

Fall colors reflected on a lake always looks amazing! Glad you like those.

Hello scottshots!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥈 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by matisport

You and your curator receive 0.3021 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 8.65% share of the reward from Daily Report 107. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUSILVER token for taking 2nd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

Those trees are so amazing, i love the perspective - sideways and hovering over the water - Upvoted - really need some help back, my reputation score got zero'd - any help appreciated